We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good value in the quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #119 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a good value in the quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed here with a few friends in early May during Jazzfest. We live very close to New Orleans and visit many times a year. We have stayed at many hotels in the Quarter and on Canal. The Chateau Hotel was a very good price (even during Jazzfest) and in a great location. The staff was friendly. The parking situation is great here and affordable. The rooms are charming old New Orleans which I love. Many old hotel buildings in New Orleans have very small rooms, but I found this one to be very comfortable. You can find larger, more modern rooms in New Orleans, but they won't be in this price range. Plus I like staying in the historic romantic buildings. Our room was located right on the street, but noise was not a problem. The courtyard was beautiful. We saw many guests enjoying the breakfast room service, but we did not take advantage of it ourselves. As far as cleanliness, in this price range in New Orleans, it is a little above average. Unless you're staying in a four or five star place in New Orleans, then there's always a little give and take. Overall a great value for the location and hotel amenities. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbbeyRoad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    240
    109
    67
    62
See reviews for
96
323
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 25th Anniversary in March 2012. We went to several areas and one of out destinations was New Orleans. What a great time we had. We stopped at the visitors center in New Orleans and found out about this hotel with a great discount. The ladies there are extremely nice, also.This hotel is so close to everything. Two blocks to the river, and one block from Bourban St. They also have valet parking, serve breakfast to your room at the time you specify, and you choose from their menu what you want for breakfast. Room is very quaint with antique furniture. There is a courtyard with pool that is enjoyable to sit out by. Let your cares slip away!! We loved staying here and would go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! So glad to hear you had a relaxing vacation and hope your anniversary celebration was fabulous. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

At the request of Priceline.com, we reviewed our stay at Chateau Hotel. They don't seem to have posted my review where we commented on the cleanliness (or lack thereof) of our room, which featured a used condom in a corner of the bathroom. It was too late in the evening to do much about it and we were tired from travel, but we pointed it out to the person at the desk the next morning. He offered no compensation. I forgot to tell him about the long hairs I saw on the mattress pad while checking for bedbugs (there were none) but did mention that the carpet didn't appear to have been vacuumed in a long time. These horrors were in addition to the musty smell that hit us in the face when we entered the room---after all it is the French Quarter. The desk clerk on also told us, erroneously, that breakfast was served on the patio. Actually, they do deliver a continental breakfast and newpaper to your door. I also would mention the good location and the fact that they did clean up their act, but I'm so annoyed at Priceline for not including our review! Travelers beware of Priceline ratings!

Room Tip: Courtside is quieter. Better yet, don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

In my many visits to New Orleans, I never had such a unique room. My room opened directly onto the sidewalk through a shuttered door. I've seen many of these old buildings, but had never ventured into one. The room was small, tidy, and outdated - but that's part of the ambiance. Really cool layout with a beautiful courtyard, several balcony rooms on Chartres, an adjoining cottage, and CHEAP VALET PARKING (many of the boutiques and guest houses have NO parking) in a lot just across the street. Creole cottage rooms on the sidewalk have optional adjoining rooms on the courtyard side.

If you want glitz, try the Ritz. If you want to take a trip back in history, you can do it here.

Cool place, nice staff, great location. It's easy to recommend this one for travelers with historic tolerance for the ancient structures.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedntxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thanks for posting a review and pictures!

It looks like you were in the Creole Cottage building. To some, this is odd, but to us, its just how some flats are in the quarter now. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your stay with us.

Next time, book earlier and you may be able to request a location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

If you are driving into New Orleans, stop at the Louisiana State visitors center at the roadside stop. They have great discount coupons and free phones for making hotel reservations. These discounts are only available if you have the coupon. Our hotel, the Chateau, on the corner of St. Phillip and Chartres had free parking and very reasonable room rates...$69 with the coupon, $79 other nights. Nicely maintained pool. Walking distance to everything. Parking, if available, at other hotel, was $28 or more a night! Lots of smokers in the courtyard around the pool, unfortunately. Other than that, and a slightly moldy smell in the room, we liked it. We'd return. Lillian, at the desk, gives great advice on restaurants and music. Listen to what she says.

Room Tip: We had, I'm sure, the cheapest room in the hotel. There were larger suite-type rooms around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Remi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our Welcome Center rates start as $69 and are based on availability.

We are currently putting new flooring in the rooms and almost all have been updated with new bathrooms.

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you're looking for comfortable accommodations in a great French Quarter location at an affordable rate, this is the place for you. My priorities were a clean room, comfortable beds, AC, pool and prime location. No other place in the Quarter beat the Chateau in terms of price. This place has traditional spring mattresses, if that is important to you. Our closet space was limited by a mini-fridge, but we were able to work around it. The daily continental breakfast is a nice touch, but don't expect a gourmet selection. My friends and I loved walking through the quaint courtyard every morning and coming home to an air-conditioned room every afternoon. We cooled off in the pool or napped before getting ready for our nights out. The Chateau is across the street from Irene's restaurant, something of a local Quarter institution. It's down the street from the Beauregard-Keyes House and the Ursulines convent, both worth touring.

Room Tip: Our room had windows on the balcony, but they did not open and we did not have access to the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Great pictures! You caught Mr. John's great balcony across the street, he will be so happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The staff was great, friendly and very helpful! The room was small but affordable for being in the quarter. The carpet was not real clean but everything else was. If you are wanting to party and hang out in the quarter this is the place. Great places to eat and fun things to do!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonWhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
So glad you stayed and sounds like you had a blast! This week we bagan replacing the carpet with ceramic tile and slate. Come back and see us soon!

Thank you for writing a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing