We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveller rating
371
348
190
117
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
348
190
117
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfrench quarterjackson squarecontinental breakfastbourbon streetlovely courtyardthe main hotelcourtyard areafrenchman strooms are smallwe've stayedwalking distance to everythingmini fridgefew blockssouthern hospitalitybalcony roomcharm
Filter
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband , 6 yr old son and I found ourselves with an overheated car as soon as we hit the Quarter so we pulled into their hotel parking lot. It was abolutely pouring down rain so I ran into the lobby with the help of one of the many sweet housekeepers and Greg the bellman immediately gave me a dry towel and an umbrella. Dan at the desk set us up with a room and the rest is history. We Absolutely LOVED every bit of our experience at the Chateau. Although I have visited Nola several times in past yrs, it was my hubby's first time and I feel so blessed to have broken down here! The place is full of charm and very very well kept for a 275 yr old property! I have never stayed so close to the action yet felt so far from it in the beautiful courtyard. We met such wonderful fellow travellers and ended up in some lively discussions (Ted and Mack) by the pool for breakfast and before bed. We have found our new home away from home with these wonderful people. And if you read this post Sarah please let Dan and the gang know we are headed back to Iowa and the car is running fine. It was fate, pure and simple. See you next time!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnafromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Love, love your review! I have relayed your messages to everyone and they said to come back and see us soon! Thanks for the great read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

A very friendly setting with quality staff, a nice pool where you can rest and visit with people from over the USA, also that is where you can enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast with a newspaper! I love the idea that my car is parked a half block from the entry so that you can check on it. A best is the location, a few blocks from the Square, less than two blocks from the Mississippi River. The rooms are not large, however it is clean with antique furnishing, and if your not near the pool, quiet. When price is compared, this is the best deal in New Orlean's Quarter! Very near quality resturants, VERY SAFE AREA.

Room Tip: For a better rest select a room not close to pool, party lasted near mid-night, and I had to leave early. Very secure entry.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennMiller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We appreciate your continued patronage of the Chateau Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Something tells me we will be seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Chateau Hotel is where we got married. After looking at EVERY quaint hotel in the French Quarter, we knew immediately that The Chateau was our special place. The staff, especially Sarah, was and continues to be awesome! We often return for weekend getaways and to see our Chateau "family" even though we live less than an hour away. This hotel is not 5 star; however, it is quaint and nice settled in a great location to everywhere one would want to venture out to in the Quarter. Parking is convenient and affordable....hard to find in the Quarter. We would not think about staying anywhere else! We have made great memories here and will continue to do so in the future....a little hint....check out the suite across the street from the main hotel....super nice!

Jack and Laura - Mandeville, LA

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraB77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Love the picture Jack and Laura! Thanks for reviewing us. You two are just such a ball of happiness, we love to see you. Thanks for sharing us with your friends and see you soon-Superbowl???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I liked the courtyard with the pool and that some of the rooms opened to this area. We were in a party of 15 couples so that part was good, but our room in particular was down a hallway on the first floor. The part I did not like was that the rooms were HOT!! I was never cool the entire time we were there. We asked for a fan, some of our friends got them, but we were told they did not have any left. It would be a better place to stay when the weather is cooler since the air does not work well. The rooms were not as clean as I would like either, and everything was really old. The carpet was worn out. A reno in much needed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We enjoyed very much having your group celebrate with us. I apologize you were too hot while visiting. Unfortunately, we did run out of fans during your groups' stay. It was a very humid weekend.

The carpets were scheduled to be replaced, however when they were being milled, there was a flaw in the carpet. Hopefully, we will have our custom milled carpet installed by mid-Sept.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I stayed July 19 - July 24 and our only complaint is the shower water pressure is sadly lacking. Everything else was great! The staff is very friendly and accommodating (thanks again to Sarah for printing my last minute tour reservation for me). The room was clean, slightly outdated however, there were workers on the premises making repairs and updates (very polite, quiet workers). I found the people of New Orleans in general, to be very friendly and never lacking in manners. It was a great change of pace from life in Chicago.The Chateau Hotel is a perfect starting point to a magical vacation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicLikoudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

You are welcome! Yes, New Orleans is a world away from Chicago it seems sometimes.

Come back and see us soon!

Thank you for reviewing the Chateau Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews