We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming”
Review of Columns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Columns Hotel
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and charming”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Columns 3 nights in June. it is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are very spacious but you need to be aware that since it is a truly victorian house the rooms will be dark. Staff was nice and helpful. The bar ist The PLACE for drinks in New Orleans. The Veranda is beautiful. In the evening the Bar ist packed with young people (20 - 30 y.) as it is the IN place to go.
We stayed during the week as it is much cheaper. The breakfast is good and you can choose between pancakes, egg any style, french toast and omelett. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimFab_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    57
    19
    20
    14
See reviews for
27
56
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A beautiful and thus quirky Victorian has been converted into what? A B&B or a party venue with loud wedding parties, celebrations of all occasions infesting every square inch of porch, verandas, common rooms. Indifferent and overworked staff cannot keep up with crowd demands. Food arrives cold and tasteless especially breakfasts- four 1/10 filled ketchup bottles were needed for my fries with clotted cheese topping- please someone fill those bottles!!! Great location though Rooms were on dingy side with omnipresent dank smell needing A?C to avoid scent of rot- loud parties made sleep a chore. Bathrooms primitive- Indifferent staff

Room Tip: Room in back a must to avoid noise from bars ,veranda and downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussiefanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed one night at the Columns Hotel($138/night during the week) and I'm not sure I can recommend a stay here. We were on the third floor and our air conditioner did not work well. In the afternoon when the sun is hitting the hotel the room gets pretty hot. There is a ceiling fan but it only moves the warm air around. A hotel employee did go look at it but they couldn't fix it and said they would notify maintenance. We were leaving the next day so we didn't see maintenance arrive. We slept poorly due to the warm room. The hotel employees are nice but not exactly enthusiastic or full of energy. Hotel Indigo trains their staff to be "at the ready" and enthusiastic in their greetings of their patrons. Some of the Columns staff looked tired and you get the feeling they would rather be elsewhere. The only staff member who greeted us with warmth and enthusiasm was the housekeeper when we were leaving. The hotel staff need customer service training by a professional trainer. The room we were in was decorated poorly. I am not exaggerating; the linens on the bed looked like they were purchased at a thrift store. It simply looks like the owners decided a while back to not invest any profits back into the hotel. The t.v.'s are small and old. The furniture in our room was a little junky. The gorgeous staircase between the 2nd and 3rd floor was leaning so much we were afraid to use it. Very sad because the hotel building itself is beautiful. The front porch opens up on picturesque St Charles Street and it the perfect place to have a cocktail and watch the streetcars go by. The 2nd floor veranda is wonderful too and we had our morning coffee there. The Grilled Chicken Club Sandwich which we ordered off the Bistro Menu around 3pm was ok. The french fries were disappointing. Later in the evening the bar and porches were filled with Tulane University students. There wasn't enough places for people to sit it was so packed. Overall I would say, stop for a drink on the porch in the late afternoon/early evening(not at night because of the students) but think twice before booking a room. To the owner/manager I would recommend spending some money on an update, fix the a/c and stairs, and bring in a professional customer service trainer for your staff.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioning before you book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveTheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

In a city known for its tremendous service tradition, the Columns hotel is truly an embarrassment. Never again will we take out of town guests here to "impress." An absent waitstaff, lackluster bartenders, weak drinks, and no management in sight; it appears that this old dame's grand days are over. Too many better alternatives in the city than to waste time here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank belkissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Bartenders and waitresses are rude and incompetent. The service is incredibly slow. One expects and usually finds outstanding service in New Orleans. But the group at the Columns is the worst in the city.
I'll continue to frequent this place, as I have for years, because it is so beautiful and sitting on the Columns' gallery and watching the streetcars pass is one of the joys this city has to offer. But management should really shake up the staff. It needs to provide training, including on basic manners.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planxty137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Columns is a grande old dame of New Orleans, and I have to say one of the most interesting places we've stayed, purely for the vibe. And I have to say, it's a pretty cool vibe. It's not for everyone--let's get that straight first. If you like absolutely new, cookie-cutter hotels, with plasma TVs and everything all designer perfect--this isn't the place for you. But, if you like something different, something cool--then go here, by all means. You won't get a chance to stay in an original mansion, with 18 foot ceilings, giant front porch to sit out on and watch the cable cars go by, a killer antique bar room, live music seven nights a week, free, table-service breakfast anywhere else--and that's just the start. The rooms are all totally unique and different, and you will feel you are staying period style, n'orleans style. And, the food is really, really good. The place fills up at night with lots of interesting people, and between the music and the food and the breeze and the candles, The Columns makes it happen. There's a reason why films have been made here, and some very cool people come to drink here. So, for style and vibe, I give it a very very high score, because of how unique it is. That being said, you have to be ok with a little texture around your rooms. The beds aren't the newest, nor are the linens, and the TVs are small. But, the showers are great, the furnishings eclectic, and overall they get it done. Take a close look at the rooms before you book--if you're an early sleeper, you might want to go on the third floor--the music can creep up. But they stop at 10ish, so no big deal. But some of the rooms, like room 17 on the Second floor are absolutely magnificent, even if the bathroom floor and the giant tub are on a slope from this old grande dame settling in her years. Staying here for a room really gets you a big extra--you are staying at the place where highly interesting people come for a drink and to hear great music. And that means you don't have to go anywhere for a night. My direction? Get a good drink. Sit out on the porch. Listen to the music that comes in. Get a little dinner. Have another drink, and then just sit back and soak it all in.

Room Tip: Get the larger rooms; I think the ones on the second floor have the high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidhnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The columns has some great original decor and would make it stand out as a place how you image a New Orleans mansion looks like. The location in Garden City is great as you can hop on the street car that whisks you to Bourbon Street in 20 mins. My only gripe is that appears more like a bar with a hotel attached than the other way round. Local punters frequent the bar and it gets very loud. Because some of the bedrooms are directly upstairs you won't get a good night's sleep when it is busy, which is a problem for a hotel. Try to get a quiet room.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hubbard Mansion
#31 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#39 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columns Hotel

Property: Columns Hotel
Address: 3811 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4681
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Columns Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Boutique Hotel featuring Louisiana Dining & Craft Cocktails Wedding Venue, Catering and Meeting Planning Services also available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columns Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing