We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for first timers in NOLA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Plaza Resort
Ranked #77 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The whole experience was so enjoyable.....this was our first trip to New Orleans and we are novice travelers. The staff was ever so polite and helpful. We felt very comfortable; like being at home. Just that Southern hospitality we all know and love.

IF there was a suggestion to make it would be that there was someone to suggest places to go and things to see. I know that there were numerous guide brochures but I would have appreciated a more personal touch. We saw some vacationers with a yellow ticket that had JAZZY on it. Curious about that. We did see the Garden District and the French Quarter by way of trolley, we walked a bit on Bourbon St. and visited the WWII museum. I now know to double check tour times! We missed out on those. I didn't find out about Jackson Square until we were ready to leave. And this was a 2 day trip, so there wasn't time for a great deal. We hope to return and I will know to ask.

All in all, it was a good trip and when I return, I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaySenath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

It is not what I expected, it is just a comfortable place but not fancy or out of ordinary.
The first room was not really great, carpets and walls seems old. I otice the place are need more cleaning, hallways, elevator and walls.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridvart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed here Aug 27 - Aug 30, 2010. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Streetcar access was right across the street - direct to Bourbon Street & downtown. Stayed in a studio room, which was spacious. Bathroom could have been a little larger. Rooms appeared to have been recently remodeled. Flat Screen TV. Restaurants, grocery store & drugstore within walking distance. Valet parking, but car delivery was fast. Rooms were quiet and they did not hound you to death about listening to a timeshare presentation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The people were very kind and friendly. Everyone would give you directions to fantastic places to eat and would tell you the best places to go to keep cool while visiting. The French Quarter and the Garden District have cute shops for antiques and art. The warehouse district has alot of great murals all around the area. Staying at the Avenue Plaza was perfect to go to Bourbon St. on the trolley. No need to drive because the trolley runs til 4:00 a.m yea !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r7r73110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful section of New Orleans. Fine dining and transportation all within walking distance. Well worth the money, I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Just spent a week here with my husband and college age son. Our unit was a 1 bedroom with a pull out sofa bed. Perfect size for the 3 of us. We exchanged our timeshare week for this location. I called 2 weeks prior to our arrival and requested a room on one of the upper floors and away from the elevators. We were given the tenth floor, corner room away from the elevators.....very quiet and we couldn't hear any of the street traffic even though our room faced the street. The unit had everything we could possibly need in the kitchen facility. They even provided salt & pepper and spices if you wanted to do any cooking. When we got there the A/C was not working, but a quick call to the front desk and it was fixed by the time we got back in from dinner. Great location in the garden district......trolley stop right out front to take you anywhere in the French Quarter or Garden district. Decent restaurants within walking distance of the resort....anything from fast food to high end restaurants. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous. We were even given a tour of the historical house attached to the property.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italianlady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this Wyndham Resort on St. Charles Av. Being on the trolley line gives very easy access to the WWII Museum and the French Quarter, Riverwalk and more. One does have to pay for off-street parking, but it is to be expected. The staff was most helpful, and that is what we needed most on our first trip to New Orleans. There are several restaurants in easy walking distance. Portion size in New Orleans is HUGE, so be ready. We did find the early bird breakfast at The Trolley Stop was sized right, and cheap by local standards.Do some planning before you arrive, and work with the concierge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayfaringPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#106 of 167 in New Orleans
248 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#66 of 167 in New Orleans
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Alder Hotel
Alder Hotel
#63 of 167 in New Orleans
61 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#88 of 167 in New Orleans
1,399 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#105 of 167 in New Orleans
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Plaza Resort

Address: 2111 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £84 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Avenue Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing