We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return to the Ritz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011


Two of my girlfriends and I recently stayed at the ritz new Orleans for a couple nights on a girls trip before taking off on a cruise. Upon arrival we were enveloped by the luscious scent of gardenia floating through the air and the staff instantly welcomed us with their Southern hospitality. We came in pretty early on a Friday morning and figured we would drop our luggage off until our room was ready so we could walk around and explore. Much to our delight we found our room was ready and we were quickly and smoothly checked in, before 11am. We were a little worried about the room after reading some other reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, very spacious and well appointed room with large windows overlooking New Orleans. The bathroom had a separate toilet area which was great for 3 girls!  The products in the bathroom were not lacking either, they provide q-tips, cotton swabs, makeup remover, mouthwash, shower cap and shower gel, in addition to the typical shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The room did not have a coffee maker. When we called to inquire about this they said it did not come standard in the rooms but that they would be happy to bring one up, complimentary of course! The coffee maker arrived immediately and was delivered in a beautiful wooden box made specially for the coffee maker, these are the details that I would expect from a Ritz, delivered. The staff was phenomenal and treated us very well. The concierge was spot on with dining recommendations which were always fantastic. The lobby and lounging areas were really relaxing and serene and there was plenty of space to find a quiet spot alone or to enjoy a coffee or drink with friends. The only complaint we had was the Internet in the business center which was ridiculously overcharged at around $8 for 15 minutes and a dollar a page to print. The free wireless in the lobby was so slow it was excruciating, and we were never able to hook up to the wifi in our  room because it just wouldn't work. In addition while we did not receive services at the spa we did check it and the fitness center/pool/hot tub area out. The entire spa and fitness center area was very nice. It had small details one would expect and appreciate such as cold cucumber infused hand towels for refreshment and revitalization as well as calming music. The fitness center was pretty big for a hotel in New Orleans where space is a premium. After our cruise when we returned to New Orleans and had a few hours to kill, they let us keep our bags at the Ritz while we made a last trip to the French quarter. This is the kind of thing that is well above and beyond and will not be forgotten. All three of us agreed that this hotel was well worth the price (which by the way was actually quite reasonable and comparable to much lesser hotels in the area) and if any of us return to New Orleans, we all agreed we would be returning to the Ritz

Tip: checkout Bloody Marys Tours for a great time while you are in New Orleans!



  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNandSANDLOVER77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed a girlfriend's getaway and that you were able to fully experience the hotel's amenities. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that the three of you will return annually.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,694 - 2,700 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wonderful customer service! The club level was wonderful, and very friendly. The rooms were nice, not very roomy, but considering the area we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was within walking distance tO everything, very centrally located.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us and we will share your comments with the Club Level Concierge team. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I scheduled a meeting at this hotel property last week and cannot say enough about the condition of the property, excellence of the staff, and sales and catering personnel I worked with when scheduling this meeting. The location is also a huge advantage. It is located 1 block from Bourbon Street and the tour we took picked us up at the door of the Ritz-Carlton. This hotel is only a few blocks from restaurants, shopping and the water. Thumbs way, way up!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our sales and catering team. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will host another event with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Beautiful hotel and, as always, lovely rooms.

m bistro is wonderful- hats off to the chef! However, the concierge service is terrible. Multiple calls in prior to our stay with a return call. Finally, when I was able to get someone on the phone, the concierge, Ryan, was rude and seemed irratated. Not what you expect from The Ritz, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 288AlwaysOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We apologize for the challenges that you experienced. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. We will share your glowing review of M bistro with Chef de Cuisine Emily Dillport. Thank you for helping us and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As you'd expect, superior customer service -- I had let them know it was my first visit, and they left me a great goodie bag of local foods. Convenient location, great bars (it IS New Orleans...). Nice place to be that feels central but not right on Bourbon in the excitement. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Front Office Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are excited that you chose our property for your hotel experience and hope that you will choose to stay with us in future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback about your stay as we continually strive to improve our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The New Orleans Ritz-Carlton is my first choice for business travel in The Big Easy. From the second you enter, you are brought back to a time where luxury and comfort ruled. From the bar to the restaurant, every detail is in place. I love jazz and you get as much as you can handle here. Just a short stroll to all the entertainment New Orleans and the French Quarter has to offer, with a room that offers a peaceful respite. The rooms and amenities match any luxury hotel I've ever stayed. The staff pays attention to your needs and are always friendly and helpful. There is way more to the Ritz-Carlton here in New Orleans. Every time I step in, I know that I am going to be productive with everything I need under one roof. The best place to stay in NO.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaldonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Front Office Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are excited that you chose our property to conduct your business and hope that you will choose to stay with us in future for some R and R. Thank you again for sharing your feedback about your stay as we continually strive to improve our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed in the Club level of this wonderful hotel between Christmas and New Years, 2010. The Club Level truly is a hotel within a hotel. I highly recommend splurging on the club if you stay here.

The hotel is located on the outer edge of the French Quarter. Close enough to walk to everything, yet far enough away so you won't be distracted by noise.

The lobby is a flight up from the street level and actually not easy to find. Getting to the club level from the lobby is another hike.

The main restaurant was just average, in my mind. We ate lunch there twice and were not impressed either time. Very unusual for a Ritz. Service was slow and a burger was prepared so poorly one time, the staff comped it. Speaking of the staff, all were fantastic and had a "Let's make it special" attitude.

We did not drink at the main bar, as the club level has drinks included.

The rooms were nice, but smaller than most Ritz Carltons I've stayed at.

Now on to the Club/Concierge Level. I cannot say enough about the pampering, service, food, friendship of the staff. It was quite clearly the most wonderful hotel experience of my life. From pouring drinks, to making dinner and tour reservations and offering suggestions for spa treatments, the ladies and gentlemen of the club level rocked our universe.

The spa was great, as was the exercise room.

You pay a ton to stay in the club level of the Ritz, but it was a HECK of a vacation!

Room Tip: If you are in the Club Level and request double beds, you will get a handicapped room. There are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,916 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,638 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,628 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £319 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing