We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Streetcar Inn
Ranked #137 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I checked in this hotel this past Monday(July 14, 2014) thru Tuesday(July 15, 2014). This Hotel is amazing. The Receptionists are cool, food was very convenient, as well as the Street Car stop location.(Get the 3 dollar all day pass) I personal love the historic feel and the rooms smell very nice as well. The price is cheap and the receptionists helped us with everything. I would definitely stay here again as a might of fact, I'm planning for a future trip at this hotel as I speak. I definitely recommend this place as it is cheap, convenient and in a great location.

P.S. The Voodoo Barbecue creates a great aroma while standing outside! :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarvaWilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
If you do choose to come to New Orleans again feel free to contact me directly so I can take care of you personally. You can reach me at 504-521-8000 or gm@historicstreetcarinn.com for any questions or reservations you might need to make.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    146
    82
    71
    87
See reviews for
92
181
49
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. The room reek of mildew, the bedding was soild and stained. The room door opened to the outside was rotting with cracks that you could see through too the outside. The door was not flush with the frame and there was about a inch gab between the door and the ground which led to the outside... bugs and critters could come and go as they pleased. The manage was not helpful at ALL. He simply stated that housekeeping and maintance was gone for the day. It was 3pm in the middle of the day?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I have been waiting for this particular posting as I feel we need to respond directly. When you initially came to our Front Desk to check in, you requested an upgrade for two beds. The reservation made by you was for one bed and you were unhappy we could not accommdate your request. While we strive to provide the best experience for the guests of the Historic Streetcar Inn, we also ensure that all guests are taken into consideration. This was during the time of a major special event in the New Orleans area, and the room type you wanted with two beds was sold out far before the time your reservation was booked. As we could not accommdate your request, you wanted to leave at that time, well before actually taking your room. After this time, you decided to take issue with the room and claim we were deceptive in our business practices. I did go to the room with you to see to the issues you had presented, and stated to you that we were more than willing to change to a room of equivocal value and quality, as well as let you look it over before taking it. I never even got the chance to try to rectify the issues you presented as you left the hotel, and after a time returned only to check out. At this time you once again requested a full refund. As you chose to book over a special event, that required a full prepayment that was nonrefundable, we were simply following the policy that all of our in house guest were asked to adhere. We cannot in all fairness provide a refund when any other guest during this event was also not allowed a refund. At this time it was also stated that if we did not offer an immediate refund, you would place a bad review on Tripadvisor to force us into giving you the refund. As to the guest you claim had bed bugs in the room, no such thing happened and we were not spraying for any pests. This guest never complained of any problems and left the hotel with a great experience. Your claims here are erroneous. I believe that you should receive quality service, it is an obligation we have to all our paying guests. We were not given the chance to try to resolve the situation, and were simply handed an ultimatum on this because honestly, you did not get the two bedded room you requested upon walking in the hotel. I am sorry we could not accommodate you, it is something we greatly regret. I hope you will still consider coming to New Orleans as it is a great city for everyone to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I opted to stay at this hotel due to the hotels being sold out downtown and the hotel location in the Garden District. You get what you pay for here. The location is fantastic and you can hop on the Saint Charles Street car in front of the Inn. The staff was very helpful however the hotel is not simply historic it is run down. The room was small and the television was a big box television with made five channels from the 1980's. The bed was uncomfortable and the furniture looked as if it came from the Salvation Army. If you are simply looking for a place to lay your head without any frills. This is the place for you. If you seeking anything more out of your hotel experience..stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you are on a tight budget then this place would be ideal. The rooms are the most economical in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1TravelingPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, Owner at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
If you do choose to come to New Orleans again feel free to contact me directly so I can take care of you personally. You can reach me at 504-521-8000 or gm@historicstreetcarinn.com for any questions or reservations you might need to make.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is amazing! All you people complaining here is some advice... Stay at a knew hotel! This hotel is from the 1880's!!! It's historical! So it's not going to be perfect but... It's perfect for what it is! It's a perfect location and everything is clean ! We will stay again!! And I'm leaving this comment during my second day stay
(7-2-14) Our house keeper was a sweetheart and professional and so nice! This is a vintage building with amazing ambiance!! I will stay many more times!!
Phillip & Heather Calfy

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherCalfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
If you do choose to come to New Orleans again feel free to contact me directly so I can take care of you personally. You can reach me at 504-521-8000 or gm@historicstreetcarinn.com for any questions or reservations you might need to make.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place is bigger than it appears from the street. There are at least 46 rooms. It is very conveniently located across the street from the streetcar that runs 24 hrs and cost $1.25 to get to the French quarter. You can get a day pass for $3.00. We took the streetcar there, and walked back the 1.4 miles from Bourbon street. There is a nice Irish pub across the street with a terrific bartender, and the Voodoo BBQ next door has daiquiri's to go. There is a pizza place on the other side. This is in an area that appears pretty safe. We did a lot of walking. There are shops up and down the street and bars. The free continental breakfast is nice, lots of pastries to chose from, cereal's, bagel, coffee, hard boiled eggs. Our room was fine, and spacious. There were 3 of us, and we had 2 queen beds. Drawback.... there is a small TV in the room on a little table that only one bed can see. The bathroom was somewhat dated. Our room did not smell, and the AC was ice cold and controlled by a remote. Staff was friendly. Major drawback was the parking. They have none. "You can park on any of the side streets", which we did, and it wasn't a problem other than carrying our bags the block away. This room was approx half the price of rooms in the French quarter. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHgm, General Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to New Orleans. It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
If you do choose to come to New Orleans again feel free to contact me directly so I can take care of you personally. You can reach me at 504-521-8000 or gm@historicstreetcarinn.com for any questions or reservations you might need to make.

Warm regards,

Richard Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The good news: breakfast, nice porch with rockers, small patio, near streetcar and Garden District, helpful staff
The bad news: room small, bed side lamps didn't work, one outlet had tape over it and the other was cracked so plugs would not stay plugged in, sink slow to drain, toilet difficult to flush, black gunk in shower, shower curtain not attached to all rings, no help with luggage
We stayed 4 nights. One day, we received a note telling us there would be limited maid service. We had to get our own towels that day-two bath towels and one wash cloth. We stayed gone from the room as much as possible. Some issues were due to the historic nature of the building, but some, like the bathroom problems seem to be a lack of maintenance.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel was so bad I refused to stay in it. Room smelled horrible ac didn't work well paint coping of the wall in the bathroom. And last but not least no on site parking. When I asked where to park I was told just park of some side street. I said no way look at the neighborhood. Clerk said this is a zero crime rate area. When I look at reviews after returning home I see several complaints about cars being broken in to. Hotel is thirty get from MLK Blvd if that tells you anything.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#112 of 164 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#71 of 164 in New Orleans
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#111 of 164 in New Orleans
842 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#102 of 164 in New Orleans
795 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#110 of 164 in New Orleans
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Streetcar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Property: Historic Streetcar Inn
Address: 1509 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4445 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing