We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #64 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alpine, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great quiet Location”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We enjoyed our week long stay here.The only real negative is the bathroom is extremely small. No full length mirror or make up mirror. The staff are nice and helpful. The towel exchange at certain hours, is silly. Easy access to the trolley. beautiful area. There is a spa on the second floor, no brochures or any signs to know there is one there in hotel? We found it by accident. No one came out to greet us, no info on services? Also a balcony on second floor, for a nice view out front with patio furniture.The top floor/roof has a great view,and photo op but needs more furniture or better set up to really spend time there.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpineCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    302
    95
    27
    21
See reviews for
131
362
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed in a 1-bedroom suite, offering a decent size for the location, which is fairly convenient, but probably not walkable (~1.5 miles) from the French Quarter (especially at night). But it is on the streetcar line, and riding that is fun in itself.

I'd consider this on-par with a 2.5 * - 3 * hotel: clean, comfortable, a few amenities, but not a "luxury" or resort-quality hotel in the grade or room, amenities, or service (although the fitness center was quite large and well-equipped).

The Internet access was poor, possibly because of insufficient bandwidth for the number of users (since it was easier to connect very late at night). The "heated" pool was very small, and, judging by the water temperature, was probably heated only by the sun. Elevator service could have been better, and it seems that there is no separate elevator for staff (which just slows it down a bit more).

The concierge comes on a bit strong with the offer of a free riverboat dinner cruise in exchange for enduring a time-share presentation (although he's only doing his job and took "no" for an answer the first time).

I stayed with a friend who booked it through his time-share plan, so I cannot comment on the value (as I have no idea what it cost). But my impression is that this is NOT a screaming bargain.

Room Tip: I am guessing that rooms overlooking St. Charles Avenue are not quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgh757@verizon.net
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The rooms and service here need a lot of improvement. Although there were recent renovations, the planning was poor and rooms are not very relaxing. There is no easy chair or sofa and the lighting is poor. Service is non existent and numerous calls must be made to get assistance with anything that is wrong.

Room Tip: Try not to get the efficiency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

my husband and i just returned from a 7 night stay at ave plaza. the resort is in the garden district w/ easy access to everything.trying to outline everything w/o rambling,here we go....we are wyndham owners and having stayed at many other properties this is not a typical "resort" condo,more like a well equipped hotel room w/ kitchen(but very nice).we stayed in a 1 bdrm studio #410 the room was spacious,the bed was comfy,bathroom was small but served its purpose(no tub & let water run a few minutes to heat up). rooftop deck was nice(breezy),hot tub and pool were small but courtyard was quaint.didnt eat at onsite restaurant but is was always busy.if traveling in the garden district and french quarter use the streetcars and buy $3 day passes(3/5 day passes are a rip off and day pass is cheaper than $1.25 each way) drivers will let you know where to get on/off if you ask.zaras grocery store is 2 blocks from resort on josephine(small but has an ok selection)walgreens was too expensive for groceries. copelands cheesecake bistro has great food good portions,same for miyako(japanese) hoshun(chinese) and the slice(pizza/italian).hope this is helpful. i will answer questions if you like

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azell2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colesburg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Was a guest for a wedding. Can you imagine getting ready for a wedding without any mirrors in the room. Yes, only above the sink - the only mirror. Very inconvenient to walk out into the hallway to check ones outfit when the mirrors were located by the elevators. Bad planning.
Very comfortable beds. Small bathroom and shelf above the toilet- come on- could have lost many items down the stool, so kept all my toiletries in the bedroom. For the price- and we were there not as a time share owner- it would be nice to have some breakfast items available as the price of the room surely would have been adequate to cover some for the non-time share guests.
Was a good location for catching the trolley and getting around. Felt like the neighborhood was very safe. Good food in the area.
No pressure from staff to talk to the time share people when asked.
Also, cleaning staff should clean the door panels of the dust that accumulates there, otherwise was very clean.


Was a good location for the

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I booked this hotel because I was looking for a great deal in New Orleans and boy did I find it. The hotel was better than I expected it to be and me and my husband was extremly satisfied. Staff was very friendly and helpful I have already pass this hotel information to my friends so that their stay can be just as great like ours. Job well done staff of the Avenue Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaStreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at the Avenue Plaza last weekend for a wedding, and received a fantastic group rate. For the price, we expected a glorified motel experience, and instead had a great nice hotel stay. The room was huge, with a large window with city views. Room 1219. King bed, kitchenette (no oven - everything else, including dishwasher and full-sized refrigerator), great bathroom and lots of space. There is a pool, gym, and easy valet parking, all right in the heart of the Garden District. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was spotless and the bed (with six pillows) was luxurious. The shower has a sweet huge shower-head that is very nice.

I highly recommend the Avenue Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobD_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 163 in New Orleans
321 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#100 of 163 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing