We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice average hotel”
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #110 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is nice. Very pretty courtyard. I enjoyed my 2 night stay. Parking is $20 a day in a private lot. Check in and out took a few minutes. Breakfast consists of your choice of breads, fruit, and drinks. Walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler76087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the support. Was this your first time in New Orleans?

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stay every year! Have stayed in different rooms each time. It is an older very NOLA type of Hotel. The bedding is updated and comfortable. It is clean and the staff is always friendly. Located perfectly in the French Quarter. 1 1/2 blocks to French Market and the Trolley. 1 1/2 block from Jackson Square and 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. We never get taxi's until we leave.

Room Tip: Get a room in the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I'm so happy that you had the chance to enjoy our top-notch location, Kellie. Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. Next time you need a vacation, keep us in mind.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

When we booked this hotel I don't think we really clocked just how central it is. Brilliant spot in the heart of the French quarter but not in a loud street and at a decent price.

The hotel has loads of character given its age- brilliant courtyard and pool to relax in. Valet Parking was appreciated at about $20 a day (which is cheaper than parking on the street). Breakfast is included and comes to your room each morning, although the time slots aren't precise and the paper may or may not always be with it. But its the 'Big Easy' so if you are not in a rush.. no worries. It was a treat for us simply to have it brought to us.

We had a room right next to the street so yes it did pick up traffic and passers by. But we weren't fussed. If you want complete quiet perhaps ask for first floor or courtyard facing. All in all great place and would stay here again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Londontraveller7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We're so happy that you had a chance to visit us while you were in town. Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. We hope you enjoyed your stay in NOLA.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

In the heart of the French Quarter--perfect location for being close to the party-action without being right in it. If you like quaint and historic (but with electricity and plumbing) at a very fair price, this hotel can not be beat.

Rooms are a good size and scrupulously clean; amenities work well; courtyard and swimming pool provide a delightful haven for a break from the sometimes frantic French Quarter/New Orleans' experiences.

If you want ultra modern, super new, then this is not the place for you. For a gracious, real New Orleans welcome, the Chateau staff are genuine and hospitable. For the price of a smile, they'll take real good care of you--and if you are inclined, your automobile--safe, off street parking for a more than reasonable per night rate.

The continental breakfast is a perfect start to the day: delivered to your door for savoring on either the balcony or courtyard. The coffee is freshly brewed, hot and served with a warm smile.

Staff are eager to share how much they love their city and are a wealth of information. Please--remember this is the REAL New Orleans; not a mass-produced, national chain. Take time to enjoy your stay and enjoy the staff--it's the people of New Orleans that make this city a wonderful place to visit!

Room Tip: Ask the staff when you make your reservations: explain what you would like and they will do their v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank caveatactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for the support here on TripAdvisor. It's wonderful to hear your compliments. Stop in and visit us again soon.

Best:
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We returned again because our first stay a year ago was fab. This time was a different story. Our complimentary breakfast did not arrive. We would have survived that except that we only had 1 coffee set up in our room. Then it took 30 minutes to get our car after checking out. Location is great but service was not up to par this visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snappynectarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the support! We're so glad that you enjoyed your trip to the city. Keep in mind, on high volume weekends the parking lot becomes very full and it does take up to a half an hour to retrieve vehicles. Next time you're in town, we'd love for you to stay with us.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is my second time staying here at Chateau Hotel. Great location, right on Chartres St. A couple blocks away from Jackson Square and it's right in the Quarter. The staff is very nice and helpful. Free breakfast every morning, you choose what you want the night before. It's simple, just gives you a little something in the morning. You also get the local paper free every morning too. Free Valet parking if you have a AAA card, otherwise there is a charge.
Room is nice, simple. There is a fridge which makes it super easy to keep beer/water cold especially when it's so hot outside. Also, the air in the room is so refreshing, nice and cold. I stayed on the downstairs, my room was on Chartres St. and I did hear the horse carriages going by, but it just adds to the character of New Orleans. It wasn't too loud.
I would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: I've stayed on both the top floor with a balcony and the bottom floor. I would imagine near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the support. What was your favorite thing you did while in New Orleans?

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews and they were pretty spot on. The hotel is just lovely and the location can't be beat if you want to be within walking distance of everything without being too close to the noisy hubbub that the French Quarter can be. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was wonderful and extremely helpful. My husband and I went for a romantic birthday celebration and it was a magical trip. It's amazaing how walking into the right hotel can set the mood for your whole trip and from the moment we arrived we knew we had a winner :-). A simple breakfast was included in the rate and delivered to our room every morning. It was just enough to get our day started and ready for the morning activities. It was the perfect combination of old world charm and convenience. Don't book here if you're looking for a high end ritzy place to stay. I prefer well located, charming places that don't break the bank and this hotel hit the bullseye. Should we go back to New Orleans, which I realy hope we do, we will certainly be going back to the Chateau Hotel and will be telling all our friends of this little gem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard area are quieter, unless guests are congregating in the pool area but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnagabyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I'm so glad that we could help make your trip magical! There's nowhere in the world quite like the French Quarter and I'm happy that you got the chance to experience it firsthand. Next time you need a romantic getaway, stop in and visit us.

Best,
Sarah Drake
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
2,300 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 167 in New Orleans
1,681 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#90 of 167 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
2,021 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,667 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#115 of 167 in New Orleans
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £93 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing