We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Crescent City Must”
Review of Degas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Degas House
Ranked #58 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Crescent City Must”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The Degas House is a quiet, quaint and beautiful place. The staff was pleasent and very helpful. We have been guest at the Degas House several times before. This isour New Orleans home. I recommended The Degas House to everyone. This is a historic home full of character, history and beauty. They have a wonderful tour that should be taken by everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BATONROUGEBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    21
    3
    10
    8
See reviews for
26
65
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I cannot say enough positive things about The Degas House. I have stayed there on several occasions in the past year, and everytime, it has been a true pleasure. The staff could not have been better. The rooms are very comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast.
Not only do you get a wonderful place to say, but you get the GREAT history with it. This is the only home of Degas in the world. There is a great tour that is FREE for the guest that stay in the house. I am so glad I took it.
The Degas House is an all-around great experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Another Great Stay at the Degas House in New Orleans!

I recently stayed (again) at the Degas House and again had a wonderful stay. Always accommodating, the staff is on top of everything. Staying in this historic B&B is always a pleasure. Easy in/easy out. Never a problem. Beautifully maintained and equipped to accomodate the modern-day traveler. Centrally located to all parts of the city it's just a 5 minute cab ride from the French Quarter and closer than that to the concerts in City Park. Great made-to-order breakfast in the morning - Thanks, Sharon! Even a ghostly presence on the staircase!! I highly recommend travelers to New Orleans stay at this treasure in the heart of Bayou St. John!! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noladesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Historic home of Edward Degas, impressionist painter. Beautiful home in quiet/safe neighborhood. Close to the French Quarter and other sites. Breakfast was elegant and good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave63021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

What a great experience. The outside balcony overlooks beautiful Esplanade Avenue. The courtyard is warm and inviting; a great place for eating outside. The home cooked breakfast was awesome. The house has been and is being restored true to its time in history. All in all a truly worthwhile experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jav2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The decor & history of this property take you back to a time and place when life was simpler & less complicated... The relaxing atmosphere and pleasant staff make this a great place for a romantic encounter or one where you can contemplate the next great business adventure!

Park your car and walk to great cultural history or take a $5 cab ride to the French Quarter and avoid the hassle of finding a parking spot...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatonRouge-BajaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed one night and had the entire house to ourself. Just curious if the house is "haunted". When we arrived that evening to go to bed a door slammed downstairs but no one else was there . . . ? We were promised a free tour, but never received it. We thought it would be nicer than it was so it didn't meet our expectations, but to stay in such a historical home was exciting.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank 2like2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubi1, Owner at Degas House, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Thanks for the opportunity to respond.
Actually, although not popular, we have no ghosts! The door you heard closing was probably us coming in for the night, so of course you were not alone. Everything we present on the tour is documented history, and it is important to us to stay with the facts, so it would be difficult to claim a ghost! However, the experience of staying in a historic home is very exciting, especially if you connect with the history of the house. The tour is included and I'm sorry you missed it, because it is the backbone of what we do: tell the story of historic events that ocurred here, including Degas' discovery of a new style of painting, later to become known as Impressionism. The tour is usually given by the Great Grand Niece of Degas, who lives in the neighborhood and has been a part of our staff for the last 10 years. The tour operates at varied times of the day, so I'm sorry you missed it. Did you let the office know when you were ready to take the tour? Normally, we accommodate our guests easily after breakfast, so I'm sorry you were diasappointed. I would be glad to comp you another room night in the house and would have certainly done that, had you communicated your disapointment about missing the tour , or anything else to one of our staff members or directly to me. The tour is definetly something not to be missed! Please let me know by phone, email, text or fax when you would like to return and how I can best accommodate you. I'm certain you realize I will be waiting for your call. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Five Continents Inn
#63 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#25 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Degas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Degas House

Property: Degas House
Address: 2306 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Degas House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Degas House is the celebrated only remaining home of the French Impressionist Master Edgar Degas that is open to the public in the world. Degas House has been recognized by the French Minister of Culture, through the French National Order of Arts and Letters. Today, the home serves as a Museum House with guided tours, Bed and Breakfast, wedding/reception venue and for corporate functions. Degas House is also home of the Degas Foundation, whose educational mission includes serving as a cultural resource center to the public. Degas House is licensed, insured and inspected. We are in our 19th year of business and provide the security you and your family desire during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Degas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Degas House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing