We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dauphine House B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have traveled to New Orleans Many times, stayed in many fine hotels there, but after finding the
Dauphine House and meeting Karen I'll never stay anywhere else. The accommodations are warm , cozy and quiet. Great for couples and solo. The location is within walking distance to everything in the French Quarter.
area.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location is perfect, not too far from the center and near the Frenchman street (which is what I imagined burbon street would be like, and soon find out it's not...).
Karen was so nice, she took care of us (we stayed at New Orleans for a conference) and recommended on all the great places to go to and even invited us to a ghost tour :)
We will definately come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the purple room and loved it!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigih1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

First time visitors to NOLA. Our three day stay in late March was truly a delight. Room was cozy, quaint, and thoughtfully appointed. Sightseeing, entertainment, and great dining all within easy walking distance. And finally Karen. Such a great hostess, resource, and a fountain of knowledge on local culture and history. Having experienced B&B's across the country we highly recommend Dauphine House.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dauphine House in late February for a few days of sightseeing and exploring. Karen was so gracious and kind to us before we even arrived--she made sure that we knew our options about getting from the airport to the hotel without getting ripped off or getting stuck with public transit woes.

When we arrived, she spent at least a half an hour with us, happy to explain things I'm sure she'd explained a million times--where to eat, where to play, how to take the streetcars, etc. She has such a positive attitude, and you can tell she absolutely loves her city. She'd made up a map with her favorite haunts, and they were spot on. We ate at half of the places she recommended, and none disappointed (try the shrimp and goat cheese crepes at Muriel's in Jackson Square!).

I also appreciated that she was very honest about the surroundings. Although the B&B is located in the charmingly subdued Marigny, she did not sugar coat the safety situation--she advised us to take a cab or pedicab home from the Quarter past 10 o'clock at night, just to be on the safe side.

Karen aside, the room was also wonderful. It was a little dark for my own tastes, with dark furnishings and purple wallpaper plus minimal natural light, but it was clean, homey, and felt fresh every day after Karen came to clean things up. I was amazed that there was not a speck of dust anywhere--how is that possible?! The room came with a mini fridge stocked with OJ, a microwave, coffee maker (plus chicory coffee!), and cups, utensils, and plates. Every morning when she cleans the room, Karen leaves a basket of fresh pastries and bananas.

My only complaint is that the sound travelled into our room from several other rooms early in the morning. At 7:30 one morning, we were kept awake by the sound of someone in the private part of the house that shared a door with our room, and also the booming voice of the guest across the hallway. Other than that, we heard not a peep!

It's great value for what you're getting, and you couldn't be in better hands.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent Mardi Gras week at Karen's charming bed & breakfast. As first-timers to New Orleans, she helped us out with recommendations on attractions, tours and restaurants with our own highlighted map of the area. We were within walking distance of the French Quarter, the Mardi Gras parades and the street car lines. This is a wonderful place to stay, quaint and off the beaten path, but so close to the action. Karen is truly a wonderful ambassador for the city and so welcoming in her home. We will be planning another trip to New Orleans and will definitely pay Karen another visit!

Room Tip: The green room at the front of the house has very very light foot traffic, but not enough to keep yo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was visiting NOLA for the first time, came a day early for a conference, and didn't know where I was going to stay that night- my sister booked a surprise stay for me at the Dauphine House, sight unseen, and I am so glad she did! The location was excellent, room beautiful and very comfortable, and the backyard is cute. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for great service, great location (I LOVED walking all the way from the B&B to downtown and back- the neighborhoods are gorgeous and so interesting), comfortable bed, sound sleep, and accommodating host.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Karen and her Dauphine House B&B are just perfect! Karen is very attentive without being intrusive to your vacation. She was always a call or text away if we needed her. The House is so close to walk to everything, yet far enough to have a quiet nights sleep. We stayed 4 days had great service from the moment we arrived to the moment our super cabbie picked us up to go to the airport. I am amazed at what a great price our rooms were - especially for the city, location and amenities in the room. The breakfast baskets were very full of freshly made pastries and fruits, half gallon of OJ in the fridge - and great coffee! All of Karen's recommendations were right on...especially the Cooking School of New Orleans...great for both guys and gals. Thank you Karen for a great stay - we will be back!

Room Tip: The back room does have a bigger bath area which will give you privacy for changing and storing suit...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vkspann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#68 of 142 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 142 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 142 in New Orleans
235 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 142 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £48 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House b&b
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing