We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and a wonderful hostess!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #44 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
nashville
1 review
“Perfect location and a wonderful hostess!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Short walk to bourbon st and all the excitement, but quiet enough for pleasant sleep. Karen, our hostess was wonderful and full of information! The breakfast fueled us up for the day. The two downstairs bedrooms are perfect for a close-knit group of four.
Thanks, Karen (from the nashville girls!)

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank tmcgeedpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
66
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

The title says it all; I agree with all the other reviewers who can't say enough about Karen's hospitality and friendliness, and the location, cleanliness and ambience of the place. Just two blocks from Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter, wonderful charm and character, and everything you could need in the room - a Continental breakfast with coffee maker, tv, fluffy towels, a/c or heat, and a wonderfully comfy bed! The smallness of the place (just 3 rooms) and its being a private residence means that you may not like it as much if you are used to (and prefer) chain hotels, big rooms, panoramic views and the like. However, If you value charm, value, personal greetings and location, you can't do better than stay here. Very highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smallish room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FataMagistra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2008

I spent the weekend after Mardi Gras at the Dauphine house. Karen the owner greets you with warmth, care, and open arms. The rooms are very nice, Southern charm, and Karen has pretty much everything you need in there. It's a great price and a great place to stay if you would like a peaceful and enjoyable trip. It's in a wonderful location..2 blocks from Bourben. HIGHLY recommend.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank KATER1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Karen is a kind, gracious hostess that accommodated every request we made of her. The room was spotless and classic old New Orleans. This place is a treasure and our time there was phenomenal. DO NOT pay for a hotel room with this place available.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KhyberX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2006

My boyfriend and i were originally scheduled to stay here for three nights, but we had to relocate after one night because the power went out in the neighborhood. The innkeeper was very nice and the room was downstairs and separate from the rest of the house (we never saw the rest of the house as it is the innkeeper's private residence). The room was small but the bathroom was huge and the bed was comfortable. Everything was very nicely decorated and we had a TV, mini-fridge, coffee-maker, microwave, little table and chairs and a breakfast basket full of muffins and yummy stuff. We really wish that we could have stayed there the whole time, as our experince over at the Prince Conti was not good. I would reccomend this place to anyone! On a side note, I did not enjoy the French Quarter at all, however, Magazine Street, in the Garden District, is a great area to hang out. They have tons of antique shops and eclectic clothing. Theo's pizza was the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eraserheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2006

I would not hestitate to recommend this gorgeous B & B in New Orleans. My husband and I have travelled the past year around the world, booking our ticket to New Orleans prior to Hurricane Katrna. We were contemplating changing our ticket but decided to come and support the people of New Orleans - We are absolutely THRILLED that we did this as New Orleans is still fantastic. The city has amazing strength and the courage and optimism of the people is amazing. They need every bit of support to help them get back on their feet.
The Dauphine House is by far one of the best affodable accommodation we have stayed in across the world. Karen the owner, is very friendly and warm and always willing to help you. Our room was gorgeously outfitted - sure its over the top, but hey its New Orleans. It has a fridge, microwave, TV, huge bathroom and air con. Breakfast is simple, Karen provides a basket filled to the brim with the best muffins and fruit, there is OJ in the fridge and a coffee machine in your room. The location is ideal, its a quite residential area in the French Quarters ony a 10minute walk to the heart of Burbon St and 5minutes to Frenchmens St. The Tourist areas are back and running. We would strongly recommend doing a walking tour of the Garden District/Cemetry with Historic New Orleans Tours, if you get Alan Raphael he was brilliant. A must do is the exciting and interesting Airboat tour of the Swamp with Airboat Adventures, ask for a tour with Sam and its money worthwhile, we saw a huge amount of alligators and even got to hold one. To listen to great Jazz, the Snug Harbour Cafe on Frenchmen St is a must, even the $15 cover is worthwhile and pop into the Fritzes Bar on Burbon St unfortunately Preservation Hall was only open on w/e. If you looking for a great Cab driver who acts as a tour guide while driving you around, who iss friendly and helpful give Hassan a call on + (504) 259 6877, you won't be ripped off and you will enjoy your ride. I mention so many things in this review because New Orleans needs visitors to survive, and everybit helps to get the people back on their feet and not only that its is a fantastic place and so worthwhile!

Helpful?
3 Thank Donna-Mae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2005

Had a wonderful stay at the Dauphine house. Well within a comfortable walking distance of almost everything in NOLA. Hostess went out of her way to make us feel very at home. From a 10PM check-in to a personalized birthday cake to the loan of a picnic blanket we were made to feel like special guests. The Dauphine house will be our home away from home in NOLA from now on.

G&M - Sarasota FL

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 137 in New Orleans
165 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#16 of 137 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#50 of 137 in New Orleans
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 137 in New Orleans
451 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 137 in New Orleans
440 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#36 of 137 in New Orleans
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House b&b
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing