We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Keep Your Receipt”
Review of Columns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Columns Hotel
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We frequent the Columns Hotel, not to stay in the rooms but to drink at the bar and enjoy the food and scenery on St. Charles. They have a great happy hour, 7 days a week, which makes it a hot spot for locals and tourists alike. However - make sure you keep your receipt. Multiple times we have had discrepancies for what was added as tip and what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank EmmaCP521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you like going to sleep before 2:00 am when the bar winds down this place isn't for you. As a decrepit (or grand, depending on your point of view) wood-framed building sound proofing is nil, and and every shriek and shout from the frat-filled bar permeates the second floor, as does the stale beer smell reminiscent of Bourbon Street.

When we asked for a quieter room, we were shown a windowless room on the top floor which was so warm the overtaxed ac couldn't keep up with the heat outdoors (at night no less). Not only that, housekeeping missed the crumpled paper and tin foil balls on the dresser, the dog bone on the bed, or the dog pad (whatever you call those things dogs pee on indoors) in the corner.

Don't look for any renovation work past the 1990's in the bathrooms (shower doors don't seem to have been on their radar - they favor awful plastic curtains) and cleaning seems lax at best. There were corners that had never met a mop.

While it's not without its charm, and who doesn't like 16' ceilings, somebody needs to spend a pile of money on this place. They were moving buckets around the dining room chasing a leak from the ceiling at breakfast.

There must be a better version of old New Orleans!

Room Tip: Didn't see them all, but the second floor rooms were all noisy, the third floor rooms hot, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was an interesting stay. I think it's a bit overpriced on the weekend rate. Don't expect any thick fluffy towels or luxury bed linens. If you cannot climb stairs then you must get the desk clerk to unlock the ancient and very slow elevator each time you need it. There is no assigned parking, you have to take your chance to find on street parking.
Now for the good parts. The staff seems to be very limited but also very willing to please. We were there to attend a wedding, the reception being at The Columns. This is a wonderful venue for a reception! Food stations were set up in various rooms and the food was excellent. We also ate breakfast in the dining room both mornings and enjoyed that. The best part though was sitting out on the wonderful porch and enjoying the view. The Garden District is convenient and beautiful. Our room on the third floor was okay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ggauntann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked 8 rooms at the Columns,June 12-14.Our reservation was initially messed up,however Ben,front desk staff was professional and very apologetic,Georgia was such a sweetheart.Almost all of our issues were resolved promptly.The property was perfect,the great southern breakfast,the wonderful bar,the beautiful mansion,and a great location in the garden district. It can get a bit noisy,as it's a local favorite,however local favorites speak volumes!!i will def be back!FYI the streetcar tracks are currently under construction,not anything to do with the hotel, however, it was a bit of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Not sure What makes this place so appealing to me since the drinks are Over prices and the food menu was not too impressive; but after years Of Living in New Orleans, I finally made it to the COLUMNS... And it Made me Immediately comfortable. Loved walking around the inside and enjoying the splendor. And then I left for a bar that sold drinks at a reasonable price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank CaseyHighdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We left New Orleans in 1964 (yes, there was a 1964) to return this Spring with my wife of 51 years (yes, marriages do last that long...we'll talk later) to renew our love for New Orleans and renew some old friendships. My bride insisted on The Columns for our stay. Because we are still married, I found a week when we could stay at this property and not invade a wedding reception. The best choice she and I have ever made...in a hotel. The Columns has the character of NO and the spirit of The Big Easy. Yes, we'll admit to old...but the bar and restaurant and music had a yesterday and today vibe. Come, check your "uptight" at the door and enjoy this fabulous slice of New Orleans of yesterday and today.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at The Columns, and I would recommend it to my friends. The building is a 19th century mansion on St. Charles, so understand that it's not a modern spa-like hotel, but it is very charming. The neighborhood is residential (I was hoping for more shops and restaurants), and safe. We did not want to be in the city center. The hotel was a great bargain considering it included breakfast and parking was free. Last year at a different hotel near the French Quarter we spent $30/day plus tips for valet parking. Not only did we save on breakfast, the breakfasts at The Columns were so substantial that we usually skipped lunch. (The breakfasts are your basic bacon/eggs/toast/fruit/juice/coffee--not innovative, but plenty good. Community coffee [NOLA brand] was excellent and plentiful.) We never had a problem finding parking close by. We were on the 3rd floor and usually took the stairs, because the elevator is small and slow. There is a lovely balcony on the second floor where hotel guests can have their coffee or afternoon libations (we shared a bottle of wine bought at the grocery store). We couldn't pick up the wi-fi signal in our room, but could in the dining room and sitting room near the front desk. Room was very nice, bathroom was adequate and clean, bed was comfortable with nice sheets. Staff was friendly and helpful. The St. Charles streetcar was not running in early May, because of construction, so you might want to check on that if you were counting on it for transportation. There is a bar downstairs that can get noisy at night, but it didn't really bother us on the 3rd floor. It's always a good idea to pack earplugs when you travel. If you like new and shiny, The Columns is not for you, but if you like a hotel with local character and charm, I would highly recommend this hotel. I think it would be hard to beat for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank econnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 167 in New Orleans
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
360 reviews
Hubbard Mansion
#31 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#22 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columns Hotel

Address: 3811 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4681
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £123 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Columns Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Boutique Hotel featuring Louisiana Dining & Craft Cocktails Wedding Venue, Catering and Meeting Planning Services also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Columns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columns Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing