We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay, But Had Billing Annoyances Afterwards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had six in our party in three rooms for two evenings during Thanksgiving. The room was spacious with very comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Housekeeping was exceptional, and provided additional towels within 5 minutes of our request. The breakfast buffet at M Bistro had a good variety of cheeses, pastries, smoked salmon, fruit and an omlette station. Our server was attentive and had impeccable timing. The front desk staff in general could be friendier and more knowledgeable, but the concierge and doormen were very friendly and provided helpful information.

I noticed billing issues after the stay. My reservation included Breakfast, but I was erronously charged for it. The Accounting department acknowledged the mishap, and they have processed the refund.

Later, I noticed that an additional night of valet parking was incorrectly billed. I have spent 20 minutes on the phone with no resolution. I contacted the front desk, who transfered me an impolite valet attendant - on hold for 8 minutes - who transfered me to the on-duty manager, who researched this charge for 10 minutes, and informed that he recognizes the error, but unfortunately he will be unable to assist me. He recommends contacting the Accounting department in the morning. How inefficient!

It is annoying to have multiple billing problems after a great Thanksgiving holiday with family. I will have to reconsider whether to stay at this particular Ritz Carlton again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzetdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

We regret that your stay was less than memorable and hope to earn back your business. We are truly sorry to learn that you had billing challenges when you were here to enjoy a holiday weekend. Forums such as this allow us to better understand our guest’s needs and work to resolve issues. So, thank you for helping us and please feel free to contact the Front Office Manager at the hotel directly. 504-524-1331 Again, we are very sorry for the billing inaccuracies and hope to earn your business back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,646 - 2,652 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

No reason to go to cafe du monde. The begniets at the ritz are better and come with 3 little sauces to try. Yummy

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeholdDMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Room was elegant and very clean. Turn down service is in the early evening. The service at the Ritz was above and beyond. If we needed an extra towel it was at our door within five minutes. They also have complimentary shoe shines. Concierge was helpful -- got us into a popular restaurant last minute. Hotel is about 2 long blocks away from Bourbon Street, which is nice because you are away from the noise. Although the Ritz was great, next time we want to stay in an old hotel in the heart of the French Quarter to truly experience New Orleans.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauryssa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are delighted to learn that your stay was a memorable one. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return to our city again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

What a beautiful place. The cleanest hotel in my life, with exceptional service. The city with endless things to explore. I had more fun hear than anywhere i have traveled.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans and we hope that you will return to the city again. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for the glowing review and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed for three nights in a suite on bed and breakfast rate.Staff all extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we drove in to the parking area.My wife left her phone in the car and after calling the desk it was in the room within five minutes.The suite according to the bell boy was freshly decorated and it certainly was a very nice room with a large lounge area, a huge bathroom and a very comfortable bed.The room was serviced twice a day and the maids made sure we had plenty of bathroom supplies etc.
The concierge desk was very helpful with maps and directions etc.
The breakfast was excellent each morning, although we did have to wait one morning for 5 minutes while they made a table up.For a large hotel the breakfast area not very big.
I never did understand the breakfast charging although they tried to explain it to me twice, I'd paid for b & b but a small charge was made each morning for breakfast. I guess there must be a limit and we went over it.Anyway the food was plentiful,freshly cooked and very good.Try the New Orleans hash!!
When I got home about two weeks later I had been charged for Room bar items to my credit card which we had not had. I never buy things from hotel room bars,too expensive.
Anyway after I contacted the hotel billing department this charge was refunded to my card with no argument.
A very nice three days in a great city, thank you we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed there nights and never had to ask for anything. Are rooms were very nice with turn down service every night. Had a problem with the light fixtures and maitainence was there to fix it within the hour. The restraunt was lovely and the service there was wonderful. My only complaint was that there was no free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are delighted to learn that our ladies and gentlemen made you feel at home and expedited your requests. We offer free wi-fi in the lobby of the hotel, but not in our guest rooms. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Nice hotel,rooms were very roomy. Housing keeping was alittle lax.Out of our stay of 5 nights our room was never made up and when told lead keeper still wasnt done even though he said it would. Also make sure you ask for additional towels and shampoos. Ok now for the noisy guests. We were on the 11th floor and seemed to be the busiest. From about 12 Midnight till about 4:30am all I heard was people yelling and laughing up and down our hall. Dont know where the secuirty was but guess not around there.
As for the restuaruant on site the food was okay. Very pricey..for ex. 2 egg with toast and potatoes $20. a glass of OJ $6. Also for breakfast there arent that many places to go to for breakfast except IHOP so just keep that in mind. For the most part the hotel was okay would we stay there again not sure.

Room Tip: make sure your room location is not looking at the roof very boring also get a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We regret that your stay was less than memorable and hope to earn back your business. We are truly sorry to learn that you had multiple challenges. Forums such as this allow us to better understand our guest’s needs and work to resolve issues. So, thank you for helping us and please feel free to contact the Front Office Manager at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. 504-524-1331

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,905 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,622 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,050 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £308 - £791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing