We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.”
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #115 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great place to stay. Friendly staff. Nice location. Short walk to Bourbon Street and the French Market. Quiet at night even during Mardi Gras. I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay with a warm cozy feeling. This is coming from a guy that never writes reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kkingchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Considering you usually don't write reviews, thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. It's really nice to know you think our hotel is quiet and comfortable while still conveniently located near Bourbon Street. So glad we got to see you on this Mardi Gras trip! Hope you get a chance to visit New Orleans again soon, Mr. King!!

Best wishes,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    260
    127
    75
    73
See reviews for
121
363
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband, family and I have been staying at the Chateau for over 15 years. It's like our home away from home. The staff are so helpful and caring. Wendell and his nephew, Greg, are special staff who go to great lengths to see we are comfortable and our accommodations are just right. The Chateau truly reflects the essence of New Orleans. It is located in the heart of the French Quarter, yet it is private and quiet, even at Mardi Gras. We've stayed in their condo across the street, balcony rooms on the courtyard, courtyard rooms, interior rooms, and even the handicapped room. Every stay is as pleasant and special as the last. I highly recommend the Chateau as the place to stay in New Orleans, and know you won't be disappointed. Whether it's just a quick get away, vacation, business trip, honeymoon, or Mardi Gras, the Chateau will make your visit special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Your recommendation is absolutely invaluable to us, Linda, and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to share this wonderful review. Thank you for your loyalty over the years -- it's a fantastic testament to the work of our entire team, and we'll be sure to pass it along. We hope to welcome you again very soon for another visit, and I assure you we'll continue to work hard to give you nothing but special experiences!

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I can't say enough good things about Chateau and the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was wonderful and we were only blocks away from virtually everything. We've been going to Mardi Gras for more than a decade now and can honestly say this was one of our favorite trips thanks to the staff of Chateau. For what you get, this place is a steal!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Calvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I'm so happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us over Mardi Gras, Calvin! It's definitely a busy time for us, so it means the world to hear that we could still provide you with top notch service. Thanks for the support! Remember us when you plan your next trip to Mardi Gras!

All the best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just stayed here for four days and loved it...Perfect location for us, easy to walk to everything. Room was very clean, grounds were very clean and even though it was Mardi Gras it was very quiet. Highly recommend, staff was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Great location, comfy accommodations, clean grounds — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the support. I hope you're stay with us on your next trip to NOLA.

Best regards,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We found ourselves inadvertently attending Mardi Gras the weekend before Fat Tuesday this year and struggled to find an affordable hotel room, but lucked out when we found a room at the Chateau Hotel. The hotel was charming and the staff was very helpful. While the bathroom could use some updating, and there were a few things in our room that could have been fixed/tended to (there was small hole in the wall from someone opening the closet too hard, and some detail cleaning that would have been nice), for the price-point, this hotel was fantastic. In addition, other than a small amount of noise here and there, we heard very little of Mardi Gras in the middle of the night. We will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayDee2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It's so great to hear that you would come back and stay with us again! Mardi Gras is a very busy time for us, so I'm glad we were able to fit you in. Thanks for the support. I hope you enjoyed your weekend in the Big Easy.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Right in the heart of the French Quarter. Free off street parking. Reasonably priced. I would definetely return. The staff was helpful and provided information about local points of interest. Everything I was interested in was within walking distance

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans, Robert! We love helping guests explore our city and it means the world to me that you had a great time. Thanks for the review. I hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location was great right in the french quarters and walking distance to Frenchman street if you want to see music. The staff was pleasant and even offered an upgrade when we asked to move rooms - we initially received a room just outside the main lobby and were concerned that there would be noise. We actually stayed in the honeymoon suite which was a nice size, but it was pretty beat up and a very dingy - complete with stale sock smell when we first got there. There were lots of make-shift repairs that looked very low grade and the air vent in the bathroom looked to have a nest of lint dating back to the 1800's. Our second night we were moved to a room just below in the back courtyard. The room was nice and a bit more upgraded BUT we could hear everything in the two adjoining rooms and I am not talking about the good stuff. One guys sounded like he was dying and coughing up a lung and the hocking loogies all night and all morning. We were a bit disgusted and more concerned that he was dying - we hope you are ok Mr. In the other room next to us there was a party until about 3:30AM. We are early risers so that was not fun. And we woke up to heaping ashtrays of cigarette butts and half empty tall boys all over the place in the courtyard. I am all for peoples right to party, but there should be some respect for other guests and the hotel should enforce that - maybe at 1AM they could ask people to lower the volume a bit. Not sure what they could do about the guy dying, but maybe some insulation in the walls so people who are not dying can sleep. And the hotel should do an early clean up so the common areas are clean by the time people wake up. We love small B&B's, but the hotel should set some standards and train the staff and maintenance crew. This is the first hotel that we have complained about - we don't think of ourselves as the crazy man and woman who have 15 cats and are chronic complainers. Maybe we are just not the clientele for this hotel. Next time in New Orleans I will buck up another $100-$150 per night to stay in a nicer property. Sorry.

Room Tip: When you book ask for the most recently renovated and a quite area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Davidn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed out location, but disappointed that you were unsatisfied with your accommodations. Being in the French Quarter, late night noise can definitely be an issue. Unfortunately, due to our historic building status, we're not able to rebuild and soundproof our rooms better. Sorry if this was an inconvenience. Thanks for the feedback and we hope you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans!

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 162 in New Orleans
526 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
1,670 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#118 of 162 in New Orleans
307 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing