We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Claiborne Mansion
Ranked #92 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2007

The Claiborne Mansion was a wonderful retreat from the excitement of a weekend in New Orleans. I had a good experience with the owner, found her to be friendly and helpful. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to New Orleans and I hope I can stay in this beautiful Mansion again. It's New Orleans at its very best - elegant, tasteful, and as comfortable as home.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meme_in_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for The Claiborne Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 35 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
14
Reviewed 19 August 2005

I, along with some business associates, stayed three nights at the Mansion. The location was super...close to the action, yet far enough away. The mansion, rooms and grounds were beautiful. However the owner, Cleo, was a bit fiesty. She has an interesting sense of humor and can be quite sarcastic most of the time. She had been expecting us late in the afternoon, but when we got there she had no towels/soap ready for us...and it was a hot, humid and sticky day! She said she'd quickly return with them, but instead disappeared out to the pool for over half and hour talking with another guest. She left us standing there waiting for her to return! Two of my colleagues didn't even get walked up to their rooms.
I was told we'd have two rooms ajoined by a lounge...this wasn't the case...instead we got one nice large room and another tiny room. Apparently the room that I was promised was being occupied by another guest that decided to stay longer. Cleo never mentioned anything about breakfast in the morning, nor did she show us the kitchen area. Several of the reviews I read mentioned that she had danish and coffee prepared in the mornings - which was not the case for us. I was also told that there was wireless internet which was perfect for us since we were conducting business meetings in the afternoons...however the only place we were able to get a strong signal was outside in the hot, humid weather! While the home and rooms are fabulous I can't say I'd stay there again based on the inconsistent nature of accommadations.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2005

We loved this place. It is extremely beautiful and it is a remarkable value for a hotel this attractive in New Orleans. The neighborhood is also quirky and fascinating and although just out of the Quarter, not at all inconvenient. Our impression was that Cleo, the owner-manager, is an extremely nice and very interesting person. She is, however, more than a little absent-minded, which, I think, is part of her charm to some of her guests and an annoyance to others. We never saw her be rude to anyone, but I suppose it is possible that if people get angry at her, conflicts could develop. She was gracious and sweet to us the whole time. And the people she hires make sure that the rooms and grounds are immaculate.

3  Thank dbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gulfport, MS
16
Reviewed 5 July 2004

Although Claiborne Mansion is a beautiful place to stay, the service was horrible. Never once were we asked if we needed anything or how we were enjoying our stay. Beds weren't made, no fresh towels. It was awful.
We have no plans of staying there ever again.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK
12
Reviewed 21 May 2004

The Claiborne Mansion is a wonderful oasis to return to after a long day of sightseeing. It is in a quiet area, yet just minutes walk to the quarter and is near some excellent restuarants (if you stay there try Marigny Brasserie). The room was lovely and very comfortable, the pool and gardens beautiful. Fresh pastries were provided every morning with fresh coffee, we could help ourselves to beers from the fridge and one afternoon a plate of cheese and biscuits were provided for us. As for the owner Cleo, she is quite a character and we all got on very well with her. If you are prepared to make an effort and do not treat her like a hotel receptionist in her own home, you will be rewarded.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Fe, New Mexico
110
Reviewed 4 January 2004

We had heard stories about the owner, Cleo, but decided to stay anyway.
We made reservations months in advance for a two week stay-which is a nice piece of business for a B&B during off season. On our second to last day, Cleo the owner, who had not been friendly at all during our stay, but we managed to avoid, announced we were being kicked out of our room as she had other guests that wanted our room!! Instead of asking us to move in a nice way she was very aggressive. I told her it was a great inconvenience, but she only responded we had until 1:00PM to be out of our room and she was moving us to a much less superior room. We were then bullied by her cleaning staff to move out of our room sooner and the entire experience was HORRIBLE. I have NEVER been treated so poorly in all my years of travel and I work in the tourism industry. It appears that once your credit card clears upon check-in, all the promised services cease. The pool is NOT heated, there are no afternoon cocktails and breakfast (if you are lucky) is some old bread and maybe juice. NEVER AGAIN!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hazlehurst, MS
12
Reviewed 28 November 2003

To all who say unpleasant things about the Claiborne 's management let me just say "Be nice or be gone." This B&B is run in New Orleans best Big Easy style. Don't expect anyone to fetch and tote for you. It is not a hotel. Stay at one if you feel the need to be overbearing to staff and outstay your welcome with rude behavior. We love The Claiborne and its gracious owner and we love the company of pleasant and polite fellow guests. Take you attitude somewhere else, negative commentors.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#44 of 166 in New Orleans
942 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#47 of 142 in New Orleans
59 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 142 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#66 of 142 in New Orleans
40 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 142 in New Orleans
463 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#68 of 142 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claiborne Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claiborne Mansion

Address: 2111 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £92 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival Mansion opened as Inn in 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claiborne Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing