We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Quarter--great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Davenport, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“French Quarter--great location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Loved the location and the free breakfast! Wow--what a breakfast! Rooms are small, but very nicely decorated. Historic bar on premises. Pool is nice. Fantastic location in French Quarter for a great cost. Easy to walk to anywhere in French Quarter. Quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPlayEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
68
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile



From the minute we enquired about staying at Dauphine House, Karen made us feel welcome. Karen always kept great communication which was important to us as we live so far away.
When we got to Dauphine we were warmly welcomed and were immediately impressed with our room and facilities. The room was stunning and exceptionally clean, and the bathroom with claw bath tub was a great touch--so relaxing! The fridge was stocked full of goodies and was refilled every morning.
Her recommendations for things to do and see we're excellent, as were her restaurant recommendations (Adolpho's on Frenchmen Street in particular). She truly loves her city and therefore shares the best parts of it with her guests. The location is perfect and it is just short walk to both Frenchmen and Bourbon Street.
Karen made sure she called taxis for us and was always there when we needed her, however she was not intrusive. On New Year's Eve she left us a bottle of bubbly in the fridge which was unbelievably generous and kind.
We will be recommending Dauphine House to all our friends back home and highly recommend it for anyone staying in New Orleans.
Thank you so much!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NarelleBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our 1st visit to New Orleans could not have been better....our stay with Karen was PERFECT! Her advise and grand room made our visit the very best....and her great smile was always warm and welcome! We parked in front of Dauphine House and were able to walk or take the nearby public transportation everywhere. Lots of local bars/restaurants within a 5min. walk and the residential section of Bourbon St. was literally at our corner. Add Dauphine House to your travel plans and you won't be disappointed....thanks Karen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have been to New Orleans many time and three of them have been spent at the Dauphine House with Karen and LOVED it and her. She is also a tour guide for the more legitimate "ghost" tours. The rooms - 3 in total and have stayed in 2, are extremely comfortable and well appointed. Karen knows everything and possibly everybody, and can help you with anything you need. There are not enough good things to say about her and this place! Her restaurant recommendations are spot on- La Peniche is a local gem too! We were not as happy the one time her place was booked

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frogaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I'm happy to add my kudos to everyone else's. My clean and pretty room in this house in the Marigny was just right for my 8-night stay, and filled with everything a guest could want. Karen stopped in each day to tidy up and bring more towels and an abundance of breakfast items -- bananas, muffins, danishes, orange juice, etc.
In other words, this is a B&B where the breakfast comes to YOU -- no need to be dressed & at breakfast at a certain time, meeting strangers, when you'd rather sleep late, dive into breakfast when you want it, and enjoy some other sweet treats later in the day or evening.

The location is just 3-4 blocks from both the (edge of) the French Quarter and the great music along Frenchmen Street, and the neighborhood has a safe, "East Village" vibe, with small, independently owned shops and restaurants. Lots of iconic shotgun houses and creole cottages sporting brightly painted trim.

Karen suggested that since I was a woman traveling alone that at night, instead of walking home from the Quarter, I should get a cab or one of the inexpensive pedi-cabs (usually parked and waiting in front of Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop/Bar). However, a pedi-cab was never there when I needed it, so I took a cab one night and just walked quickly back the other nights.

Karen is extremely nice, fun, and the perfect hostess. When you need her, she's there; when you don't, she's not intrusive. She knows the city very well, and has excellent suggestions for nearby restaurants and things to do. I can't promise that you will be as fortunate, but when my plane was arriving, she was planning to be shopping in that area, so she picked me up & took me straight to the Dauphine. It was a quick, fun, door-to-door trip that saved me $30!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoomerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muldrow, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My second time to NOLA and roomie and I almost stayed at an awful place, but thankfully we found the Dauphine House. We absolutely loved our stay at this B&B, and our host, Karen, made it even more awesome. We're definitely coming back to this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libertysfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My sister and I stumbled upon Dauphine House by accident and we couldn't have been more pleased!! We had previously scheduled a vacay to Estes Park but due to the flooding that occured there we were forced to replan our vacay destination. In looking for a B&B to stay I stumbled upon Dauphine House on the internet and it looked like a interesting place....very New Orleans!! Karen (the home owner) is a very interesting and informative person who provided us with all the tips and direction we needed...she even told us we could text her if we needed anything. We love New Orleans and are next trip there will include staying at the Dauphine House!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#48 of 140 in New Orleans
59 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 140 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#12 of 140 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#45 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#38 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dauphine House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1830 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine House was built in 1860 in the historic Faubourg Marigny, and is located 2 blocks from the French Quarter near Bourbon Street and Esplanade Avenue. Each of the two guest rooms has a private bath, queen bed, small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, phone, coffee maker and free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dauphine House b&b
Dauphine House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing