We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in house of historic significance”
Review of Degas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Degas House
Ranked #53 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay in house of historic significance”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

So much more charming than an ordinary hotel room, Degas House offers an opportunity to immerse yourself in a piece of art history. David has to be commended on his foresight in painstakingly restoring this house and preserving the history it holds for current and future generations to appreciate and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helbo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Social Media Coordinator at Degas House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Degas House and your appreciation of what it took to restore this house and the historical significance of the home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    21
    3
    10
    8
See reviews for
27
67
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My stay at the Degas House was absolutely awful. We checked out after our first night after planing on staying 4 nights, and on top of that, we did not get a refund. So buyer beware!!! Our room was shabby, missing light bulbs, broken towel racks, dirty dresser draws. And the "creole breakfast" was unorganized, dirty utensils, which I had to get myself, dirty salt and pepper shakers, no coffee made and we were not greeted with a momosa as advertised. The 2 cooks were not attentive to the guest at the table. They could barely make the breakfast and the food was served cold. Instant grits is not what I paid for... This place sucks!!! Don't buy into the elegant hype!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nola-Native2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Back in January my friend and I were lucky enough to reserve a tour of the Degas House and as it turned out, we were the only two customers that day, allowing us to receive dedicated individual attention. We both found the tour most educational, both in terms of the Degas and Impressionist art era and New Orleans itself. I only wish we would have reserved to attend the breakfast, too. The Degas House is easy walking distance from the French Quarter (we were staying at Harrah's). I would definitely recommend this tour.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnR29142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Front Office Manager at Degas House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for submitting this wonderful review of the Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. Our Creole Breakfast is delicious and we know that if you had booked the breakfast, you would have enjoyed that, as well. Thank you for recommending the tour. If you return to New Orleans, we encourage you to reserve space for our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We just spent the weekend in New Orleans and this was our first time staying at the Degas House - and it won't be the last! We stayed in the William Bell Suite - beautifully furnished and it had its own balcony overlooking the courtyard. There are several cats that "laze" around the property - so it was fun to watch them stretch out in the sunny courtyard and pass the time! Breakfast is included in your stay - so you MUST try the Bananas Foster French Toast! So good - I had it both mornings - along with Mimosas, mixed fruit, eggs, sausage and bacon. If you walk away hungry - do not blame Sharon (the primary cook) or Lora (her helper) - they will keep feeding you until you cannot get up from the table! Also included in our stay was the tour of the house(s). SPOILER ALERT - the two houses used to be one! To find out the rest - you will need to go take the tour! But learning about Degas time in New Orleans and seeing some of the prints/photos of his work that he composed in that very house gave a new meaning to those works! The property is located very near the French Quarter - so convenient for sightseeing but not noisy or crowded like being in the French Quarter.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SWWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degashouse, Front Office Manager at Degas House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for submitting such a nice review of our Creole Breakfast and Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. We agree that the Bananas Foster French Toast is delicious – we feel the best in the city. We hope you will return and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We started the day with breakfast at the Degas House. Carolyn was a wonderful hostess and chef. The omelet was one of the best I have ever had. Mom femme had bananas foster that were equally fantastic. Breakfast was very quiet and we were joined by one other person. The bloody mary was a delight.
After the wonderful breakfast were taken on a tour f the facility by Degas great grand niece Micey Moyer. While we have been to many museums and artists' residences having a tour with a direct descendant of Degas brought a whole new dimension to the tour. Standing on the porch where one of the paintings was created was also a great experience. Micey was a delightful person who was very willing to answer all f questions and provided insights to Degas that only a family member could have. We would love to come back and spend at least one night in the house.
Suffice it to say, we loved everything about this very unique experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the master suite on the second floor with the big bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirdStarToTheRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We didn't stay here but took the tour of this lovely place, which included a video about Degas's time in New Orleans and a very interesting talk and walk around the two buildings. I'm not usually that into doing such activities, but the Degas House tour was first-rate. Learned a lot of things about the house itself, that period of time in New Orleans, and Degas. Really liked how we got a good picture of what he was like as a person. Did get to look at some of the B&B rooms, which were beautifully put together and looked pretty comfy. An excellent activity for anyone who likes art and history.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our third stay at the Degas House and (as usual) it was wonderful! The location on Esplanade Avenue is quiet and charming (beautiful tree-lined avenue) and so convenient to NOMA and the Quarter...also nice to walk around the historic neighborhood.

We stayed in the Josephine room which was beautiful and romantic; decorated very nicely for Christmas (as was the entire property). Took the included tour which was very informative and had a wonderful New Orleans-style breakfast served by a very hospitable staff. If you're interested in New Orleans history and/or Edgar Degas...the Degas House is a must-stay!

Just like to add: we noticed that some complained about the feral cats at the property. In no way were the cats a bother, we found them a charming somewhat Parisian addition to the property and we liked the Degas House (and staff) even more for caring for them!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#16 of 140 in New Orleans
310 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#24 of 140 in New Orleans
314 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 140 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 140 in New Orleans
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Degas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Degas House

Property: Degas House
Address: 2306 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Degas House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Degas House is the celebrated only remaining home of the French Impressionist Master Edgar Degas that is open to the public in the world. Degas House has been recognized by the French Minister of Culture, through the French National Order of Arts and Letters. Today, the home serves as a Museum House with guided tours, Bed and Breakfast, wedding/reception venue and for corporate functions. Degas House is also home of the Degas Foundation, whose educational mission includes serving as a cultural resource center to the public. Degas House is licensed, insured and inspected. We are in our 19th year of business and provide the security you and your family desire during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Degas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Degas House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing