We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST place for an afternoon cocktail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columns Hotel
Ranked #115 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“BEST place for an afternoon cocktail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I can't say enough about this place. The trees, the atmosphere. We sat outside around the side of the "hotel" with a group of friends and spent the afternoon there. It was an experience I'll never forget. The service kind of sucked but the feeling you were sitting out in the garden a 100 years ago and enjoying the amazing weather, we didn't mind getting up to go inside and grab a refill. (In their defense, they were preparing for a wedding as well). ANYWAY, find it and have a drink in the garden or even at one of the tables on the front porch! Its EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parrishtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    56
    18
    18
    14
See reviews for
26
53
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We first went to the Columns Hotel to listen to Dave Doucet play up a Cajun storm. As an intimate music venue the Columns Hotel was like sitting in someone's parlor listening to friends perform, albeit not quite as comfortable. The crowd was mixed age, which I really appreciate, being a bit older myself. The bar business was brisk and lively with mostly late 20-40 somethings, which meant it was interesting and active but not full of teenagers getting sloshed. New Year's Eve we found ourselves lodging the the Pretty Baby Suite, which made us sit down and watch the movie, which was way controversial for it's day (1978) with Brooke Shields and a lot of prostitution in Storyville. Definitely worth a watch. The suite was delightful. Comfortable, warm, spacious, period decor, a couch, desk and chair, and full bed...couldn't have asked for more. The room came with breakfast for all three of us, which was a super added bonus. The following night we stayed in room 25. Also lovely - the decor was interesting but not as amazing as the Pretty Baby Suite. The food from the bar/restaurant was well prepared and plentiful in quantity. The bathrooms both had showers. Perhaps the water pressure could have been stronger, but given the ambiance of the hotel, the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff and the overall experience - I could have cared less about the water pressure. There is live music almost every night performed by well known local performers. The neighborhood in Uptown on St. Charles is a short walk from Magazine Street, on the streetcar line, and great for architectural buffs.

Room Tip: Pretty Baby Suite was a very cozy room with great ambiance -- no windows but who needs windows in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Djodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at The Columns when we were in New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl (Boomer Sooner).
It is a restored mansion in the Garden District and full of turn of the century charm and ambiance. We stayed in the Pretty Baby suite, large room furnished with period pieces and even its own stained glass window. Some of the furniture and furnishings (rugs) were a little worn, but it was clean and comfortable. All the rooms have private baths, there is an elevator as well. We stayed on the third floor and area was quiet, although other reviews indicate that the second floor is not necessarily so when the (famous) bar on the first floor is in operation. The lobby, staircase and shared areas are beautiful. The front gallery is a lovely place to relax and have a drink if you wish. There is also an upstairs balcony for the guests. A nice complimentary breakfast is included for guests. Parking is on the street, but we were fortunate and got a place near the front on St Charles. If the streetcar line was not under construction, the stop would be just at the corner, for now while they are working on that section, it is about four blocks away but not a bad walk. The streetcar is an easy way to get to the French Quarter (and other places) -be sure to get a day pass ($3) - a great value and easier than trying to pay each time. Magazine Street is close -several blocks away but walkable - and full of shopping and dining options.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. One of the reasons I love New Orleans is for the history and this place is certainly full of that. It is much like the city itself, full of charm and just a little worn around the edges.

Room Tip: Room amenities vary, some have showers, some bath/shower combos, bed size varies; be sure to review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andhow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This gorgeous hotel is quaint- 20 or so rooms. Lovely large veranda to sit and have dinner and drinks overlooking St. Charles Street. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the food and drink was lovely. They have live music as well which was great. We skated in two rooms- both were lovely. If you are looking for quiet on a Saturday night this is not the place as noise carries. If you chose the largest room, room 16, for the two balconies that the website boasts of, don't waste your time. One is not at all accessible and the other is a small balcony with no view. The decor in the rooms and in the hotel is beautiful and old fashioned.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

If you want flat-screen TVs, cookie cutter rooms, and a quiet, peaceful lobby, then the Columns is NOT for you.

If you want charm, uniqueness, and nostalgia, then the Columns might just be perfect.

The room was cute, full of character and clean. Water pressure was pleasantly surprisingly strong and water temperature was good. Yes, we could hear a teeny-tiny bit of our neighbors through the walls, but we were never disturbed. Convenience could not be beat- right on the St. Charles streetcar line and literally on top of one of my favorite bars in New Orleans. We took a cab to dinner and got prompt and polite cab service (not a function of the hotel, but I thought travelers might like to know that cabs are easy options too). We had no trouble sleeping and were never disturbed by the noise downstairs. Late check-out (noon!) means we could sleep in after a late night out- thank you!

It's a bit on the pricey side and not within walking distance to a lot of the attractions that New Orleans visitors are probably interested in (but the streetcar is so easy and fun!). Lacks some modern conveniences, but isn't that part of the fun? Who comes to New Orleans to watch a flat-screen TV or go to the fitness center anyway?

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had no trouble with noise from the bar at all. On the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonHunter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at Columns for the first time as a couple in 2002 in a small room on the first floor. We returned as a family just this October in a bigger room, on the second floor! Every room is different and the whole place makes you feel like a trip to your eccentric, wealthy widowed older aunt's. The bar here gets busy at the weekends, dolling out fabulous cocktails in its beautiful wood-paneled rooms. This place is quintessentially New Orleans. If you want to be sure of a good night's sleep, pack your ear-plugs. It's in a great location, right near the St Charles street car and a short car ride from the great places on Magazine St or on the other side of the University. There should be no contest if you are tossing up whether to stay here or a chain hotel: Columns will make your trip 100% authentic NO.

Room Tip: there are photos of every room on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comefrywithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbay ,Roatan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This beautiful old mansion right on St. Charles has all of the charm that one would expect form a place of this age. The rooms are a little drafty and the halls a bit worn but thats what made me enjoy it so much. It is an experience of itself staying in such an old mansion. The bar is wonderful and food is good too. Sitting out on the wide front porch and watching the street car go by with a sazerac cocktail in hand was the perfect ending to a wonderful day.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front so that you can look out of your window at all of the goings on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovergirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columns Hotel

Property: Columns Hotel
Address: 3811 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4681
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Columns Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Boutique Hotel featuring Louisiana Dining & Craft Cocktails Wedding Venue, Catering and Meeting Planning Services also available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Columns Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing