We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a timeshare owner but vacation there every year for the past SIX YEARS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #67 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I absolutely LOVE the Avenue Plaza. Say what you will about the rest, THIS resort is #1. The staff is friendly and caring, the place is clean and secure, it is in the GARDEN DISTRICT so you are away from the drunks in the Quarter at night (but it is a GREAT place to explore in daytime if you don't drink). This will be our seventh year. I have NEVER been dissatisfied with the service, accommodations, or anything at this hotel/resort. The prices are fair - not too high, not too low. This place is an upscale vacation buy for mid-scale money. In all these years, not one complaint from me. Great places to eat nearby, too and RIGHT on the trolley line, too. You can go just about anywhere you'd want to go in the French Quarter/Garden District/Downtown on the trolley for less than a buck. Oh, and the trolleys have been restored and are up and working again.

Room Tip: Try to get above the fourth floor and on the outside of the building, if possible. Just a nicer vie...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Plaza Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose the Avenue Plaza due to owning a timeshare & this location being one of the choices. We are a family so we took in the consideration of nightlife, pool/hot tub availability & the reviews on this site. The pool & hot tub won the vote from our son so we booked it. We called ahead of time to request a higher room and one away from the elevator. There are 12 floors and we were on the 8th floor. We loved the location of our room (817) end of a hallway away from any noise. The reason this resort receives a very good rating is due to the cleanliness of our suite. I did the dust check (sweeping hand over the top of wall hangings, checked the bed, etc.) and it was very clean. We did end up writing a review to the resort about the long time to wait for extra bedding & an unexpected thing we saw in the hallway that took 4 days for someone to address and we received an email back from the manager. The pool was not heated. Being from Maine, we just kept telling ourselves it was like swimming in the ocean. The hot tub was clean & a good temperature. The timeshare meeting is okay. Our person was 10 to 15 mins late due to staffing shortage (per the person that came to our room) but if you stated politely that you were interested in raising your timeshare the person was polite. The roof & the balcony were great areas (good views & relaxing). If you want to use the internet, you may want to go somewhere else. The internet in the room was worse than dial up and in the Garden Room it was slow too. Staff stated it was being worked on but it was the same for 7 days. Picking up the bus (across the street from the hotel) and then getting a street car was a piece of cake & very convenient. Overall, this resort would be recommended to others, with the above information pointed out.

Room Tip: It was helpful to ask for a room away from the elevators (especially if you are a light sleeper) (e...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in timeshare accommodations from Arizona to St Kitts. We really liked it here. Obviously,as a city location you won't get all the extras that are available in larger resorts. This resort though had a lot of charm and the people working there are terrific.
It's also a great location for getting around New Orleans because the bus service and trolley service are right on the street.(even though we walked). There are also very good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank urple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am a Wyndham owner and pay dearly every month for the opportunity to stay somewhere in cities such as New Orleans once or twice a year. First of all, the recent reviews who claim they caught the "trolley" right outside the door are lies. The STREETCAR has NOT been running down here for a while now because they are working on the ramparts. Secondly, the restaurant is overpriced crap and staying here gives you no advantage for getting a table in the on-site restaurant. Beware of people lurking around the hotel lobby, or of "giveaways" such as the cheap crap camping chair during Jazz Festival. They will rope you into a sales pitch and try to put the hard sell on you (even if you are already an owner). I am really pissed off about the restaurant though. Spend your money at one of the fabulous restaurants around town, once the novelty wears off at this place, they will be scrounging for customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Pasogurl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Situated 2 miles from French Quarter but right on the route for trams and buses. We walked into town on a couple of occasions through what is a highly regarded area. Great to visit all the action and then go back to the hotel for a peaceful night. The room was of a very high standard and typical of time share accommodation which of coure it is. Because of this...keep in mind that you will need to endure the normal time share sales approaches...i.e. a special breakfast meeting or a meeting to pick up your prize voucher. Having made this point - there was no serious pressure and my polite refusals were accepted without problem. We would definately revisit this very good hotel in an excellent area..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you Birdyboy12 taking the time to provide us such positive feedback about your most recent stay at the Avenue Plaza Resort. Your comments will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort both operationally and with sales. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just got back from a stay here and everything was wonderful! The location is perfect, away from the craziness and crowding of the French Quarter. But the streetcar stop is right outside the hotel so it is just a short ride away. All the staff were extremely nice and courteous. They always asked how you were doing and would even open doors for you! I was extremely pleased with the fact that they allowed us to do an early check in after a 16 hour drive. We stayed for JazzFest and I would highly recommend this location to anyone coming for subsequent JazzFest's. We were able to take a bus steps from the hotel to the fairgrounds and back. Overall great stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyS977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you, MelodyS977 for taking the time to post such kind words about our resort. We take pride in our associates as they do such a fantastic job of taking care of all our guests; we are people taking care of people. I am happy to hear that you found our location so convenient to travel to and from the fairgrounds where the Jazz & Heritage Festival is held. We will share your comments with our staff and look forward to the opportunity to see you next year when you return to New Orleans for Jazz Fest 2015. Again, thank you for your post and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great hotel with friendly competent staff. Caught the trolley in front of the resort & took us straight to the French Quarter. We like to walk so did a good mile around town. Great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, Blind Pelican, had a Happy Hour with .25 cent oysters on the half shell or grilled. Very good and about a block from resort. Highly recommend. Mr. Johns steak house is on the 1st floor of the resort. Rated one of the top 5 steakhouses in the U.S. and it was excellent. $$$$

Room Tip: All rooms are good and quiet, unlike staying in the French Quarter - where it is noisy until all hou...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredVacationer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladd M, Resort Manager at Avenue Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you, RetiredVacationer14 for taking the time to post such a positive review of our resort. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as you trip to New Orleans. We agree that the location of the resort allows you some piece and quiet away from the French Quarter but only a Streetcar ride away when you are ready for some New Orleans fun. We will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to hosting you when you return to New Orleans. Again, thank you for your post and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
346 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#99 of 166 in New Orleans
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing