We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little hotel, would definitely go back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Streetcar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Historic Streetcar Inn
Ranked #134 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little hotel, would definitely go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I was initially apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the reviews but we were really happy with our experience.

No, this isn't The Hilton, but if you want that kind of soul-less experience then you are in the wrong city anyway.

What you will get - a hotel with real New Orleans character (its almost like staying in your rich friend's house).

Our room was clean, it's in a safe area (with the street car stop literally across the road) and the staff went above and beyond their call of duty when I had a problem with my booking company.

If you want a real New Orleans experience then I promise this hotel won't disappoint you, and in comparison to some of it's competitors prices its a real bargain.

If I ever come back to New Orleans I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandogofjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We appreciate you kind words, and on behalf of my staff let me say it was a pleasure hosting your stay here in New Orleans. We welcome your comments and are ensuring all matters you have mentioned are being attended too.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might consider staying with us again in the future so I can personally ensure you a comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    127
    59
    56
    70
See reviews for
63
155
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Geez....We wanted charm but found a dingy room, wonder bread, cheap pastry and powdered coffee creamer for breakfast and 2 days of no housekeeping. You can certainly do better. There are new owners who are, apparently, cutting corners with little regard for guests. There's no management on site in the evenings so don't loose your key or flood your toilet!

The garden district is wonderful though and public transportation is very convenient.

The web site states that airport transportation is available. It isn't.

New Orleans is a city of magic, adventure, great food and amazing music. Go soon. Stay
somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than your expectations. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.

We are bringing exciting new changes to the hotel as we have come under new management. In regards to breakfast, there are new items we will be introducing in the coming months that will expand our breakfast selection. As we are a historic property, sometimes guests that stay with us want the modern hotel experience. We have looked into the issue with housekeeping and although you did feel good enough about our hotel to stay 2 nights even with the listed issues, we have ensured retraining and emphasis on cleanliness is paramount.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Longwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The web site has stock photos that are not representative of the actual hotel with the exception of the photo of the front of the property. This is not a charming nor particularly clean property. It is neglected. The web site also indicates it is recently renovated. I promise you, our room hadn't seen a renovation in decades. There were all kinds of things under the bed. It obviously had not seen a vacuum in quite a while. There was a mirror hiding a hole in the wall and a rug on top of a portion of the carpet. There were about 10 feet or more of extension cords in a pile under the AC wall unit. The bathroom was quite dated. That did not bother me but the shower rod was extremely rusted and the grout in the shower was missing or dirty.

The web site also indicates there is airport transportation; maid service; fireplaces and a continental breakfast. They do not provide courtesy airport transportation; our room was not cleaned the 5 days and 4 nights we were there and the continental breakfast consisted of instant oatmeal; wonder bread; english muffins and pastries. If you want cream in your coffee, it is powered. As for the fireplace, it is a space heater.

We asked to have our room cleaned 3 different times and was assured that they clean all of their rooms daily. We never did get our room cleaned so we gathered the trash in the waste baskets and the wet towels in the bathroom and placed them outside of our room.

On the plus side, it was in a convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ksperling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
In general, we take all our guests reviews with an open mind so we can see what they see. We want to ensure that our guests comments are attended to so problems can be averted in regards to our future guests. This will not be the case with this review.

The guests involved with this stay refused housekeeping service every day of their stay, and only at the end of the stay was it brought to our attention that they had not received service (although they had refused service). Because of the alleged issue, they demanded a refund of at least one night for their trouble. They were referred to the manager (myself) on the next weekday, and they contacted me.

After speaking with the guest, it was conveyed that unless we proceeded to give them the refund they asked about, they would immediately place a bad review on tripadvisor, and other sites. They claimed other issues besides the housekeeping service, but refused to discuss them at the time of the conversation. We are always open to discussing any issues that our guests have as we believe in the service we provide and want to please all of out guests.

To answer points made in the review, we did not hear of any issues with the room during the entire stay. We do offer maid service daily (when allowed in the rooms). Breakfast is actually a broad continental style with many options for our guests inclusive of pastries, breads, grits and oatmeal. We offer a comparable continental breakfast to any hotel in our area. Coffee is offered with many options, including creamer (liquid or powdered) to fill different guest desires.

This review requires a different stance as we were not informed of any of the issues the guest was allegedly having. Nor was housekeeping service allowed to clean their room during the entirety of the stay. As well, the guest does ensure a negative review, yet chose to stay the entire breadth of their reservation and not depart. After all these facts they still request a refund, and threaten that if not given money, they will write negative reviews on numerous sites to make the hotel look bad. I feel this is not a legitimate review but an attempt to attain an undeserved refund.

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good location in the garden district and right across the road from the street car stop. Staff were helpful booking an excursion for me and printing out boarding cards on checkout. Breakfast was minimal but still a nice start to the day. This hotel is converted from an old house so it has lots of character. Our room was spacious but could have done with a little attention as there was a bare gripper rod in between the room and the bathroom. Room was clean and comfortable. There is a lovely little terrace area where you can eat your breakfast and have a coffee. The stoop at the front has rocking chairs where you can sit and people watch. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side so was ok but I think the front rooms night have a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We appreciate you kind words, and on behalf of my staff let me say it was a pleasure hosting your stay here in New Orleans. We welcome your comments and are ensuring all matters you have mentioned are being attended too.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might consider staying with us again in the future so I can personally ensure you a comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

First time in New Orleans, and this was the perfect hotel. Only 2 miles from the French Quarter, and a half mile from the WWII museum and Confederate Museum. Also bridges on the Garden District, and right on the trolley line for those who are not "fleet of foot." Staff wonderfully friendly and helpful. Quiet, quaint, quirky and historic. We never closed our curtains as the outdoor vines over the windows created the perfect New Orleans atmosphere. Loved the old world flavor, dispensing with the generic hotel chains. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: We were in 2nd floor corner room with 2 double beds, which was quiet, away from both the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clif2nites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us!

We love to hear that our guests had a good time. It is the reason we do what we do.

We do appreciate your honest words, and will strive to make your next stay even better. Contact me personally at 504-521-8000 or gm@avenuegardenhotel.com so I may personally take care of your reservations.


Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Based on previous reviews I was a little apprehensive in choosing this mix of a bed and breakfast/ boutique hotel. Just like most other hotels in NOLA it was a former house converted into hotel. The location is perfect in terms of its proximity to all the attractions to get there by cab in 10 minutes, street car 20 minutes, walking 30 minutes without having to hear/see/smell the biggest touristy areas. I guess it is higher price during Mardi Gras but we paid about $75 a night. We stayed there from Monday until check out Friday morning.

We booked the hotel via Orbitz who of course, takes a small portion to earn a profit which is fine so I believe we got what we paid for.

A word of warning in GENERAL: Check to see what time the main desk CLOSES at night because you obviously won't be able to check in if no one is there. Our flight got delayed so instead of getting to the hotel at 9 pm we arrived closer to 11 pm. Luckily we called to let them know and someone waited for us to open the door. Major pro: The main door is locked and only guests with keys can enter.

There is another Avenue Hotel Plaza on St. Charles Ave. so make sure the taxi drivers don't get confused. From the airport to St. Charles Ave. is $33 and most taxis do take credit card. Our room was on the 2nd floor (room 20) right above the check in office. Right next to our room was a door leading to the outside balcony which was nice. The room was TALL. For a night person like myself, the only negative is that the sun goes through the curtains so it was very bright in the mornings. Tall window/curtains, big enough area for two people, and a fake (kind of ghetto but that's okay) fireplace. It worked and it was really warm. The other heater sometimes worked and sometimes didn't work so it was nice that they had two heaters.

The bathroom was clean but the towel rack was broken. Which really isn't a big deal. They had a hook on the back of the door and one of the rack "knobs" was fine to hang another towel on. The water pressure was GREAT and the temperature was consistent unlike most old homes so again another plus. When you turn on the vent it is a BIG WAVE of heat so use it sparingly. BEWARE THE TOILET: Hold down the handle until all the water is completely flushed because it's weak. The hotel toiletries are small and minimum so make sure to bring your own.

Neighborhood: Not much to see in terms of tourist attractions but the street car is right in front of the hotel and a lot of taxi's come around. The WWII museum and the Ogden Museum of Art is a 10-15 minute walk which is great during good weather. There is a great 24 hour Tavern with good food and funny staff, SLICE pizza RIGHT next door with good pizza and are apparently known for their dessert, The Irish House has a famous chef who won on the tv show "Chopped", another famous restaurant Emiril Delmonico, and the DELICIOUS VooDoo BBQ which was YUMMY. More on those later. Just know you have plenty of food around you.

We checked out at 11 am but our flight didn't leave until 5 pm. We asked first the manager Gillespie the night before if we could leave our luggage and he said yes, and in the morning spoke to Melissa who concurred. Upon leaving we discovered that we may have been accidently double charged on paying for the room which Melissa immediately corrected with sincere apologies. Another staff member had made the mistake Monday evening in charging us again even though Orbitz had already taken out the money. So after quickly fixing that, Melissa took our suitcases to a locked room and we got to wander around New Orleans for a couple more hours free of luggage.

Thanks Avenue Garden, great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us!

We do appreciate your honest words, and will to ensure to strive to make your next stay even better.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Its old, and not remodled like it needs to be for a 119 dollar a Night hotel. Found cockroach in room. Im sorry, Me thinketh they protest too much. Dirty under bed. Just not cleaned well. About three layers of carpet on floor. Doors barely cleared the many carpets. Beds old and lumpy. Unless on weight gaining diet, not breakfast for you. Go to one of close outside restauants. Try the crab benedict at the st charles tavern. Outside area could not be enjoyed because of smokers. One of the good things is its on the trolley lone. Did not drive car for three days. Would not recomend and would not stay. Needs major rennovation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Themenace4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than your expectations. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.

We are bringing exciting new changes to the hotel as we have come under new management. In regards to breakfast, there are new items we will be introducing in the coming months that will expand our breakfast selection. As we are a historic property, sometimes guests that stay with us want the modern hotel experience. We have looked into the issue with housekeeping and although you did feel good enough about our hotel to stay 3 nights even with the listed issues, we have ensured retraining and emphasis on cleanliness is paramount.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@avenuegardenhotel.com or 504-521-8000 if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#89 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Avenue Plaza Resort
#62 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Property: Historic Streetcar Inn
Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing