We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the St Charles trolley line.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenue Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Right on the St Charles trolley line.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Great studio room. Kitchen area was more than adequate for a studio. Small (above sholuder height) fridge, microwave & 2 burner stove. Shower had rain head showerhead. Little alcove off bathroom was a bit of a waste but got the luggage hidden without being in the closet. Resort had a reception on Mon 4-5 which was a taste of a local restaurant. Also had a tour of their haunted Ashley House twice a day. Interesting & free. Wifi in room was a bit slow but not unbearable. We didn't use pool, hot tub or sauna so can't comment. The trolley line was being repaired but they had buses running the same route. Very convenient. Daily bus/trolley pass only $3 or $1.25 a trip. Takes you right down to Canal St.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    292
    93
    27
    20
See reviews for
124
343
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pateros, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We spent last week at this resort and enjoyed several walks through the neighborhood, the Garden District, past all the wonderful historic homes. Easy walk to Magazine Street with its many shops and restaurants. And of course, the Quarter! Trolly line was out for renovation while they gear up for Super Bowl, but buses are cheap and frequent. It appeared the entire resort property had undergone a recent renovation...carpets, paint, etc. all were fresh. Mini kitchen was perfect. The staff was friendly and very eager to please.

On Sunday morning, The Cheesecake, one block away, does an incredible buffet. There's a great little diner, The Trolly Stop about 1 1/2 blocks away for great home-cooked breakfasts. Along the sidewalk, between the hotel and The Trolly Stop, sits a man named Mike selling tours. He's friendly and informative and we bought a couple tours from him. Best dinner ever was at Broussards, on Conti Street in the Quarter. Mardi Gras World, and Cajun Swamp Tour are worthwhile as is the WWII Museum. This property is centrally located to everything we wanted to see and do. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharleyGirl303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Location not too near downtown but also not far away. Plenty of things within walking distance pending what you feel like doing (clubs/bars, restaurants, shops, churches, etc). Cab ride to downtown was around $11, not too bad especially if you aren't from here and do not feel like driving and parking, just take the cab as its soooo much easier. We actually live 30 min from New Orleans and had a mini vacation and still took cabs, just easier.

Hotel has some seriously impressive amenities on site. Pool and hot tub, workout area, game room-ish place (was in the "lounge", and only had a wii and no idea where you got games from? Front desk maybe?), and the aforementioned "lounge" was really impressive with fresh coffee each morning.

Valet service was kind of odd. The guys were super nice and polite, but each room is only allowed to valet one car. So if you are in more than one car, good luck. They recommended us parking across the street but said it would be wise to have the car moved by 8am as that's when the city comes out and starts ticketing. No good. We ended up driving to the casino (Harrah's), parking in garage, playing for 30 min and getting free parking and took cab ($11) back to room.

Right next door is Igor's, a 24 hour bar room, but I couldn't hear one bit of noise from there so no need to worry. Just a heads up in case you want a late night! 1/2 block away is Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, seriously good food!!! Right past that is a Walgreens in case you forgot anything.

The trolley tracks outside hotel were under construction this past week, but odds are by the time you read this, book room, and go, it will all be done.


Rooms were nice and very clean. All sheets were clean and pillows were just fine. Overall pretty nice place in a cool part of town. Def worth checking out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I like this location on St Charles, it is just far enough out of downtown and the trolley is just out the front door. The rooms a very comfortable and include a kitchen. The staff if very friendly and helpful. They have some great suggestions for close by restaurants and sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cajun country usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Full disclosure: I didn't pay for this room, i attended a convention in N.O. with a time share owner. Arrived by car, had to go around the block to wait for a valet spot to open. Valet was quick, though. I'm paranoid about my luggage so i loaded 4 people's luggage on a cart while the owner checked in. Very nice lobby, fast check in. We got a room on 4. Hallways, elevators were nice and clean, lift was fast. Two room suite with *kitchen*, microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee pot, dishwasher (and dishes!), and a stove. Opened the blinds, the view could have been better, but not bad. Married couple that owned the timeshare got the bedroom w/big screen TV, 3rd guy got the sofa bed and i brought my bedroll to sleep on the floor (why do i get the short straw on these things?) Plenty of plugins for cel phones, laptop, PS3, and another big screen to hook it to. Bathroom was tiny, but nice. No tub, but big shower, which is where my only complaint comes in, those swing out door for the shower? They never work right, and its not like we were having a group shower (lol), but we got water everywhere. I was usually the last to take a shower, so i mopped it up. Climate control ran like a top, though we had to adjust it when we got there. Very quiet, lots of channels on the TV, pool and hot tub were clean, though i never got a chance to use them. Sundeck on the roof, 12 floors up. No wheelchair access to that, so bear that in mind. Gym was well equipped, didn't use that, either, though. WiFi was bordering on terrible, but still ok. I had my laptop and had trouble, someone else in the party had a Nook and reported no problems, so maybe it was me. At the time of the trip, Dec 1 2012, the street cars were being renovated and not running down ST Charles, so that was sort of lame. Valet was prompt with the car when we left, though the desk crew was a bit slow collecting the parking fee. Good times were had by all, would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room about halfway up facing Downtown or St Charles Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurricane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

It is a great value in the Garden District. Streetcar stops in front of the Hotel and is a cheap way to get around.It is a time share property but we were never approached about buying a time share.Staff was friendly and all and all it was a good experience.Room was spacious and included a full kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J11209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a short trip to New Orleans and had a good time. The front desk was very helpful and the bell staff was superb. The only problem was that the streetcar line directly in front of the hotel was under repair, however we could catch the bus and then connect.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank piglet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing