We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location is perfect, not too far from the center and near the Frenchman street (which is what I imagined burbon street would be like, and soon find out it's not...).
Karen was so nice, she took care of us (we stayed at New Orleans for a conference) and recommended on all the great places to go to and even invited us to a ghost tour :)
We will definately come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the purple room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigih1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
66
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

First time visitors to NOLA. Our three day stay in late March was truly a delight. Room was cozy, quaint, and thoughtfully appointed. Sightseeing, entertainment, and great dining all within easy walking distance. And finally Karen. Such a great hostess, resource, and a fountain of knowledge on local culture and history. Having experienced B&B's across the country we highly recommend Dauphine House.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House in late February for a few days of sightseeing and exploring. Karen was so gracious and kind to us before we even arrived--she made sure that we knew our options about getting from the airport to the hotel without getting ripped off or getting stuck with public transit woes.

When we arrived, she spent at least a half an hour with us, happy to explain things I'm sure she'd explained a million times--where to eat, where to play, how to take the streetcars, etc. She has such a positive attitude, and you can tell she absolutely loves her city. She'd made up a map with her favorite haunts, and they were spot on. We ate at half of the places she recommended, and none disappointed (try the shrimp and goat cheese crepes at Muriel's in Jackson Square!).

I also appreciated that she was very honest about the surroundings. Although the B&B is located in the charmingly subdued Marigny, she did not sugar coat the safety situation--she advised us to take a cab or pedicab home from the Quarter past 10 o'clock at night, just to be on the safe side.

Karen aside, the room was also wonderful. It was a little dark for my own tastes, with dark furnishings and purple wallpaper plus minimal natural light, but it was clean, homey, and felt fresh every day after Karen came to clean things up. I was amazed that there was not a speck of dust anywhere--how is that possible?! The room came with a mini fridge stocked with OJ, a microwave, coffee maker (plus chicory coffee!), and cups, utensils, and plates. Every morning when she cleans the room, Karen leaves a basket of fresh pastries and bananas.

My only complaint is that the sound travelled into our room from several other rooms early in the morning. At 7:30 one morning, we were kept awake by the sound of someone in the private part of the house that shared a door with our room, and also the booming voice of the guest across the hallway. Other than that, we heard not a peep!

It's great value for what you're getting, and you couldn't be in better hands.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent Mardi Gras week at Karen's charming bed & breakfast. As first-timers to New Orleans, she helped us out with recommendations on attractions, tours and restaurants with our own highlighted map of the area. We were within walking distance of the French Quarter, the Mardi Gras parades and the street car lines. This is a wonderful place to stay, quaint and off the beaten path, but so close to the action. Karen is truly a wonderful ambassador for the city and so welcoming in her home. We will be planning another trip to New Orleans and will definitely pay Karen another visit!

Room Tip: The green room at the front of the house has very very light foot traffic, but not enough to keep yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was visiting NOLA for the first time, came a day early for a conference, and didn't know where I was going to stay that night- my sister booked a surprise stay for me at the Dauphine House, sight unseen, and I am so glad she did! The location was excellent, room beautiful and very comfortable, and the backyard is cute. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for great service, great location (I LOVED walking all the way from the B&B to downtown and back- the neighborhoods are gorgeous and so interesting), comfortable bed, sound sleep, and accommodating host.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Karen and her Dauphine House B&B are just perfect! Karen is very attentive without being intrusive to your vacation. She was always a call or text away if we needed her. The House is so close to walk to everything, yet far enough to have a quiet nights sleep. We stayed 4 days had great service from the moment we arrived to the moment our super cabbie picked us up to go to the airport. I am amazed at what a great price our rooms were - especially for the city, location and amenities in the room. The breakfast baskets were very full of freshly made pastries and fruits, half gallon of OJ in the fridge - and great coffee! All of Karen's recommendations were right on...especially the Cooking School of New Orleans...great for both guys and gals. Thank you Karen for a great stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: The back room does have a bigger bath area which will give you privacy for changing and storing suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vkspann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin, SC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House with my 3 best friends. Everything about it was wonderful. Karen is the quintessential Southern hostess. She is warm, welcoming, and prepared. She gave helpful suggestions and always chatted with us when she saw us, but left us alone to explore New Orleans at our leisure. The house is located close enough to the action, but far enough away to have peace and quiet when you want it. It is charming, clean and comfy. The breakfast basket was overflowing with yummy treats which she replenished every day. We had the 2 rooms off the main street. They share a "foyer" entrance so we just kept our bedroom doors open most of the time and we felt like we were at home. The quietest room is the smallest but has the biggest bathroom. The other room is large, but with a small bathroom and some street noise. We did not have a car and it was just fine. We took a cab back to Dauphine one night as Karen suggested not walking home late at night (which is true for any city.) I loved this place and it would be my first choice if I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank horsemom29036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#50 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans
Dauphine House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing