We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay Away from the Craziness of the French Quarter!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #69 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fenton
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay Away from the Craziness of the French Quarter!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel staff are wonderful , helpful and very friendly! Special thanks to the valet guys who went out of their way to accommodate us, our truck and our motorcycle, which they do not park for you but have to accompany you to the lot each time you want to get it out, which they did always with a smile...the pool area was nice and refreshing and our room was comfortable. We are Wyndham owners and were quite pleased with our first trip and stay in NOLO. This resort is right on the trolley line, but there is construction going on with the track so they provide a bus to ferry you to the trolley further up the line. Easy to navigate, and the valet guys are helpful pointing you on the right direction. Have correct change for the bus..$3 per person for a 24 hr pass!

Green Features: This is a green resort so they provide special recycling bags in the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    304
    96
    28
    21
See reviews for
136
363
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I took the kids for spring break. We stayed in a 1 bedroom--it is just big enough for a couple with two small kids. I cannot imagine sharing the space with teenagers or two additional adults. The bathroom is very small and the shower leaked so badly we had to line the outside of the shower stall with towels every time we took a shower. The hotel kept us well stocked with towels rather than move us.

The hotel was working on the front walk in front of the property so two mornings we woke up to the sounds of jackhammers.

The kitchenette was handy when we needed to reheat leftovers and we were able to do some grocery shopping because of the nice-sized fridge.

The hotel is about a $12 cab ride to Canal Street. The hotel is on the street car line, but for some reason, we were regularly asked to depart the street car after just a few stops and asked board a bus or vice versa during our trips. This was a royal pain with two little kids being that you had to cross St. Charles Avenue to accomplish these transfers. Double check to see if this is still the practice before you choose this as your mode of transportation.

If you don't want to go to far from the hotel to eat, there are plenty of walkable options. There is a huge 24-hour Walgreens two short blocks from the hotel. Also about a 4-block walk to shopping on Magazine street.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not pick the St.Charles side of the street unless of course you get th...
See more room tips
Green Features: I tried to read the policy, but I keep getting an error code saying that there isn't one available for this location.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCfoodie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were given a room in this time share as a gift from friends that were unable to use it this year. We've been to New Orleans several times, but never stayed at this resort or in the Garden District. We had nothing invested and had no idea what to expect. The staff at the Avenue Plaza Resort was charming from the word "go"; kind, patient, polite, and so helpful. I love that fact that they continued to ask if everything was OK or if there was anything we needed. The room/apt. was a bit small but very nicely appointed. We love it when there is a separate bedroom with it's own TV. We had trouble getting the loud air conditioner set at a comfortable temperature. We were either warm or cool. We finally settled on being a little warmer rather than too cool. Also, we found the bathroom to be one of the smallest we've ever had. It was not possible for both of us to be in there at the same time. We had absolutely not problems with the internet. There were three elevators. It seemed as though only two of them were working at one time. They also seemed to be extremely slow and a bit noisy.
The neighborhood has a Walgreens, bars, restaurants is very walkable and right next to the beautiful Garden District with huge, ornate, historic, old homes that will take your breath away! It was a short walk to Magazine St. where there are an abundance of bars, restaurants, clothing, furniture, antique and other unique shops.
Unfortunately, the streetcar tracks are currently under construction so we had to catch a bus to take us to a trolley to get to the French Quarter. It was the reverse coming home. Cost was $3.

Room Tip: The higher up they put you, the quieter your room will be and the nicer the view of the city. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We only booked this hotel for one night before boarding a cruise ship at Julia Street terminal. The Avenue Plaza is in the quieter Garden district, although I must admit when we arrived I was a bit concerned as it looked derelict!! I thought for once that Trip advisor had let me down but, as we found out, they are renovating the front of the hotel and there were building works and scaffolding everywhere. Once we were into the hotel itself, we unfortunately arrived just as a hen party was leaving and this did nothing to calm my fears.

Check in was quick and we found our room - it was very nice; however I will say the noise from the air conditioning was unbearable and I had to turn it off all night. Another thing I didn't factor in when booking a suite was that the fridge would also be making noises throughout the night. As you can tell, I don't sleep well if there's a lot of noise!!

We went outside and walked out towards the back of the hotel and all I can say is what a transformation - it was brilliant. There is a garden room where you could get cold drinks in the evening or coffee in the morning, a lovely walled area with swimming pool and jacquzzi, lovely chairs and sun loungers and a beautiful house with a veranda, complete with rocking chair. It totally made up for all the other niggles.

We had the morning in and around the hotel and I must say everything out the front seemed better in the daylight!!

After the cruise we stayed in the French Quarter district and took a bus tour which went past the Avenue Plaza and we saw all the areas like the shopping district which we didn't see as we only had the one night. All in all I think I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Avenue Plaza again for a longer period and use the trams to get about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The Avenue Plaza is located on the edge of the Garden District a few miles from the French Quarter. It's quieter in this area of New Orleans with some neighborhood restaurants within easy walking distance. You could also purchase RTA passes at the Walgreens to make use of the public transportation system that runs along St. Charles Avenue to get to other areas of the city. The only problem at this time is that the St. Charles streetcar which normally runs right in front stops about 6 blocks short because of construction and doesn't seem to be ready to resume the normal route any time in the near future.

We found the staff at the Avenue Plaza to be very helpful and courteous. The room and the common areas were well maintained and clean. The room itself needs some basic redesign. The space seems roomy enough but there's not enough storage to unpack your bags. The only furniture in the room is a small dining table with 3 chairs. There is no comfortable chair for reading or lounging in the room. There is a small kitchenette with a refrigerator, cooktop, coffee maker, and microwave along with a sink. This came in handy since the bathroom was very cramped so we needed the counter space here for our personal items.

The shower takes up half of the bathroom and is large enough but lacks any shelves for your shampoo and bath soap. Where do you put these items?

The laundry room on the 2nd floor has lots of washers and dryers for guests to use at no charge so we were able to do a load while we were there.

We also took advantage of the Ashley House tour provided by the staff. Plan to take this in during your visit to learn about it's haunted history.


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I absolutely LOVE the Avenue Plaza. Say what you will about the rest, THIS resort is #1. The staff is friendly and caring, the place is clean and secure, it is in the GARDEN DISTRICT so you are away from the drunks in the Quarter at night (but it is a GREAT place to explore in daytime if you don't drink). This will be our seventh year. I have NEVER been dissatisfied with the service, accommodations, or anything at this hotel/resort. The prices are fair - not too high, not too low. This place is an upscale vacation buy for mid-scale money. In all these years, not one complaint from me. Great places to eat nearby, too and RIGHT on the trolley line, too. You can go just about anywhere you'd want to go in the French Quarter/Garden District/Downtown on the trolley for less than a buck. Oh, and the trolleys have been restored and are up and working again.

Room Tip: Try to get above the fourth floor and on the outside of the building, if possible. Just a nicer vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose the Avenue Plaza due to owning a timeshare & this location being one of the choices. We are a family so we took in the consideration of nightlife, pool/hot tub availability & the reviews on this site. The pool & hot tub won the vote from our son so we booked it. We called ahead of time to request a higher room and one away from the elevator. There are 12 floors and we were on the 8th floor. We loved the location of our room (817) end of a hallway away from any noise. The reason this resort receives a very good rating is due to the cleanliness of our suite. I did the dust check (sweeping hand over the top of wall hangings, checked the bed, etc.) and it was very clean. We did end up writing a review to the resort about the long time to wait for extra bedding & an unexpected thing we saw in the hallway that took 4 days for someone to address and we received an email back from the manager. The pool was not heated. Being from Maine, we just kept telling ourselves it was like swimming in the ocean. The hot tub was clean & a good temperature. The timeshare meeting is okay. Our person was 10 to 15 mins late due to staffing shortage (per the person that came to our room) but if you stated politely that you were interested in raising your timeshare the person was polite. The roof & the balcony were great areas (good views & relaxing). If you want to use the internet, you may want to go somewhere else. The internet in the room was worse than dial up and in the Garden Room it was slow too. Staff stated it was being worked on but it was the same for 7 days. Picking up the bus (across the street from the hotel) and then getting a street car was a piece of cake & very convenient. Overall, this resort would be recommended to others, with the above information pointed out.

Room Tip: It was helpful to ask for a room away from the elevators (especially if you are a light sleeper) (e...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycling; which was a pleasant surprise. They provided a sufficient amount of towels for a week (e.g. family of 3 and showering daily if not 2x a day when using the pool).
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#98 of 164 in New Orleans
241 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Property: Avenue Plaza Resort
Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing