We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #66 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Garden district”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Arrived late 0200 after a long flight from Australia. Desk clerk was incredibly helpful with our check in and assisting us getting a meal locally. Good sized hotel room with 2 queen sized beds, very clean, an amazing laundry facility complete with large plasma TV. Daytime concierge a little unhelpful. Nice courtyard and pool area. Fantastic streetcar access from right outside the hotel only 10 minutes to bourbon st by streetcar and only $1.25 per trip. 10 or more cafes and pubs within walking distance most with reasonably priced meals. Blind pelican was good. Also take the streetcar away from city to Oak St. The Maple Bar on Oak has great entertainment on a Tueday. We saw a Grammie award winning big brass band. For breakfast you get good value for money at the streetcar cafe, and if you walk a little further there is a fantastic old style diner that have amazing breakfast and bottomless coffee. You can also walk to a convenience store about 50 meters, a Waldgrens, and a cosy bar 2 doors down that do take food, alcohol, and laundry open 24 hours.
Great value for money hotel close to lots of amenities with easy city access.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    304
    96
    28
    21
See reviews for
136
363
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel was very comfortable. We arrived really late but the valet for parking was right there waiting. Room was clean and spacious and bathroom was nice. The recommendations for restaurants were good. We experienced no problems and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plaistow,nh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just returned home on Friday 10th, 2012. This was a really nice 1 bedroom suite. Very Clean,had all amenities you would want for a great stay. Someone said they didn't have a full size mirror in their suite, we did on the 9th floor. pool was nice, only half size but clean. Hot tub was very Hot, the way they should be, onsite people were very helpful and friendly. Steak house next to Ave. Plaza was very good. Take the bus or walk to a very nice supermarket called Fresh Market for local food shopping, excellant food , fresh breads, anythying you would want plus liquor up stairs. The Zoo was not worth the price, weather was soo Hot and Humid most were hiding in some shade.They also charge extra for the train ride and other activities. WW2 Museum was excellant, spent 7 hours at this , The movie which is $11.00 if your not a member or senior was a spare not expense show. very moving. The swamp tour with the boats with large fans to drive them was very good. Get a single bus pass each day, cheaper and if you loose it your not out a weeks worth of tickets. Cafe DuMond was OK, eat quick or the flys will get the food. French quaters flea market is typical, they pretty much all sell the same cheap goods, made in China. Some local goods like paintings and crafts can be found and bought for a high price. All in All a very interesting place.. watch out for the very large Roaches, they love the hot humid weather.

Room Tip: I have been in a lot of time shares exchanges and this place was better than average, free ice-cream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gulfstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Had a few problems with maintenance--kitchen drawer stuck; leg on bathroom drain stopper was broken; and hot water line on kitchen faucet was blocked. However, maintenance engineer corrected problems to our satisfaction. Requested a 2nd wine bottle opener since the one 1st supplied was broken. Concierge area was under construction and for a short time trash and clutter could be seen. Otherwise, we had a pleasant stay--helpful staff, attractive pool area, and relaxing guest room supplied with light refreshments. Use of computers was free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location for bar/ restaurant hopping on St Charles, nice and clean pool, fantastic steak house on site! Fun 24/7 bar next door for karaoke. Loved my stay for my birthday. Walk down to the Blind Pelican for drinks, 15$ taxi to quarter, great shopping on Magazine st.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Getgogonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the Avenue Plaza Resort through our Worldmark timeshare.

The hotel was just okay. It met our basic needs - having a place to sleep and a place to shower away all the NOLA humidity. Other than that, the room that we stayed in was out-of-date - worn down furniture, dim lighting, carpet flooring, etc.

However, the location of this place was great! It's located in the Garden District and there's a trolley right outside the hotel. Had we known this, we would've opted out of getting a rental car - which by the way, we'd pay $$ for daily parking at the hotel.

So for those of you looking to travel to NOLA, get the multiple day trolley pass! It's so worth it!

Altogether, I would like to go back to NOLA. I'd only come back to this hotel if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel. We had a one bedroom suite and it came with a full kitchen with everything you would need. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the room temps could be adjusted easily. The A/C unit was pretty noisy when it was on however.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool but the weight room is amazing! I was very impressed with the amount of machines and free weights.

The concierge was very friendly and helpful. We did have to call down for fresh towels one day (being a time share they don't clean your room or refresh yoru towels) and the first lady at the front desk didn't seem interested in helping us so we called back an hour later and the gentleman that answered was very helpful and even called up an hour later to make sure we got our towels.

The location is very nice. The St. Charles line stops right out front and it is about 2 miles from the French Quarter and even closer to the Garden District.

We did try to get a late check out (noon vs. 10am) and was informed by the front desk that they do not do late checkouts on Fridays. This was a bummer as we had to spend 4hrs at the airport but policy is policy. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_S_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#98 of 164 in New Orleans
241 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing