We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING Customer Service & Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING Customer Service & Nice Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I came for the Essence Festival and the hotel sits in a the perfect location relative to Bourbon St. (Two Blocks), the Super Dome (10-15 minute walk), and the convention center (15-20 minute walk). My room with two queen beds was extremely spacious. The housekeeping staff exceeded my expectations. The free breakfast was very nice. I appreciated the variety including the waffle maker. The real reason for this review is the staff went over & beyond with helping me retrieve my tote bag left behind in a taxi cab. My iPad, concert tickets, and plane ticket was left behind. I panicked. I cried and I was the blame. Of course I couldn't remember the name of the cab company, driver, or cab#. Everyone from the bellman, the front desk, valet parking, and the manager assisted. It was a Team effort. They gathered names & numbers of the area cab companies. We called them looking for my items and had no success. The valet person suggested that I review the camera footage to see if we could at least capture the cab #/company. The manager Jeff & I reviewed the security footage together. To make a long story short while we were reviewing camera footage the cab driver called the hotel to say he had my bag. The staff went out of their way to help me when there was ZERO obligation to do so. I will forever be grateful for their determination to save the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tamika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    646
    160
    39
    25
See reviews for
454
647
79
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is very good value for money. Because it couldn’t accommodate us for 3 nights, we booked a 3rd night in the Loews and the comparison price wise / value wise was quite incredible!
In this hotel we had free breakfast which although wasn’t one of the best breakfasts we had during our trip was adequate. The hotel should seriously consider dumping the plastic cutlery and plates though as this really lets it down....who can spread butter with a flimsy plastic knife? The cost environmentally of all the associated waste must be phenomenal! That said the bedrooms were good. We booked a corner room (on good advice and it was worth it as there was plenty of space for 4 people) with 2 double beds and they were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but ok....it’s time to get rid of shower curtains USA!
Free wifi was great and the hotel reception staff were very good. The lifts were absolutely fine during our stay, By the way the cookies on reception were a nice touch, the hotel is well located and near enough to the action but far enough away too. Views aren’t great but we didn’t expect them to be......request a high floor is another useful tip.

Room Tip: corner room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room was nice and comfortable. The view was very poor. The elevators had many mechanical issues and didn't not work at all one day during our stay. Fortunately we were out but one couple had to walk down 14 floors because not one of the four elevators would function.

The breakfast buffet was good but the staff was not friendly or accommodating. When asked for syrup, we were told there wasn't anymore but then was told one packet fell out of a box. It appeared that they just did not want to be bothered.

If you want to be thoroughly pampered..this is not the hotel. But if you want a place to sleep close to Bourbon street and the French Quarter, the Hampton Inn is a reasonable option...just be prepared to be walking down the stairs..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin93710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Location is awesome - just two blocks away from Bourbon Street. Valet parking is standard in that area, unless you want to park your car in a neighborhood garage yourself and walk back. Valet parking charge is less than average in area. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. High ceilings, rooms are a bit bigger than average Hampton Inn. No bar or restaurant at night (but you are right in the middle of all the action).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Literally 2 blocks away from Bourbon street. Parking is valet, just like any other place close or in French Quarter area. But cheaper. Room are bigger than standard with higher ceilings (older building). Breakfast is standard Hampton Inn's. Wi-Fi is free. If I ever come to New Orleans, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinzon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Earl works the breakfast, he was a guy with great attitude and personality.
When we spilt our food he was right there to take care of it, both times.
Hotel is also nice, one of the best breakfasts' I've had at a hotel
Nice room, no pool but good hotel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I live in Louisiana but haven't been to New Orleans in a long time. We went this past weekend and stayed at this Hampton for the very first time. We were super pleased. We opted to walk everywhere, but there is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel (which I'll certainly make use of next time - especially in these very hot summer months!!) The staff was very friendly and accommodating - I requested a late check out on Sunday because my husband was attending a photography workshop, which had been postponed from Saturday. They were so gracious and granted me a late check out. Our room was very clean and very roomy. We had a king bed with the sofa in it. Even though it is on the fringe of the French Quarter, it was very quiet. It will definitely be our go-to place in New Orleans from now on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnFailsDent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,424 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing