We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can not be beat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de la Monnaie
Ranked #124 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location can not be beat”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We used this hotel as a result of a timeshare trade. It was not our first choice, but we were happy with the hotel overall. The location is perfect to jump on a streetcar or get a taxi, and the staff were always friendly, helpful, and available.
Yes, the decor is dated, and could use some updating. The kitchenette appliances are relics of a bygone era, but we were not there to cook and lounge in our room. The bed and pull out sofa were comfy, the bathroom was spotless, and the suite was quiet and clean. The pool is actually bigger than it looks in photos, and the kids enjoyed it every night. The balcony on the second floor is a great place to sit outside and enjoy view and sounds of New Orleans.
We could walk or use the streetcar to get almost everywhere. Frenchmen Street around the corner was a new discovery for us; it is a funky neighborhood great for people watching, music, and art.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oakislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
75
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for us. All the amenities and within easy walking distance of French Quarter. Great value. Terrific staff. Would definitely stay there again. Rooms very comfortable with a separate sitting area and kitchenette. Thought we would have more meals there but at least it gave us the option! Liked the fact it was an older building with inside courtyards. Just nice.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Family and friends books a week at the Hotel de la Monnaie with the understanding that it was a four star hotel. This is false advertisment. The decor in our suite was old and the room had an odor. The furniture did not match, the room very dusty and the bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling. We cut our vacation short and checked out on Monday. It is not handicap asseciable either. This hotel is overdue for renovations. There are no amenities. The only bright spot was the staff. They were friendly and very helpful. I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelingFamily30889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very friendly hotel close to great eating places and music venues. Clean rooms and a wading
pool centrally located, Maid service and self serve laundry facilities available. Gallery type
kitchen for light cooking.

Room Tip: I don't have a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beverlyannhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked a four night stay at Hotel de la Monnaie months in advance. The booking process seemed very hit or miss, cannot be completed online. We got confirmation for our original reservation, but then nothing when we asked to change from a 2 bed to a 1 bed suite, again weeks in advance. Had to phone to make sure reservation was in place. We originally had a room leading off the courtyard which was quite pleasant. Bed was not very comfortable and it was difficult to open the fridge, but after two days we were told by a notice on our door that we would have to switch rooms the following day. We complied and were then stuck in an inferior, smaller room on the 5th floor where we found the shower did not work. There was also hair on the floor. My husband had to shower in the room next door. Shower was fixed later in the day. Parking was available in the adjacent car park when we first arrived but by Friday there was no space and we were forced to leave our car out on the street in a pretty dicey area. We had a phone call from the hotel after we left to find out if we enjoyed our stay. We informed them that my husband had left some teeshirts in the chest of drawers but we heard nothing further from them. The hotel is convenient to the French quarter and it is reasonably priced, but I guess you get what you pay for and I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
9 Thank TTav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athol, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel de la Monnaie.. Susan was great in handling any of our questions and concerns. The housekeeping staff was amazing. They went above and beyond the call of duty! The resort is old but so clean and very homey. I really felt very much at home. The location was fantastic right at the trolley stop at the French Market. Lots of good food and entertainment around the corner minus the craziness of Bourbon St. I would definitely stay here again! Thanks again to all the staff at Hotel de la Monnaie!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Overall, the hotel is quaint, rooms are a decent size - but needs serious updating. Yes, reservations are a pain. No one is there on the weekend days, so if you need to change something within that 48 hour cancel window (which I did), it's a real problem. Best thing about the hotel is the location at the end of the FQ - worse thing was the club next door. Pounding, ear-splitting music from 10PM to 4:30 AM - we checked out after the fourth night and struggled to find another hotel, but had to - the pulsating of the music made us physically sick. The hotel is right across from the Riverfront streetcar station, so that is a plus. Staff was very nice, room was kept clean but not spotless. Would not return.

Room Tip: Get a room in the BACK of the hotel away from Esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
985 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
925 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#128 of 162 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#72 of 138 in New Orleans
40 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Frenchmen Orleans at 519
Frenchmen Orleans at 519
#19 of 35 in New Orleans
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Monnaie

Property: Hotel de la Monnaie
Address: 405 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
De La Monnaie Hotel
De La Monnaie New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing