We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel with great charm and perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice hotel with great charm and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel over the weekend and love not only the charm and hospitality of the staff and rooms but also the amazing location. This hotel is centrally located in the french quarter and is a perfect place to stay and still be able to walk and explore the entire quarter without the extreme noise you get staying ob Bourbon street. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    240
    108
    67
    62
See reviews for
95
321
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel check-in area is quite charming, but the rooms are extremely small and need a major overhaul. If you need somewhere just to lay your head for a minute, then go for it. If you're looking for a classy boutique hotel, this is not for you. The staff was awesome and very accommodating! The management should at least keep them happy.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Chateau hotel is a little oasis in the heart of the French Quarter, the location couldn't be better for sightseeing and bar hopping. I'm sure if you were staying on the road side it could be pretty noisy, but the Courtyard rooms are quiet enough. There is a restful pool and terrace area. Rooms are on the small side and tucked away so quite dark, I needed the lights on at all times of the day. The bed was really comfortable with lots of pillows. Wifi was excellent throughout the building.

Staff were super friendly if largely inefficient, although perhaps this is just the laid back NOLA way. I was there three days, twice my breakfast didn't arrive, once I didn't receive the complimentary morning paper and one time my room wasn't cleaned at all, despite leaving out the Please Service sign. I had a leaking bathroom ceiling which didn't get fixed during my stay. The staff also had a habit of hanging around directly outside my window during their breaks chatting and smoking from early in the morning which was quite annoying and meant I couldn't open the curtains to let in some light.

Ultminately you can't better the value to be in this central location, if they were to tighten up the staffing and attention to detail, this would be a solid 4 Star review instead of 3.

Room Tip: Ask for a Courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bothsidesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
It's so wonderful to hear that you loved our location! Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. We take customer service very seriously, so I'm glad you pointed out a few ways we can improve. Next time you're in town, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in May with our family and had three rooms. The room with the balcony overlooking Chartres was our favorite. Random bursts of jazz, hoof beats, and tour guides added to the French quarter ambiance of an otherwise quiet French quarter location. The courtyard view rooms were also lovely, overlooking the beautiful pool. If you are a clean freak you may not appreciate the older interior or the general condition of the older hotels in the quarter but we loved the atmosphere and the hotel!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationeervelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the support. Next time you need a vacation, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We got a great deal on our room! We booked through FrenchQuarter.com, but they no longer book this hotel, unfortunately. It was charming and the location is perfect. The room was quaint and lovely; the bathroom was in need of an update, but it was still in good condition. The walls are very thin however. I know how good our trip was, and I'm fairly certain I know how good the couple's trip in the room above us was.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms won't have street traffic noise. And second floor rooms maybe quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrzmartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As a historic building, our walls are a bit thin. However, I'm glad you still enjoyed your stay. Next time you're in town, stop in and visit us.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked 2 nights at the pricy Chateau Hotel thinking I was going to have a wonderful stay and I was extremely disappointed.

The hotel looked pretty and charming on the outside but the room we had was completely outdated and not in a charming, lots of character way. It was just old and rundown, wallpaper falling apart, patch jobs everywhere on ceilings and walls, room smelt incredibly musty was discussing. The TV looked like it was snowing and the internet didn't work.

The front desk staff were somewhat rude and unprofessional, they did their job but I felt unwelcome and that they could care less they just run the hotel like an assembly line.

The rest of the staff that were not running the office were as sweet as pie though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desdemonisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
As you can imagine, it's upsetting that we fell short. We only want our customers to enjoy great accommodations and excellent service, so I apologize if things weren't up to par. I hope you'll give us another shot to impress you with a wonderful experience in the future.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Definitely excellent Location! In the heart of the French Quarter. Charming is the operative word--They park your car, serve you breakfast in your room and are were delightful. We'd stay there again. Maureen G. Mulvaney, MGM, Professional Speaker and Amazon Best Selling Author

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for the recommendation, Maureen! It means the world that you think we're doing a good job. Next time you're in town, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#91 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing