We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveller rating
389
359
201
126
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
359
201
126
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location french quarter jackson square continental breakfast bourbon street beautiful courtyard two blocks rooms are small walking distance to everything mardi gras charm chartres nola decatur quarters action
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here September 2012 for the weekend. This is a charming small hotel on Chartres Street close to Jackson Square, Cathedral, Mississippi River boat cruises and hip hop bus tours which only started this month perfect location for Bourbon St 2 blocks from our hotel great to see very busy street at night. The rooms at the Chateau we had were adequate for our weekend stay but if we were staying longer I would advise upgrading to the bigger rooms as ours was in the alley by the pool but we had no windows and was very small but we were lucky we got a room if there had been availability would have booked one overlooking the pool or street. Lovely courtyard you know you're in New Orleans very charming!!! Beds were really comfy also. Can't fault it apart from the size of the room also could do with a kettle in the rooms rather than a coffee maker that had no coffee with it. You get your local paper at your door every morning if you require breakfast to your room order night before.

Room tip: Upgrade if possible for a bigger room with windows
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMisssunshine64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for such a complete review and great suggestions!

Make sure to call early for our larger deluxe rooms. They can go quickly on the weekends.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I really liked the charm of this little quaint hotel. The room we had was really cozy. The bed comfortable. The staff was very nice with breakfast and the paper delivered to our door in the morning. Our room opened up into the courtyard where there was a pool. The only thing I could complain about would be the bathroom. It was small but clean with a teeny tiniest bathtub/shower I have ever seen but it was ok for a quick shower. It has to be expected in these old buildings. All in all it was a pleasant stay for a reasonable price and a great location. It was easy walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, coffee shops and the Frenchmen Street area which is a great spot for music. I would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: request one that opens onto the courtyard
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connieb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Your title says it all, we are cozy and we do posess that French Quarter charm! Our bathrooms are small, next time try requesting a deluxe room or ask your reservationist to assist you with room descriptions. No two rooms are exactly alike!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We loved the central location of the Chateau, and it is a nice place to stay as well. The courtyard was our meeting and gathering spot as we were traveling with friends also staying there.
The front staff, vallets, breakfast server, and house keeping was all so nice and friendly. They work hard to keep the place up, and customers happy and directed.
My room didnt have black out curtains and that was a bummer, and the shower curtain fell down on my last day! Is this place perfect, well no it's not. It's old but showing it's age well in a New Orleans kinda way. There are perfect hotels in NOLA but all ers forgivin here cause everyones nice and the keep the place clean. I will for sure consider coming back to The Chateau again.

Room tip: It's a small hotel and all the rooms I saw were nice.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Love your review! Perfect description of our little property.

We do not use black out curtains on some rooms. Next time you stay, please request a room with heavier shades or curtains. We have been phasing out the older, heavier curtains to a lighter look.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I were escaping from the aftermath of Hurrican Isack and stumbled across this hotel. This place seemed more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel, which we loved! Everyone was totally accommodating and eager to please. The bed was so comfy and plush and the whole environment was wonderful, and so peaceful and quiet, which was an added plus. We plan to visit again, just because. The cost of the room was more than reasonable. We weren't expecting that either, concerned that hotels might take advantage of the situation. But not this place. It was all a wonderful experience. We definitely have NO affiliation whith this hotel. I'm just speaking the honest truth!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roydkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Sooo glad we could be your Hurricane Isaac escape! Because the French Quarter didn't lose power, we were able to help locals catch a cool nights' sleep and enjoy a little bit of the Quarter.

Our rates fluctuate according to season and our next discount season is Papa Noel Rates during the month of December.

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and stayed here for our 25th anniversary, room was great, staff was all helpful, courteous and were quick to recommend places to eat that were all great. This was our first time in New Orleans and we had a great time, checking in and out was a breeze and cab was ready and waiting for us to take us to the airport. We walked everywhere and felt safe and secure even late at night. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans!! Also if possible ask for room 221 - it was really great.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Firstly, we are happy you chose the Chateau Hotel to spend your 25th wedding anniversary. And even happier to hear you enjoyed yourself and would come back!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews