We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm In High Demand Area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old World Charm In High Demand Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let's be clear, MOST hotels in the French Quarter of New Orleans are in 200 year old buildings, therefore, many suffer from wear and tear. Upon deciding to visit The French Quarter, one most realize that you are paying to stay in an incredibly eclectic area that is rich in history and ambiance. Hotels in The Quarter do not run cheap, with $200 for a weekend night being at the low end. As a frequent visitor, I have paid as much at $350 for a Saturday night at The Hotel Monteleone, and I can tell you that the room was nowhere near worth that amount of money. BUT, we LOVE New Orleans and The French Quarter. This leads me to THE CHATEAU HOTEL. If you want to stay IN THE QUARTER, you will not find a more reasonable price than The Chateau. I think we paid about $165 for a Saturday night. Moreover, parking anywhere in The French Quarter runs about $35 a day. At the Chateau, it was only $20, you will not find more reasonable parking than that. If you want to stay at a decent place in The Quarter and still save money, I recommend The Chateau. It is, by no means, perfect and could use some remodeling and furniture updates. But, that would increase the rates. While the rooms are worn and dated, THEY ARE CLEAN. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well. We were not looking to lounge all day in a resort style hotel. We travel to NO to enjoy the history, night life, and tours. So, the Chateau was a decent place to wash up, rest in between activities and lay our heads at night. It is also a short convenient walk to most places inside The French Quarter. We could have booked a nicer room for the same price in Downtown New Orleans, but that would have been a further walk or cab ride to our favorite spots. All the NO action in INSIDE THE FRENCH QUARTER. Thus, The Chateau provided exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy70Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We love our city, so it was an honor to have you stay and explore the Quarter with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Next time you're coming to the city, stop in and visit us.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    240
    109
    67
    62
See reviews for
95
322
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location. Close to everything we wanted. Our furthest walk was to the bus stop on Rampart to catch a ride to City Park. That was about five blocks I think. The hotel wears it's age with charm. I just loved the personal service. We had our breakfast delivered to the courtyard by the pool all three mornings. Just a few simple choices, a fruit, a bread, a juice, and coffee, hot chocolate, or tea. Just eough to get us started.
Our room was on the second floor near the pool. It was a little loud one evening from guests around the pool, but quieted down completely at 11 pm when the pool "closed."
The front desk was extremely helpful with recommendations based on what we were looking for. We enjoyed a nearby club for smooth jazz/classic rock, a locals bar with friendly regulars, and a very good restaurant on her advice.
Parking was a little high, but it is in a private, secure garage right across the street. Worth the fee.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows. Specify when making reservations if you have a preference. Ours had wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Great location, friendly service, tasty breakfast -- that's that we're going for, so it means a lot that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the support. Next time you need your NOLA fix, stop in and visit us.

Till next time,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had a discount card for this hotel I picked up at the visitors center in Jackson square. It said rooms from $69 so when I called them to make a same day reservation I was informed it would be $89 + tax. when I checked in the room he had me set up for was not rerady yet so he switched me from room 108 to rm 226 immediately even though I would have only had ot wait 20mins if I would have had to.As for the room I found the towel holder in the bathroom to be falling off the wall & needed reattached & also some of the walls needed some repair of the drywall in a few places & the chair looks kinds worn at the desk. So while I was there I walked across the street to another hotel which I had a discount card for & they said had I came there after 4pm to try & get a room they would had honored the $69 price printed on on the card (not added $20 extra like the Chateau hotel did. BUt on the upside this hotel did have a Very nice courtyard & the man at the desk when I checked in was very nice, polite & personable. As for the location, I really liked it, Being only a couple blocks from Jackson square & "lafittes Blacksmith shop" was really nice.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum72324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I'm very sorry that your room was not prepared when you arrived, but glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our fantastic location. Thanks for the feedback. Welcome Center cards clearly state rates FROM $69. This is available on same day reservations only and the rate changes daily because it is based on availability. Our check-in time is 2pm, if you were put in a room before then, we were trying to accommodate your early arrival.

We'll definitely work to improve and hope to impress you on your next visit.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were not sure about staying in this hotel, so we just stopped by and checked out the condition of the room and the hotel ourselves. We knew it was the type of hotel from one of the old buildings in French Quarters. But the room turned out to be to our liking with two full beds, spacious, clean, and a balcony overseeing the surrounding streets. So we took it and spent a night there on special walk-in rate. The pool in the hotel was also great and my kids enjoyed it. The best thing about the hotel is its location,....it is within French Quarters and within walking distance to everywhere you want to visit or see in New Orleans: Bourbon Street, Jackson square, cable streetcar, Mississippi river banks, the restaurants in the area, and the flea market. Breakfast was quite basic, but it was delivered to our room based on our order the night before, which was nice. Would definitely stay there again when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yongki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I'm so glad to hear that you would stay with us again, Yongki! It mades me very happy that you had the chance to experience the unique culture of the French Quarter first hand. Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We'd be honored to have you and your family stay with us again sometime.

Cheers,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

After reading tons of reviews of dozens of hotels, we finally decided on this one based on a friends recommendation. Pros: GREAT location-- very quiet, but we did have a courtyard room. I think any street side room in the French Quarter would be noisy, but overall this was a quiet area. Our room was very spacious. Great atmosphere. If you want luxury, this is not the greatest, but for atmosphere and service, it was great. Nice pool. Good beds. Helpful desk staff- especially in the evening. During the day the service staff was also good, but the desk staff not as friendly. Cons: you have to walk through the carriageway to get to the rooms--- this would be fine, but this is where all the employees and some guests gather to smoke. Our room didn't have a place to hang towels, which I thought was odd. The a/c worked REALLY well... but it only had two levels-- really cold and off.

Room Tip: Face the courtyard. We had the honeymoon suite (not really sure why it's called this-- it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexar1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review here on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and accommodating beds. Our reviews are taken very seriously, so I definitely plan on using your feedback to make the Chateau Hotel even better. Next time you're in town, I hope you'll choose to stay with us again.

Till then,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had us waiting in the lobby for 1 hour and 15 minutes after check-in time for room to be ready. My daughter got to listen to the staff "cat calling" women walking by on the street. Finally got put in a still-dirty room with no windows. Our television was smaller than my computer monitor (literally). They left out 1/2 of the items we ordered for breakfast. Photos were *much* nicer than reality. Paid $290 total for the Sunday after 4th of July so naturally costs were higher. The stay wasn't worth even half of that, even with the good location. Would have had a better experience at a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Request room with windows. Ours didn't have any. Be careful of check-in time. Had us waiting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
While I personally apologize about the wait, it seems shocking to me that my staff would be 'cat calling' women on the street. This is truly unacceptable and not something we condone within this establishment. I plan on speaking with all of my employees who were working that weekend and getting to the bottom of this.

Sincerely,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A prime location is just about all the pricey Chateau has going for it. Luxury this isn’t, if you’re looking for a classy boutique hotel keep on looking – (think about private apartments – the ones across St Philip Street looked fantastic). The Chateau looks okay from the street but the rooms are severely outdated and no effort or expense has been invested in improvements for decades – they need a major overhaul. One of the worst beds I have ever slept-in in my life. The drapes, furniture, bed, carpet and decor all need immediate replacement. The room was very dirty and although serviced daily I don’t think this establishment owns a vacuum cleaner!!! Not a carpet any self respecting person would place bare feet on – Be warned. The front desk staff – of which there were many – were – to a man/woman – rude, unprofessional, uncaring and made no effort to even make eye contact with you, or even speak to you, when you were dealing with them - I felt totally unwelcome – people less suited to a customer service role I could not imagine. Coming from the UK – when we visit the USA annually we have come to expect a fantastic welcome and top notch service – in over 20 years of visits this is the first time I have been treated so badly. On a plus point the young guys dealing with the valet parking and taking your bags to your room were very switched on and friendly and helpful – if only that rubbed off on the front desk staff. On balance - we won't ever be staying here again.

Room Tip: In terms of noise – we were on a second floor street facing balcony room and we did not have any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FBDM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I want to personally apologize to you for the bad experience. While we are a historic hotel, this does not mean that our accommodations should be anything less that hospitable. I really appreciate you leaving us some feedback. We will be discussing your review at our next staff meeting and working hard to improve.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#89 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing