We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
372
349
191
118
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
349
191
118
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfrench quarterjackson squarecontinental breakfastbourbon streetlovely courtyardthe main hotelcourtyard areatwo blocksfrenchman strooms are smallwe've stayedwalking distance to everythingmini fridgesouthern hospitalitybalcony roomcharm
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Chateau hotel is a great pick. It is not pricey at all, rooms are simple but clean. There's a nice patio and a pool. You can have complimentary breakfast delivered in your room! But the best thing of all is its location. You can safely walk to Frenchmen street and enjoy all the music the Big Easy can offer. Staff -not all of them though - are very helpful and give you plenty of information about the music gigs and the blocks you should avoid if you want to be safe. There's a parking just round the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Great tips about Frenchman Street!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to the Big Easy, saying he knew of a gem down in the Quarter... This is an older hotel, one you wouldn't notice because there are no flashing signs or markers. But the courtyard was great, the pool very inviting. The staff extraordinary.... the room keys are actually metal and not those plastic strip cards.... He asked for a pool side room and although it was small, WHO EVER STAYS IN THe ROOM IN NEW ORLEANS?? The room opened to the pool, approximately 3 steps away. Wonderful.

A light breakfast is delivered to the room as well, your choice of goodies.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank in4ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

What a great surprise! We love to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location. Close to everything! Great place for groups. We were able to get most of our rooms to open to the pool/courtyard area and was just a great place to socialize before going out.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to pool are nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We very much enjoyed hosting your group. So happy to hear you had a good time for the special birthday. We do try to honor guests' requests for location, etc. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Everyone (but one) that worked at the hotel was great! Very personable and attentive. The room was charming and the outside pool wonderful!
The only problem we encountered was the last morning when the young man that brought us breakfast was rude and acted as if he didn't want to work. He told me to "make sure I left the tray out before 11. Don't forget." That mornings breakfast was pretty awful too.
Besides the last morning terrible employee, the place is an ACE for the reasonable price!

Room Tip: We liked having a room with a view of the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to wrtie a review and even after your troubling incident with an employee, still enjoyed your stay. The employee has been placed on a probationary employment status. We want everyone to feel welcome and at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband , 6 yr old son and I found ourselves with an overheated car as soon as we hit the Quarter so we pulled into their hotel parking lot. It was abolutely pouring down rain so I ran into the lobby with the help of one of the many sweet housekeepers and Greg the bellman immediately gave me a dry towel and an umbrella. Dan at the desk set us up with a room and the rest is history. We Absolutely LOVED every bit of our experience at the Chateau. Although I have visited Nola several times in past yrs, it was my hubby's first time and I feel so blessed to have broken down here! The place is full of charm and very very well kept for a 275 yr old property! I have never stayed so close to the action yet felt so far from it in the beautiful courtyard. We met such wonderful fellow travellers and ended up in some lively discussions (Ted and Mack) by the pool for breakfast and before bed. We have found our new home away from home with these wonderful people. And if you read this post Sarah please let Dan and the gang know we are headed back to Iowa and the car is running fine. It was fate, pure and simple. See you next time!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnafromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Love, love your review! I have relayed your messages to everyone and they said to come back and see us soon! Thanks for the great read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews