We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in New Orleans”
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #111 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Romantic trip to New Orleans, we booked a room at the Chateau Hotel in the French quarter. Rooms started at $98.00 a night we stayed for 3 nights. The hotel had free Wi-Fi and breakfast as well as a swimming pool. We knew that we would probably not sleep, after all Bourbon Street is the hot spot in New Orleans. We enjoyed the jazz bands on the streets, and took the ferry across the Mississippi river to visit friends on the east bank. The room was very nice and clean we had black out curtains and actually did get some sleep, waking up too the smell of the magnolia trees was fantastic. Staff was awesome and suggested several places to visit. We will go back for a longer stay the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Thank you for such a sweet review!

We hope you come back and make the Chateau Hotel your "place for romace" in New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here September 2012 for the weekend. This is a charming small hotel on Chartres Street close to Jackson Square, Cathedral, Mississippi River boat cruises and hip hop bus tours which only started this month perfect location for Bourbon St 2 blocks from our hotel great to see very busy street at night. The rooms at the Chateau we had were adequate for our weekend stay but if we were staying longer I would advise upgrading to the bigger rooms as ours was in the alley by the pool but we had no windows and was very small but we were lucky we got a room if there had been availability would have booked one overlooking the pool or street. Lovely courtyard you know you're in New Orleans very charming!!! Beds were really comfy also. Can't fault it apart from the size of the room also could do with a kettle in the rooms rather than a coffee maker that had no coffee with it. You get your local paper at your door every morning if you require breakfast to your room order night before.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible for a bigger room with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMisssunshine64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for such a complete review and great suggestions!

Make sure to call early for our larger deluxe rooms. They can go quickly on the weekends.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I really liked the charm of this little quaint hotel. The room we had was really cozy. The bed comfortable. The staff was very nice with breakfast and the paper delivered to our door in the morning. Our room opened up into the courtyard where there was a pool. The only thing I could complain about would be the bathroom. It was small but clean with a teeny tiniest bathtub/shower I have ever seen but it was ok for a quick shower. It has to be expected in these old buildings. All in all it was a pleasant stay for a reasonable price and a great location. It was easy walking distance to good restaurants, shopping, coffee shops and the Frenchmen Street area which is a great spot for music. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: request one that opens onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connieb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Your title says it all, we are cozy and we do posess that French Quarter charm! Our bathrooms are small, next time try requesting a deluxe room or ask your reservationist to assist you with room descriptions. No two rooms are exactly alike!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We loved the central location of the Chateau, and it is a nice place to stay as well. The courtyard was our meeting and gathering spot as we were traveling with friends also staying there.
The front staff, vallets, breakfast server, and house keeping was all so nice and friendly. They work hard to keep the place up, and customers happy and directed.
My room didnt have black out curtains and that was a bummer, and the shower curtain fell down on my last day! Is this place perfect, well no it's not. It's old but showing it's age well in a New Orleans kinda way. There are perfect hotels in NOLA but all ers forgivin here cause everyones nice and the keep the place clean. I will for sure consider coming back to The Chateau again.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel and all the rooms I saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Love your review! Perfect description of our little property.

We do not use black out curtains on some rooms. Next time you stay, please request a room with heavier shades or curtains. We have been phasing out the older, heavier curtains to a lighter look.

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I were escaping from the aftermath of Hurrican Isack and stumbled across this hotel. This place seemed more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel, which we loved! Everyone was totally accommodating and eager to please. The bed was so comfy and plush and the whole environment was wonderful, and so peaceful and quiet, which was an added plus. We plan to visit again, just because. The cost of the room was more than reasonable. We weren't expecting that either, concerned that hotels might take advantage of the situation. But not this place. It was all a wonderful experience. We definitely have NO affiliation whith this hotel. I'm just speaking the honest truth!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roydkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Sooo glad we could be your Hurricane Isaac escape! Because the French Quarter didn't lose power, we were able to help locals catch a cool nights' sleep and enjoy a little bit of the Quarter.

Our rates fluctuate according to season and our next discount season is Papa Noel Rates during the month of December.

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and stayed here for our 25th anniversary, room was great, staff was all helpful, courteous and were quick to recommend places to eat that were all great. This was our first time in New Orleans and we had a great time, checking in and out was a breeze and cab was ready and waiting for us to take us to the airport. We walked everywhere and felt safe and secure even late at night. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans!! Also if possible ask for room 221 - it was really great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Firstly, we are happy you chose the Chateau Hotel to spend your 25th wedding anniversary. And even happier to hear you enjoyed yourself and would come back!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sleepless night in a hot room. Shower might as well be a faucet. Front desk put us in an already occupied room and then wanted to argue about it. Mattress also bad, my feet higher than my head. Finally fell asleep at 6am kutdide the covers with head at foot of bed. I can't speak for any other room in the hotel but that's room 105. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

I must apologize for your sleepless night at our property. We had been experiencing water pressure issues in that section of the hotel but we are confident we have located the issue and have had it resolved.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,733 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
2,345 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#87 of 166 in New Orleans
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#51 of 166 in New Orleans
635 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £72 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing