We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Streetcar Inn
Ranked #138 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The good news: breakfast, nice porch with rockers, small patio, near streetcar and Garden District, helpful staff
The bad news: room small, bed side lamps didn't work, one outlet had tape over it and the other was cracked so plugs would not stay plugged in, sink slow to drain, toilet difficult to flush, black gunk in shower, shower curtain not attached to all rings, no help with luggage
We stayed 4 nights. One day, we received a note telling us there would be limited maid service. We had to get our own towels that day-two bath towels and one wash cloth. We stayed gone from the room as much as possible. Some issues were due to the historic nature of the building, but some, like the bathroom problems seem to be a lack of maintenance.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Historic Streetcar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel was so bad I refused to stay in it. Room smelled horrible ac didn't work well paint coping of the wall in the bathroom. And last but not least no on site parking. When I asked where to park I was told just park of some side street. I said no way look at the neighborhood. Clerk said this is a zero crime rate area. When I look at reviews after returning home I see several complaints about cars being broken in to. Hotel is thirty get from MLK Blvd if that tells you anything.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 other times. Something has changed. The room this time was in need of repairs. Pictures were missing. Holes in the walls. Just needing some tlc. Some things add character, others seem almost neglected. With that said, still love the warm welcome and the location of the hotel. The girls who work the reception area during the afternoon and night are wonderful. The man who checked me out Monday morning was borderline rude. I would stay again but I no longer would recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Handy to Streetcar but shabby and run down. Rooms cramped, smelly and dirty. Bathrooms with broken fixtures and cracked tiles, unsecured toilet seat.. Beds old, linens stained and threadbare. Window coverings stained, mismatched and ill fitting. Airconditioning unit noisy and ineffective. Stairs and floors slope every which way and move with passing traffic (indoors and out). All outdoor areas given over to smokers.

Have had better accommodation in third world countries.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geriatricgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

While one could not fault the location (nor the cost with a discount), the overall character is less than "shabby chic." The facility from the outside has all the gingerbread and charm you should expect from a "bed and breakfast" in New Orleans. The problem is all the rooms are inside and they are older than the city itself. The baths are rust stained, the walls are no longer plastered evenly and the floors don't match anywhere in the building. The rooms I saw were closets or slightly larger. If you go to New Orleans to be a tourist and come back to Streetcar only to sleep, you've found a great place. If you expect more from your lodgings, find a Super 8.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room to up-grade, but don't expect much more square footage.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had high hopes for this property. It is well located and looks lovely on the outside and in common areas. Our room, however, was in poor shape. The room was small, but that is not unusual in older hotels in New Orleans (we come NOLA 3-4 times a year). Our room was seriously dated. The curtains were stapled to the walls. There were several places the paint had to been patched as it was obvious from the mismatched color. The TV was small and older. The bathroom had several patched holes but had not been repainted. The toilet was difficult to flush. The window unit in the room was marked wrong and we had the heat on for several hours before we figured it out.

I now understand the cheap rate. Probably won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelbaddorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Second time around. Lovely staff and they want to be helpful. The property is located well but is older and showing its age. Peeling and damaged walls, tubs and carpets. Lights out, thin sheets and towels, etc. I really want to be nicer. Spend a few dollars owner, it will come back to you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank ChefScott511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#110 of 166 in New Orleans
153 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#82 of 166 in New Orleans
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#114 of 166 in New Orleans
129 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#42 of 166 in New Orleans
792 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#106 of 166 in New Orleans
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4445 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £54 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing