We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel in a more quiet part of the Quarter”
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #115 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a more quiet part of the Quarter”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We found ourselves inadvertently attending Mardi Gras the weekend before Fat Tuesday this year and struggled to find an affordable hotel room, but lucked out when we found a room at the Chateau Hotel. The hotel was charming and the staff was very helpful. While the bathroom could use some updating, and there were a few things in our room that could have been fixed/tended to (there was small hole in the wall from someone opening the closet too hard, and some detail cleaning that would have been nice), for the price-point, this hotel was fantastic. In addition, other than a small amount of noise here and there, we heard very little of Mardi Gras in the middle of the night. We will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayDee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It's so great to hear that you would come back and stay with us again! Mardi Gras is a very busy time for us, so I'm glad we were able to fit you in. Thanks for the support. I hope you enjoyed your weekend in the Big Easy.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    252
    122
    70
    69
See reviews for
112
351
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Right in the heart of the French Quarter. Free off street parking. Reasonably priced. I would definetely return. The staff was helpful and provided information about local points of interest. Everything I was interested in was within walking distance

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans, Robert! We love helping guests explore our city and it means the world to me that you had a great time. Thanks for the review. I hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location was great right in the french quarters and walking distance to Frenchman street if you want to see music. The staff was pleasant and even offered an upgrade when we asked to move rooms - we initially received a room just outside the main lobby and were concerned that there would be noise. We actually stayed in the honeymoon suite which was a nice size, but it was pretty beat up and a very dingy - complete with stale sock smell when we first got there. There were lots of make-shift repairs that looked very low grade and the air vent in the bathroom looked to have a nest of lint dating back to the 1800's. Our second night we were moved to a room just below in the back courtyard. The room was nice and a bit more upgraded BUT we could hear everything in the two adjoining rooms and I am not talking about the good stuff. One guys sounded like he was dying and coughing up a lung and the hocking loogies all night and all morning. We were a bit disgusted and more concerned that he was dying - we hope you are ok Mr. In the other room next to us there was a party until about 3:30AM. We are early risers so that was not fun. And we woke up to heaping ashtrays of cigarette butts and half empty tall boys all over the place in the courtyard. I am all for peoples right to party, but there should be some respect for other guests and the hotel should enforce that - maybe at 1AM they could ask people to lower the volume a bit. Not sure what they could do about the guy dying, but maybe some insulation in the walls so people who are not dying can sleep. And the hotel should do an early clean up so the common areas are clean by the time people wake up. We love small B&B's, but the hotel should set some standards and train the staff and maintenance crew. This is the first hotel that we have complained about - we don't think of ourselves as the crazy man and woman who have 15 cats and are chronic complainers. Maybe we are just not the clientele for this hotel. Next time in New Orleans I will buck up another $100-$150 per night to stay in a nicer property. Sorry.

Room Tip: When you book ask for the most recently renovated and a quite area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Davidn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed out location, but disappointed that you were unsatisfied with your accommodations. Being in the French Quarter, late night noise can definitely be an issue. Unfortunately, due to our historic building status, we're not able to rebuild and soundproof our rooms better. Sorry if this was an inconvenience. Thanks for the feedback and we hope you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans!

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been coming to the "Chateau" for several years. We come back for many reasons and the more we come back the more we feel it's like coming home or that we've never left! The location is great; it's quiet (if you're not facing Chartres street though we never have so we don't really know) and the staff is great. If you're thinking this is a resort - it's not - but you can still relax at the pool tucked away in the cocoon like set-up of the property if you feel like it. The rooms are fine - again, if you're staying here for the room experience you're missing the point of being in NOLA. It's not fancy and it's not lacking in amenities either. They provide a decent continental breakfast by some of the hardest working staff in New Orleans (I forget everyone's name in housekeeping but I recognize them all and they are helpful and friendly if you take the time to be friendly too.) Dan at the front desk and Sarah are helpful and interesting. We're proud to be 'regulars' and pleased that we are remembered when we come back to stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
You have no idea how much it means that we've been able to make you regulars. Our staff is going to be so thrilled that you called them the hardest working people in the city! I'll definitely not forget about you and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is my fifth stay at The Chateau. My first since Katrina. Their location in the Quarter is perfect. You're close enough to walk to all attractions and great restaurants but far enough away to avoid the worst of the noise. I always stay in the same room and it has become my home away from home. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly. The only minor glitch was that some mornings my breakfast was a little late. Thanks to Sharon for another lovely stay.

Room Tip: Try the rooms with the second floor balcony on Chartres or St. Philip Streets. It's a great pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
I'm so glad that you stopped in and visited us again, Douglas. The whole city had put in a ton of hard work since Katrina, and I'm glad you had the opportunity to see the spirit of New Orleans rejuvenated. Thanks for the compliments here on TripAdvisor. I'll chat with our staff about the late breakfasts and look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location and value. Room wasn't spectacular but it was clean. I would stay there again because the price was well below other hotels in the area and it was walking distance to everything in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We always want our customers to have a truly memorable experience, so I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in NOLA, Zach. Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. I hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to the Big Easy.

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My first trip to NoLa! Had a great time. Nice hotel, friendly staff and great location. Loved sitting outside at my table every evening and watch folks walk by. A little pricey, but not crazy. Had one issue with drain in bathroom, but it was taken care of promptly and completely. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're so happy to hear that you had a great first experience in NOLA, Sue! Our hotel is in a wonderful location for exploring the French Quarter on foot. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the recommendation here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in town, make sure to drop us a line.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#121 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#82 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing