We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avenue Plaza Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Prytania Oaks Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prytania Park(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel Modern(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
306
323
104
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
323
104
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharegarden districtashley housewyndham ownerstrolley stop cafetimeshare presentationstudio roomwyndham resorttimeshare salesmini kitchenstove topwashers and dryersrooftop deckday passfrench quarterpots and panspool and hot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great help, room & location. Room could have used a mirror besides the small one in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ones on top floors have great view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbarKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hotel staff was superb. Everyone we encountered greeted us with a smile and offer to assist with any questions or needs. Even a contractor doing work on another floor was very informative as we rode the elevator.

Room was spacious and very comfortable. Location on St. Charles and proximity to Tulane was perferct for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FWMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed for 1 week in August and just loved it. Our suite was clean and there was plenty of space. We were in town for a convention and had shipped many packages in advance. The packages were stored and and everything was in order. Concierge Big Jerome and Herb assisted us in getting transportation to take my packages to my event and on the return. Thanks to you guys you are the best. All the staff were very eager to assist and we appreciated it. Very professional staff! Hope to see you all again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hatladybv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I did not have hot water for two days. When i notified the front desk they said they would take care of it. I ended up complaining three more times that day. It was not taken care of until the day after my initial complaint. When i asked for a refund, the hotel said that they responded the issue as soon as they were made aware (bs!). I guess a day and a half is "as soon as" they get around to things there.
They also charged me twice for my room(s) and i still have not seen the credit.
It was and still is, a giant pain!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JPSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is our home timeshare resort but my first time returning to New Orleans since Katrina. Avenue Plaza was out of commission for about a year repairing the storm damage, so I wasn't sure what to expect. It's located in the Garden District right by the streetcar line.

Fortunately, they have gotten things back in order. We own a studio unit, so in addition to it being VERY SMALL, the bedspreads & furnishings are a bit dated. But we were barely in our room so it was fine. The bathrooms are nicely remodeled but very tiny. The toilet seat would not stay up. We mentioned this to the staff, who said they were aware of this issue in the new toilets & would be addressing it. There was remodeling happening on our floor but it was quiet at night.

The staff were so helpful and friendly. We were only there 3 nights this time, but can't wait to return! The St Charles street car stops in front of the resort, which makes it easy to get into the Quarter. However, the stop to catch it home is on the outskirts of the FQ and isn't a place we felt comfortable waiting around at night, so we often caught a cab home, which ran about $10-12 without tip. (Generally, we did feel safe everywhere we went, but we always try to use caution at night in ANY city.)

The great thing about the Avenue Plaza is it's pretty quiet since it's away from the French Quarter, but close in proximity so we can get there quickly. It's also in a lovely part of the Garden District, and we often did walking tours to see all the old, beautiful homes in the neighborhood.

The studio unit has a small table/chairs and kitchenette, so you can reheat or refrigerate all that meal you couldn't finish in one of the billions of great New Orleans eateries. Basically, we've taken Harry Connick Jr's advice about this great city and plan everything we do around our meals.

Stayed: October 2010
5  Thank pirategirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews