We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you can book this place, do it..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #125 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you can book this place, do it..”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is several blocks from the the French Quarter. It is a wonderful little hotel that is also a time share. However, it is possible to book the hotel without knowing an owner. Their are one or two bedroom suites complete with a kitchen. It is over twenty years old now, but the maintenance is great and the people are wonderful. The wonderful part of this hotel is that their is actually free parking. You are near supermarkets and of course all the restaurants and clubs. If you happen to be in New Orleans during a slow week, try and book this place. Its is like a home away from home

Room Tip: Their are no bad rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Danelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    74
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
74
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We finally were able to try this hotel and are pleased with location and accomodations! Only drawback was limited (small vehicle best) parking offered under the hotel. Rooms are actually previous apts so have living, bath, kitchenette and bedroom. Ours was on 2nd floor "balcony" so access from bedroom onto the balcony (not private) that scans the whole front of hotel.
Rooms were clean, staff very friendly. Loved the interior courtyards for rooms and small pool. Location is key for visiting the French Quarter/Market area. Also on the edge of artsy Marigny neighborhood. Plenty of nearby bar/restaurants.
Will definitely be back when in NOLA.

Room Tip: Some riverboat traffic and local bar noise at night so light sleepers may choose rear rooms to be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jeeperTulsa_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We didn't have a choice of hotels during our recent one-week stay because a friend owns a time share here. But we were not disappointed and were more than happy with the hotel.

Most importantly, the location is perfect. Every day we walked through the French Quarter, which is without a doubt the most fascinating, beautiful, interesting and unique neighbourhood in North America.

The suites in the hotel are somewhat outdated and far from luxurious, but perfectly adequate. Housekeeping was just fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. The laundry room downstairs came in handy. Notable mention to our concierge, Camille, who was delightfully informative and charming. I don't think we could have managed half as well without her advice and help. She explained the pros and cons of all the tours, made our reservations for us, called us cabs when needed, and was truly a professional.

I would not hesitate to stay in the Hotel de la Monnaie again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is the most convenient place to stay in New Orleans. The hotel is across the street from the Riverfront Streetcar, the former Mint, the French Market and just steps away from some of the best food and an outstanding music scene on Frenchman Street. The front desk, housekeeping and maintainence staff give impeccable service. The staff are friendly and most accommodating. The kitchens are adequate, with lots of Community coffee, who wants to cook when the wonderful food is just a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank henhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is an ideal place to stay when you are visiting the French Quarter. It is in a great location close to the French Market, the Mississippi River, the jazz scene on Frenchmen Street, and the streetcar line. The limited free parking in a covered garage is a real benefit if you are traveling by car. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoy sitting on the second floor balcony and visiting with other guests. There is much less traffic noise at Hotel de la Monnaie than we have encountered at other French Quarter hotels. There are some wonderful restaurants nearby that we always enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Esplanade Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SeaHawk65804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel has a great location just across the street from the former US Mint (lots of events) and the French Market/French Quarter. Loved the location but the hotel is "quaint." Everything worked fine and the staff was friendly and helpful. I wouldn't want to prepare a meal in the kitchen of the 2-bedroom unit we had as it was tiny! The pool is also tiny. We stayed on the fifth floor and it was really noisy with the roof air conditioning unit running constantly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luv2travel54701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Frenchmen St, the Quarter, the French Market, riverfront, streetcar, and a straight shot out Esplanade to City Park and fairgrounds street parking. We found the garage often full but street parking is available in the Faubourg Marigny, a rapidly hipsterifying neighborhood bordered by Frenchmen St.. Surprisingly quiet for its location. Pleasant verandah accessible from the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: The units ending in 13 are the weirdest layout of a condo (though oddly functional) you will ever se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snakefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 161 in New Orleans
901 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
941 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#127 of 161 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Villa Convento
Hotel Villa Convento
#94 of 161 in New Orleans
471 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#74 of 137 in New Orleans
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Property: Hotel de la Monnaie
Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing