We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, comfortable, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hostel only a block away from the St. Charles streetcar, is a great base from which to explore the WW2 museum, Audubon Park, ride over to Camellia Grill past Tulane, or take the streetcar all the way to its end at Bourbon Street. The private room I stayed in has all the basics, and the place is more restful, quiet than some other hostels around. Enough parking along the street, and a good number of diners, pubs, restaurants, small shops in the area.

Room Tip: Private rooms in former school building are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    5
    12
    25
See reviews for
2
5
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The ol' marquette house in New Orleans. It turns out New Orleans is a very expensive place to book hotels or hostels, that's where the Marquette House comes in. Located a block off of St. Charles street the marque room is somewhat, sorta, kinda conveniently located, near downtown new orleans. My favourite part about this hostel is they allow pets. Papa Roach, stayed with us for three nights only making an appearance once mostly keeping to himself in a dark moist nook in the wall.

The amenities were unbelievable. The heat never turned off, mostly because it didn't have an on off switch. The beauty about this is you can crank the AC at full blast and the room stays exactly the same temperature it would've been had there been no heater or AC!

What else can I say, I never felt the need shower in this beauty of a hostel, mostly because the cold water tap didn't turn on. I'm a guy who like a nice HOT shower and let me tell you, it'll provide the hottest shower you can ever imagine. My tactic? Stand outside of the bath tub and place your head under the shower just until your scalp begins to burn. This will allow you to de-grease your hair and fool other travellers into thinking you recently had a shower. It also provides a nice stench on the airplane home that your neighbours get to enjoy.

Lastly, the biggest beauty about this hostel is the view. If you pull up a chair just behind the fence you can soak the locals in their habitat. Lots of board line homeless fellows riding by on bikes. Lots of guys who look like they might try to jump the fence and steal your laptop. We found our little spot behind the fence because the wifi is located across the street in the main house and failed to reach our room.

The memories were priceless.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

DO NOT stay here EVER. My husband and I were literally travelling (backpacking) around the world and we have stayed in many places of varying qualities as we were on a tight budget, but this was without doubt the WORST. Let me add that we had been all over Brazil, Chile, Cuba and even Jamaica but this was disgusting. Staff were appalling. Place was a mess.

I had of course tried to research before going here and there were some comments about bed bugs and other issues but because of the location we thought we'd try it as it was only going to be 4 nights. I did not sleep at all and woke up to find I was covered in bed bugs which were swelling up and became infected. We got up went straight into town and chose a hotel that was amazing. Returned to Marquette house and checked out immediately. Would never go back ever. Would prefer to sleep on the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

It is 2 blocks from a bus or streetcar directly to Burbon Street. Good security. No lockers. Reliable coffee. common room and garden. Wi-fi only--no computers. Charged almost double for New Years Eve and Day. Clean linen and towel. Travel advice. I didn't get the bunk I was assigned--someone else was in it. Adequate showers and toilets. I would stay again

Room Tip: Check out the bed before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Great fast cleaning stafff fun .personalities and a great rate dorm rooms . Plus the best service qaint courtyards bbq'd pits to grill out and friends of. A .lifetime u will .make at that table in courtyards.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friutygurl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Looking for a lastminute bed in New Orleans last summer I ended up going to the Marquette. Most other hostels where fully booked but the location didnt seem that bad and I decided to take a bed. Upon arriving I should have known, while most hostels where full, the marquette was mostly empty.
The first night was ok-ish. I was fairly tired, and particularly hammered when i finally went to bed. The next day however it was raining and upon arriving after a day in the city i came back to find my bed completely soaked because of a leak in the roof right above my bed. Hammered as I was I decided to move take another bed and pass out there.
On the third day i woke up with the particular bites of bedbugs all over my legs (not aware at that time). I stayed a total of three nights and then finally decided to switch and I moved to the India Hostel which I can strongly recommend.

Overall:
Pro's: the location is allright and they will probably have a bed free 99% of the time
Cons: Dirty, run down, bedbuginfested hostel. The kitchen area and other public spaces are possibly even worse than the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krinosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I've stayed at a number of different hostels over several trips to New Orleans. Marquette House is by far the worst placed I've been to. Two positive points: good location in Garden District, a minute from St.Charles streetcar, and also no bedbugs. That's about it. The hostel is occupied by several locals getting drunk from morning to evening in the backyard, listening to cockrock on an old radio. The rooms smelled like **** and dirty feet, they never clean the showers or the toilets. No hand soap or paper towels anywhere. Staff nowhere to be seen, wi-fi is a joke. It's a very rundown building. It's sad and grim. I know it's just 20 bucks a night but for the same price you could be at Bourbon Hostel a few blocks away in Garden District, or at India House.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youmightaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#102 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Garden District
Garden District House
Garden District House
#20 of 35 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
The Quisby
#16 of 35 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel

Property: Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel
Address: 2253 Carondelet St., New Orleans, LA 70130-5809
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Marquette House New Orleans International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Marquette / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing