We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Hospitality”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mandevilla Bed and Breakfast on St. Charles Avenue
Ranked #99 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent 5 days in new Orleans and we really enjoyed our stay with Marnie at Mandevilla. The house is classic New Orleans and the highlight of our visit was NOMA (New Orleans Museum of Art) and catching the streetcar to go rambling around the city's streets. Mandevilla is ideally located for both of these. A good choice of restaurants is available within walking distance.

Marnie's hospitality was great and we also enjoyed meeting the other guests. Our room was spacious and the shower was really good. Our bed was truly enormous and really comfortable. The wi-fi was a bit patchy. Marnie's breakfasts were freshly made and Marnie was a mine of information to help us plan our time in the great city. Strongly recommend Mandevilla to anyone seeking an authentic New Orleans experience.

Room Tip: Our spacious room was on the ground floor with its own entrance around the side of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParaDara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very nice, large rooms, "campy" atmosphere. Owner marni could not be more accomodating. 2 blocks from Tulane. Highly recommend if you want something different than staying downtown --unusually reasonable too!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Labramsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We came to visit Tulane University and New Orleans for a few days. The Mandevilla was a great place to come home to at the end of a busy day. The room was lovely: spacious, clean, and comfortable. We stayed in the Victorian room which has a King sized bed and a twin day bed. Our host Marnie was friendly and ready to share suggestions and ideas for restaurants and places to visit. We enjoyed fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and bagels or muffins each morning. Although the streetcar out front is currently under construction, there is a bus available along the route until the project is completed. We will definitely return should our daughter decide to attend Tulane!

Room Tip: The Victorian room overlooks the side courtyard. You can open the French doors to a small balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeachyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I came to New Orleans for the first time as part of a wedding party for a close friend. My friend arranged for myself, 2 other friends and some of her visiting family to stay at this B&B.
Marnie (the B&B Owner and housekeeper) gave us a group discount and was extremely accommodating in every way (allowed late checkins & checkouts and late breakfasts etc).

The Good:
absolutely beautiful old house filled with antiques and paintings, each room has a cute theme, I stayed in the Oriental room, very pretty.
Breakfast was very nice, there was always fresh cut fruit and toast, coffee or juices, and Marnie would ask if you wanted other things like cheese or cereal, very attentive host.
If you have any questions about local happenings just ask Marnie, she is an extremely informative host.
This house is right next to the local street cars, you can just walk outside and stand at the nearest stop to catch it.
Rooms were very clean (daily) and beds were extremely comfortable.

The not so good:
Tiny old tube TV (I don't watch much TV but someone who does will not enjoy this)
mini fridge didn't work (didn't end up needing it though)
Doors to individual rooms do not lock from the outside (You only get a key to the front door of the house so you can come and go from the building)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have been to New Orleans 5 times in the last 2 years. When I arrive at the Mandevilla, I feel like I am home. The house is very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable.Marni, the owner makes you feel like it is your house. She knows all of her guests by name and introduces everyone to each other at the breakfast table. It is an interesting morning when you have your coffee with several new people that you are connected to by this trip to NOLA.

After breakfast your location in the Garden District is perfect for getting the feel of what New Orleans is all about. The streetcar is right outside, Audobon Park and the zoo are a short walk away. The neighborhood is full of great resturants.
Marni's insight to the eateries and attractions that abound in the BIG EASY is also very helpful.

i will be visiting New Orleans several times in the coming years and I will definitly stay at The Mandevilla.

Room Tip: The room with the terrace is lovely. You can smell the jasmine when you sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The earlier review by Julie E, says more about her and her attitude towards a B&B, than what is an accurate picture of Mandevilla. The place is very convenient, right on the St. Charles streetcar line, clean and cozy and run by a very nice woman, Marnie Bourne. We did not find her even the slightest bit nosey..just friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Plantation room, with a comfortable king bed, a balcony overlooking a beautiful garden and a double jaccuzi. The place is well soundproofed and , although there were several others stayng at Mandevilla, we never really heard them. The breakfast served is a continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee and either biscuits, toast or an English muffin. Why anyone would complain about that is beyond me, especially since there are several wonderful breakfast places about a quarter of a mile away. New Orleans is one of the country's great restaurant towns, so who cares if the B&B serves pancakes, eggs or the like?
Uptown has become a mecca for wonderful restaurants and Brigtsens, Dante's Kitchen, One, Boucherie, and many others are a short walk or very short bus ride away.
Mandevilla is not like staying at the Ritz or the Windsor Court, but you are not paying nearly the cost of those places either. There is no lounge, bar, entertainment, so if that is your desire, don't choose a B&B. If you want cute, cozy and quaint, along with a warm and caring owner, very convenient to almost anywhere, Mandevilla may be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: Plantation Room if possible ($179/nt)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to New Orleans for our on's wedding. We arrived at the B&B on monday and stayed until Monday. Marnie is TOO attentive...always there when you come and go...there is no breakfast ...some fruit on a plate and coffee. Marnie said if we wanted a hot breakfast she would toast us an english muffin. Really? Each day was the same...we kept waiting for a breakfast. There are no snacks around. The other big disappointment was that there is no WIFI...you can go in her dining room and sit at her messy desk and connect to internet (at another desk in this room is her 15 year old son playing on his computer ...and talking on the phone. I adjusted to this only to find one morning i could not connect...marnie had hidden the router from her 15 year old as punishment and in doing that said i could not get on either. That was the day we tried to move to the Park View Guest House but they were full. We were stuck with Marnie. But will never go back. in all fairness the rooms are nice and clean but TV is a 13 inch old tube tv...and the other issues...no WIFI and no food....no privacy as doors do not lock...

Room Tip: no elevator, no privacy...when you leave your room the doors do not lock!!!!! also it was so hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#22 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 142 in New Orleans
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandevilla Bed and Breakfast on St. Charles Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandevilla Bed and Breakfast on St. Charles Avenue

Address: 7716 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-3847
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Uptown / Carrollton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £57 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing