We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Royal(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Inn on Ursulines(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Place d'Armes Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
340
313
172
98
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
313
172
98
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfrench quarterjackson squarecontinental breakfastbourbon streetbeautiful courtyardtwo blockswalking distance to everythingrooms are smallbalcony roommardi grascharmchartresnoladecaturquartersvalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A prime location is just about all the pricey Chateau has going for it. Luxury this isn’t, if you’re looking for a classy boutique hotel keep on looking – (think about private apartments – the ones across St Philip Street looked fantastic). The Chateau looks okay from the street but the rooms are severely outdated and no effort or expense has been invested in improvements for decades – they need a major overhaul. One of the worst beds I have ever slept-in in my life. The drapes, furniture, bed, carpet and decor all need immediate replacement. The room was very dirty and although serviced daily I don’t think this establishment owns a vacuum cleaner!!! Not a carpet any self respecting person would place bare feet on – Be warned. The front desk staff – of which there were many – were – to a man/woman – rude, unprofessional, uncaring and made no effort to even make eye contact with you, or even speak to you, when you were dealing with them - I felt totally unwelcome – people less suited to a customer service role I could not imagine. Coming from the UK – when we visit the USA annually we have come to expect a fantastic welcome and top notch service – in over 20 years of visits this is the first time I have been treated so badly. On a plus point the young guys dealing with the valet parking and taking your bags to your room were very switched on and friendly and helpful – if only that rubbed off on the front desk staff. On balance - we won't ever be staying here again.

Room Tip: In terms of noise – we were on a second floor street facing balcony room and we did not have any noise problem. An interior courtyard room might take you away from any street noise of a ground level street facing room but then pool parties might be worse!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FBDM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I want to personally apologize to you for the bad experience. While we are a historic hotel, this does not mean that our accommodations should be anything less that hospitable. I really appreciate you leaving us some feedback. We will be discussing your review at our next staff meeting and working hard to improve.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Chateau Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to virtually everything in New Orleans. Very comfortable, luxurious rooms. Friendly staff that are knowledgeable of the area of the area. We were able to walk every where.

Room Tip: Book early. Very popular spot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RED0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We're all about Southern hospitality and the vibrant culture of the French Quarter, so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Next time you're heading to town, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I really loved this hotel, this is very cheapest and very comfortable at low price. This is the best hotel experience in Grand island area. I recommend everyone who wants to book this hotel please go ahead and book it. this is great deal.

Room Tip: This is nice place to stay with family
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pramod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We're so flattered to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, Pramod. Thanks for the great review. Next time you're in New Orleans, we'll be excited to welcome you back.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel because it was in a prime location to the attractions we wanted to see, and because it looked like old style luxury. Fair warning, the luxury aspect is very lacking, with incredibly old and outdated rooms. Sure the design was gorgeous from the outside, especially with the outdoor pool and patio area, but the rooms could use some cleaning. Out of our 4 nights, we had to call the front desk to complain of people splashing and yelling in the pool around 3:30 AM and again at 4 AM, for two different nights. We had to call twice our first night there to get them to actually acknowledge and stop the disturbance. When we complained the next morning, the front desk looked at us dumbfounded asking why we didn't call, when we said we did.. TWICE. Of course the same thing happened again our last night there, which the lack of sleep made it terrible to drive 8+ hours the next day. Our shower faucet was also broken when we arrived, and it was fixed a couple days later with a mismatched dial (but at least it worked at that point). Breakfast was brought to our door every morning after filling out the slip of paper provided and left on the knob, but only 2 of our 4 mornings did they bring it within the correct time frame we selected. Other times were much later (time blocks were 30 minute blocks, and they were brought 20+ minutes after what was selected). With paper-thin walls, dated everything in the room and a staff who was less than caring to monitor their facilities and communicate with each other, I believe a better for the price can be located. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you want good location, this place is prime. Breakfast is brought to your door every morning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LNRedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

As you can imagine, I'm extremely concerned that you had some issues during your stay with us. While our location is stellar, being in the French Quarter definitely brings with it a party vibe that can be intrusive to some guests. That being said, we're sorry that you had to deal with loud guest in the pool late at night. Swimming late at night is against our rules, for obvious reasons, but not all of our guests are as respectful as you and your wife. I apologize for the inconvenience and will make sure my staff is more on top of this issue in the future. Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback and I hope you enjoyed your stay in Nola.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The moment the we walked into the court yard I fell in love. The pool, the quietness, the grounds were beautiful and the staff were excellent. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will for sure be back again.

Room Tip: We had the middle rooms not overlooking anything really, but that didn't bother us since most of the time is spent outside. There were places that open up to the court yard, would love to try those rooms next time.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It must have been love at first sight, Bonnie! Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. We're so happy that you had an excellent stay with us. Next time you're coming to NOLA you know where to find us.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews