We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All about location”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This Hampton is just a very short 5 min walk to Bourbon Street and all the restaurants and bars (even if you get drunk you should be able to find your way back). The parking is very expensive so if you can get away with just taking taxis you might save money. I got upgraded so it is hard to compare to a normal room, the room was very, very large with a living room area, desk area an big king bed. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast since I was only there 1 night and had an early flight out. Would definitely recommend the hotel but don’t expect a 4 star plush hotel room unless you get the King Suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADIIIUSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    646
    160
    39
    25
See reviews for
454
647
79
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Staff from check in to door man is amazing. Rooms are extra large, clean and nicely appointed Large windows in every room, but nicely draped to block out sun if you want to sleep in. Location is convenient : a few blocks to French Quarter and shopping, steps from street car line for seeing Garden District and Uptown New Orleans. Nice breakfast with plenty of items to choose from. Will definitely recommend to friends and family and would return again to stay when in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Recently stayed in this Hotel. Like other reviewers its in a great spot just outside the Bourbon Street noise. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was simple but filling, all you need to start the day. Room was large and had everything you would need. I was there for 4 days and could not fault the staff or service. Apart from that the room pricing was very competitive. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Breakfast was great. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff was helpful, pleasant and prompt. Downtown location adjacent to Canal Street and the streetcar line. We will definitely use this hotel again on our future visits to NOLA!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 6-8 times on business. I go 3-4 times per year to visit a customer and enjoy all that is New Orleans. Being a Hilton Diamond member, I always seek out Hilton properties and when I found this one, I fell in love. The location (about a block and a half from Bourbon - actually, Carondelet becomes Bourbon when it crosses Canal St) is extremely convenient, though lower floors can be loud if you're above the street cars. Higher floors are fine.

This is a neat hotel. It's been nicely renovated and the rooms are spacious and modern.

My stays, however, have gone consistently downhill. Early January of this year I was there and my room wasn't serviced one day. No big deal. I was back for JazzFest in Late April/Early May and the same thing happened. I asked that it be serviced when I went out that evening, and it was. I can only imagine that a hotel in a city like this MUST run into challenges servicing rooms with people sleeping late and such. I keep fairly regular hours and always try to vacate my room by 10:00 and stay away for at least 2-3 hours. That seems like a large enough window to pick up a few towels and drop off a few clean ones.

Apparently, that's too much to ask. My last visit was a few weeks ago. On Saturday morning, I left my room by 10:00 and was back around 3:30. The room hadn't been made up. When I left to go out for dinner, I stopped at the front desk and asked if it could be serviced. The staff offered no apology but merely checked the records and told me that my Do Not Disturb sign was out when Housekeeping came by. I explained that I was gone by 10:00 and they seemed disinterested. Since they offered NOTHING and it was getting awkward standing and looking at each other, I then ASKED if I could have my room serviced. They begrudgingly agreed. I told them that if I could just get some fresh towels, that would be fine.Indifference. When I returned around midnight, it was just as I left it. Nothing. I guess the indifference was worse than I imagined.

I hate that this place has gone downhill. I love the location and the high ceilinged rooms. Perhaps I've just been unlucky, who knows.

I'll be returning to the Hilton Garden Inn or another property while in NOLA. Heck at this point, I've met my Diamond status for the year... I'm sure Marriott has some nice properties in NOLA. Hopefully, they don't see a request to have a room serviced as an inconvenience.

I would check out other options if you're looking to stay in NOLA. While you could do worse I'm sure, for the prices this Hampton charges, it's not a very good value at all. $300 a nite (during JazzFest) and I have to ask to have my room made up? I don't think so. Throw the 'tude on top of it? I really don't think so.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Buzz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViseTricia, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 26 August 2014
First I wanted to thank you for staying with us when you visited New Orleans. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered while you were here. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, and I will definitely speak to my Housekeeping Manager and my Front Office Staff regarding these issues. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to call me directly at the hotel at (504)529-9990.
Again, thank you for bringing this to my attention because without help/suggestions from guests such as yourself, I could never begin to address many situations.
Sincerely,
Tricia H. Vise
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We were only in NOLA for one night, but I could have stayed much longer. Although there wasn't any free parking, the valet guys were great and super prompt. The hotel staff was nice and eager to help if we needed it...we weren't sure where to go for dinner and they had great recommendations, then in the morning, I lost my room key, and they gave me a new one, no problems! Speaking of morning, the breakfast was AMAZING! Make your own waffles, there were omelettes and sausage and oatmeal and cereal and yogurt and bagels. SO GOOD! We will definitely be staying here if we come back to NOLA. The bed was a key part of this great experience. So comfy after a long day of driving.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room...not as long at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here!! The staff was so friendly and breakfast was great after walking in from bourbon street at 6am. The front desk was top notch. We walked in and there was only one person working the desk. She was more efficient and friendly than if there were 5 people working there. I don't remember her name but thank you for being a sweetheart and making my first NOLA encounter a great one.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey3nickpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing