We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Orleans best kept secret.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Claiborne Mansion
Ranked #95 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Orleans best kept secret.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

"The Mansion" is a wonderful, elegant, gem of a guesthouse. The owner, Cleo, is helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and very accommodating. She is rightfully very proud of her beautiful home which she has lovingly restored. As with all good places in New Orleans, this grand manse wears her age very gracefully. It indeed isn't the Ritz, but if you want a fine place to stay with spacious rooms, a beautiful private grotto in the court yard to escape to, and true Southern charm...this is the place for you. I will definitely consider this my home in New Orleans feom now on.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheeStacyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Nice location, however the owner/caretaker is quite rude and peculiar. Although I didn't expect lavish hospitality, at $350/night, I expected common courtesy, which was not to be found. She spent the first 10 minutes lecturing us not abuse her many feral cats. We were scolded for asking for fresh towels (2 days into our stay). There is no breakfast at this "bed and breakfast" unless other guests left something behind in the fridge to eat. There were cockroaches in the room and the bedsheets were worn. Definitely overpriced. I would never stay here again...even at 1/2 the price

Room Tip: Just don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HHudson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Cape Cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The sophisticated traveler chooses the Claiborne Mansion in New Orleans in order to have a unique experience of the historic French Quarter. Its wonderfully-convenient location around the corner from lively Frenchmen Street and a charming residential area makes it an especially attractive choice. Cleo, its proprietress, is charming and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable, filled with period ambience and clean and tidy. I scratch my head wondering about the negative reviews on this site ... There's no doubt that I will return to this inn with great enthusiasm!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JitkaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed with my 3 sisters for 4 wonderful days this month. The Mansion is beautiful, our suites were spotless and Cleo is a gem! She treated us like family and gave us the run of the house. Our tour with friend Tyrone was better than ever and so personal to our tastes. Don't miss the Port of Call burgers, Three Muses, & Cafe Nichaud for breakfast. We would definitely stay at Claiborne again and give it a 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

myself ,husband, daughter and two dogs; one quite ill felt very welcome, we have stayed with cleo on three occasions, the rooms were lovely and i am a ritz carton traveller,new orleans is not newark. our rooms were spotless.wonderful outdoor kitchen, brought our groceries every morning. welcome to new orleans listen to jazz and go with the city,cleo shopped every morning.gave us great tips

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Simply...do not stay here. The owner is rude beyond compare. Do not expect breakfast and heaven forbid you should need additional clean towels. One reviewer noted how she hates her doorbell...this is true and she lets you know it. How else you are supposed to enter is quite beyond me. She also noted that she didn't care if we stayed there. This must be a routine greeting for her. With so many other options in New Orleans...including in that neighborhood...do NOT waste your money here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank drmaynerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

No. Claiborne Mansion is not the Hilton nor was meant to be and Cleo Pelleteri is not the plastic hostess you will find on the desks of commercial hotels. Cleo shares her home with travellers who frequent her inn; once the guest realizes that they will no doubt find her charming, witty, incredibly forthright. She is a true piece of New Orleans and one I have always enjoyed. The location at the back of the French Quarter is quiet unlike the Bourbon Street locations. The rooms are immaculate and the gradens wonderful; b&b's need not have the finest service since the guest is getting so much more from a stay at Claiborne Mansion. This is the closest thing to "laissez les bon temps roulez" which, I for one want to see protected for guests to this city;

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danieldpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#45 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#7 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claiborne Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claiborne Mansion

Property: The Claiborne Mansion
Address: 2111 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greek Revival Mansion opened as Inn in 1994. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claiborne Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing