We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chateau Orleans(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (3,262)
Filter reviews
3,262 results
Traveller rating
2,024
710
300
161
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,024
710
300
161
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub leveldavenport loungejeremy davenportmaison orleansfrench quartercanal streetlive jazzthird floorbeautiful hotelturn down serviceconcierge serviceluxury hotelbeignetsmardi grasthe location is perfectbourbon sttwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,708 - 2,713 of 3,262 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in September at the beginning of a 6 week drive tour of south, east and north USA. This hotel was the best we stayed in for the whole tour. A beautiful hotel, located in the French Quarter. The Club level is excellent value and is definitely worth the extra dollars. The level of service in this hotel is first class. Can't speak highly enough of it. Many thanks to the management and staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytravelsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Thank you for the glowing review as part of your cross-country journey. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I had posted a previous review about this hotel back in June. In August we stayed on the club level and it was like staying at a different hotel. The club level staff is excellent and attentive. The food presentations are delicious. The rooms are big and real nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowFtLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are pleased to learn that you enjoy our Club Level experience. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

What a great three day weekend. So good, we have already booked another stay - four days this time. We love New Orleans but hadn't been since Katrina. This property is close enough to walk to all of the action in the French Quarter, yet embodies safety features leading to a sense of security. The hotel had everything we needed from jazz to delectable food to total pampering. In fact, we had to pull ourselves away to get out and enjoy offerings of the Quarter. There are classics on the book shelves in the room and I even got a little reading in while hubby watched the Sunday home opener of the Saints.

Now to the real jewel, staying at the Club Concierge level... The service was without comparison. Not in France, Italy, Spain, Turkey, Greece, or the US have we been greeted by such knowledgable and helpful employees. John F. was better than any tour guide as he spoke to the colorful history of New Orleans, Sonja F. had us in stitches as she shared the antics of her wonderful dogs, and Janice H., a New Orleans native explained the then and now of New Orleans over the years. This they did while remaining professional and attentive to all guests, sometimes with repeat stories as they provided service to each table. They can all make spectacular specialty adult drinks, so watch yourself!!

From check-in to check-out, staff was superlative. The front desk folks were very friendly and helpful. Finding your way around the hotel is like getting through a maze. However, there was always a staffer who said follow me. Could this be another security feature?-- like in Greece passages were deliberately that way to keep intruders confused. Overall Super!!

Room Tip: Choose the Club Concierge level, there's no greater experience.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are honored to receive such a glowing review of our service and facilitates and will share your comments with our Club Level Concierges. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I have been to New Orleans about 12 times in the past 12 years. Often we stay at "just a hotel"! That might be a Marriott, a Sheraton or a Courtyard but the Ritz was an experience.
From the check in at the reception desk the staff only wants their guests to be pleased.
Housekeeping was great and the room was furnished and decorated like a home away from home. Howard at the front door was always there and had a smile on his face. Jerry at the Valet was always available to talk to , ask and answer a question and wish you a great day. The club services and the staff was completely outstandingly outstanding. The food, the drink, the selection, the quality the people, the services were phenomenal! I travel and have been on the road in hotels around 70 days year to date this year alone and I will tell you that nothing I have ever experienced with the exception of the Four Seasons Hotel has come close!
Thank you to the staff, the management, the Club team and everyone for making this an absolutely, positively stay and experience to remember!

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for Club Services
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brentef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Thank you for the wonderful review and generous comments. We were delighted to see that Jerry and the Club Level Concierges were of assistance to you during your stay. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that your 72nd stay will be with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I really hate to have such a bad experience at a Ritz Carlton, as I've come to love the brand and level of service at every other property I've stayed at. Unfortunately, this Ritz just didn't live up to its brother and sister properties. That said, lets start with the positives:

-Great Location close to Bourbon street but far enough away not to be in the thick of things.
-Beautiful interior courtyard.
-Comfortable beds!!!

Now, for the bad:

-It was my partner's birthday and I requested a bottle of champagne online the day before we arrived but got no response. At check in I was able to say something to the front desk person who promised a bottle of champagne -- nothing ever came! I called a manager the next day who apologized and asked my partner's name. Later that day we got a bottle of champagne awkwardly handed to us with no note, no use of his name even though they asked.
-LOUD rooms! We could hear ever conversation in the hallway, and unfortunately had a housekeeping staff meeting right outside our room at 9am on a weekend.
-When paying for a five star property, one can expect complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, unfortunately this property charged $4 for a cup of coffee! Outrageous and tacky!

You can do better Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

We regret that your stay was less than memorable and hope to earn back your business. We are sorry that you experienced challenges. Forums such as this allow us to better understand our guest’s needs and work to resolve issues. So, thank you for helping us and please feel free to contact the Front Office Manager at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. 504-524-1331

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews