We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crescent Palms Motel
Ranked #124 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I and our 3 friends stayed at the Crescent Palms last Christmas. I can't speak highly enough of the place, especially the staff. Managers Kendall and John were amazingly sweet and helpful. They went out of their way to help us in many occasions - even when we were stranded without a rental car and no more reserved nights on new years eve, they found us a room and a car!

The area gets a really bad rep, but we never felt unsafe, and its nice to be away from all the tourists and stay at a place with real character. We took the bus and the tram into town and never had a problem.

The room was clean, warm in the chilly winter nights, showers worked perfectly, and there was always plenty of clean linen. The bar was cozy, and Kendall and John would come hang out with us on their break. Very very nice people. We missed them after we left! I will go back to New Orleans, and I will stay at the Palms again!

I highly recommend the place: comfortable, great atmosphere, and affordable. By the other reviews that I see on this site, it looks like I'm not the only one who felt that way: when you are treated so well by such lovely people, it shows. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Sara, Juan, Josafat, Ana & Vanessa

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saramurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    32
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
17
36
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just returned home from a week stay in NOLA. We are so sad to see it end. For the value, you can't beat this hotel. It is a healthy walk to the Quarter through a rougher side of town, but we had zero problems and the local people were very kind to us. We took cabs back at night. The staff at this hotel is incredibly nice. They went way out of their way to make sure we were able to get cabs when we needed them. We had a car for 3 days of our stay and the secured parking was really nice. The patio was enjoyed by us in the mornings and in the wee hours of the night and we never had any trouble. We would like to personally thank John for being so kind to us. We always felt comfortable and safe, and all but one night had perfect quiet when sleeping. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 and it was away from the patio which made it quieter. I can see the rooms clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandilyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
824 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Like most contributors, we were looking for a reasonably priced motel, in our case close to the "New Orleans Arena" (which seems to change its name from time to time) Checking in was easy, friendly staff. We were in room 110, but as the fridge was being defrosted, we were moved to room 109. So, no microwave or comfy chair (?) Nevertheless, for our "Eagles" concert, it was great. We arrived back at midnight, easy to get through the substantial security gate , open the main gate and drive in. Sadly, many guests are obviously unable to read, because our 'no smoking' room had cigarette burns all over the carpet and any surface a drunk can rest one (?) But, everything was fine, the T V hand control did not work, but getting out of bed to press a button was no big problem. We will definetly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a bit of an adventure trying to get here. we booked through expedia and they didn't inform us that the front desk closes at 10. There is a number on the door to call if you come in late but no one would answer. we ended up having to stay in a La Quinta on the West Bank. We fought with Expedia about getting our deposit back on the first night and in the end it was the hotel staff that arranged with expedia to wave the first nights fee that we would have got charged.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. you can't beat the value of this place. my boyfriend and I were taking a road trip to New Orleans for the Jazz Fest and all the hotel prices were through the roof. This was the only place that was in our budget.

Not too close to the French Quarter, but taking a bus down town was easy and cheap and only took about 25 - 45 minutes depending on the time of day. cabs to the Quarter were about 25 USD.

the hotel was clean and had a fun little bar and casino game. there was a nice patio on the roof.

the washrooms were huge and very clean. refrigerators and TV in the room.

It does seem like kind of a sketchy area. the first night when we were locked out we went looking around for a pay phone (since we are canadian and don't have cell phone service in the states). We must have looked completely lost because people kept coming up to us asking us if we needed help. We might have just been lucky but We never ran into any trouble and everyone was very helpful.

They lock the gate at night so your cars are safe in the parking lot and outsiders can't get into the hotel area without a key.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

although the motel was in a seemingly sketchy area, it was plain, but very clean and great value for the price. The attendants were most accommodating and very very friendly. We would go back although there are not many restaurants within immediate walking distance


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Best hotel I've stayed in in a long time. The area looks bad, but N.O. is still in recovery mode. The hotel looks shady on the outside, but once you go in, Heavens door ooens to you. The staff was awesome! The bar is small but worthy of a visit. The hospitality is freaking AWESOME! We was givin a ride to our sporting events and was treated like royality! No snobby folks working there. Everyone made us feel like home. I will be only using this hotel when I return. Its the hospitality that out does the big chain hotels. LOOKS ARE DECIEVING!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISHORNE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We two older travelers were tired rolling into NO and had a hard time finding the place a kindly person in Slidell had looked up for us online, so we asked directions several times. Every time people said "oh, you don't want to stay THERE" -- "it's a bad area" -- "don't go walking after you get there". We found the motel after dark and to my now worried mind, it looked funny that there were NO cars in the courtyard when we had been told we got the last vacant room! Manager Kendo made us feel more comfortable, but then disturbing was the fact that the room above us was clearly occupied. The person walked heavily and restlessly for all the time we were awake. Again, with a worried mind, I thought it manic. Next to our room was a papered-over door declaring "No Minors Allowed" - which might be necessary, but looked unfriendly and definitely left me not wanting to see what was behind it, though we would have enjoyed a drink. (I would suggest a professional sign that says: "Welcome" and a couple of lines below "No Minors"). The room - 110 - declared to be "Deluxe" for Hotels.com with whom I booked -- looked absolutely nothing like the website photo with its green glass sink, shiny bedspreads, window with curtains and greenery beyond. In reality the bathroom appeared unfinished and mix and match, the bedspreads were used up, there was a large-ish tar-like stain on the carpet in the middle of the room, a cigarette burn on the basic furniture...BUT the room and beds were clean enough - I flicked a small bug off the bed - and we decided to just relax into it. The motel had the air of someone trying to get a business started, but not doing a very good job of it. As it was in the Black neighborhood of the Katrina-ravaged city, we decided to see the best in it and went to sleep. The next morning we woke up to a bright, sunshiny day and outside a friendly young man - one of the three partners in the enterprise, he told us - greeted us heartily and asked how we had enjoyed our stay?! I told him that the room looked nothing like the website photo. He chuckled and said: "that web-site is old; we have to update that"!!!. Of course I wish him and his partners the best, but they have to put a little more effort into it. He told us the venerable history of the place which had hosted Martin Luther King, and American music greats who were allowed to perform downtown but not stay downtown. I would say that history deserves a little more respect as far as the motel's appearance is concerned -- it should remain modest, but dignified, with a sixties' style (if those are not contradictions in terms). Knowing the place, as I know it now, I would stay there again much more comfortably. It certainly is affordably priced. A few days ago we saw the movie "The Butler" and recognized the motel as one of the locations (not that it would make a difference in our experience). If the owners would show some more effort, I'd recommend the place for budget-minded and/or history-interested travelers. We are both, and had a great time in NO....and a story to tell back in Portland (which has a similarly discriminatory history and structures/locations which might tell that history have mostly been razed or gentrified).

Room Tip: Just know what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sieglinde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#86 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Palms Motel

Property: The Crescent Palms Motel
Address: 3923 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70125-2011
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crescent Palms Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Palms Motel is located in the heart of New Orleans, minutes from the French Quarter, the Superdome and other famous attractions. Our newly renovated, 1960's vintage motel offers 24 spacious guest rooms, large private bathrooms, ample closet space, a cocktail lounge and complimentary off-street parking. Each room features brand new furnishings- two double beds, a refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, 26" LCD TV/DVD with cable and more. Please join us for a visit soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crescent Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Palms Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing