We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday overkill?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #20 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

A good hotel -- excellent service -- but a bit too adorned for the holiday -- a Ritz
Carlton should be a bit more refined and subdued, but each morning the hotel seemed to add more decorations and louder music. There needs to be some discretion in a hotel of this caliber.
The hotel must fix its key card system. If your room key goes anywhere near your mobile phone or pda, it deactivates, and while the front desk staff will cheerfully replace it, this process gets tiring after a while.
Had trouble with the room wifi -- and was put on phone with a call center off site. Took an hour or so of prodding to get it fixed. Hotel staff wasn't as helpful as could be -- nor did they check up on progress.
Finally, the hotel has a new ad campaign which they play on the in room television (set during turn down service). The campaign -- which is quite good -- doesn't match the reality of the experience.

Room Tip: if you want a hotel that is easy to navigate around (meaning one elevator bank to go from lobby to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We regret that your stay was less than memorable and hope to earn back your business. We are truly sorry to learn that you had challenges and that we did not live up to your expectations. Forums such as this allow us to better understand our guest’s needs and work to resolve issues. So, thank you for helping us and we will share your comments with our ladies and gentlemen. Please feel free to contact the Front Office Manager at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. 504-524-1331 We hope to earn back your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,635 - 2,641 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

Amazing hotel in an amazing city! Service was top notch which should be @ Ritz Carlton! I was not dissapointed and the food in the hotel was AMAZING! Meeting space was fantastic service as well was amazing! Thank you for the great experience!

Room Tip: Club level rooms a little confusing to get to but AWESOME value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indyfan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are pleased to learn that your stay was a memorable one and that you were able to enjoy the hotel, and our culinary offerings. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stunning- beautiful renovation and exquisite chandeliers. Must stay when you're in new Orleans.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anaussietourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were able to get a great deal on a room here for the weekend from GetARoom.com so we decided to stay at the Ritz. It was a perfect location, just on the edge of the French Quarter, within close walking distance of most of the FQ sites, Harrah's, the river, as well as across the street from the trolley service. The service was fantastic and we enjoyed the later than usual check-out time of noon. The lounge on the 3rd floor offered a great bar and fantastic nightly music. There is also a VIP lounge on the 4th floor that had complimentary breakfast starting at 7am and snacks and drinks (alcohol included) until 10pm. We just asked at the front desk to gain access. The concierge and front desk were very helpful in planning excursions and for directions. The hotel is about 1 block from Bourbon street, but far enough away that it is still very quiet. Our room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable.

Room Tip: A high room on Canal Street offers a great view of the city. Also it was not loud. There is a VIP l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jami674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are pleased to learn that your stay was a memorable one and that you were able to enjoy the hotel and nearby attractions. We wanted to let other reviewers know that The Club Level Lounge is exclusively for guests of that wing of the hotel.
Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Just got back from a quick trip to NOLA to celebrate the anniversary and could not have picked a better place to stay for a romantic getaway.

The highlights - very quiet room (away from the noise on Bourbon St), very comfortable bed, clean restroom, etc. etc. I informed the staff that we were celebrating our anniversary and we were greeted with champagne in our room - very classy touch. Although the flowers I ordered from a local florist arrived about an hour late, everything else was in place for the start of a great weekend.

The spa - no complaints at all. We had a couples massage and we both came away very refreshed and relaxed. The facilities are top rate with plenty of quiet areas to sit and relax, shower, get dressed and be pampered if you are so inclined. We were short on time and did not take advantage of everything that was available to us. If we ever do it again, we will take a few hours and enjoy the facilites more (which they recommended to begin with).

A must do - go to Louisianna Bistro on Daphine street - just a short walk from the hotel. The place is very small and only seats about 30-40 people. However, the food was excellent and a great place to celebrate with a loved one. They offer what is called "Feed Me", which is a chef's selection of whatever he wants to bring you. You choose between 3, 4 or 5 courses and then sit back and enjoy the evening. The chef comes out and explains every course to you and gives you the opportunity to ask how it was prepared. I won't go into detail about the final course that was prepared for us, but it was something I would have never ordered from a menu. However, I ate the entire plate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanoJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your anniversary experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are pleased to learn that your stay was a memorable one and that you were able to enjoy the hotel, the spa and one of the many amazing restaurants that are within walking distance. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return before your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed in the club level. The room showed wear - chipped paint, black in grout lines in the corners of the shower. The window in it was tiny and the view was of a parking garage. However, the common spaces on the club level were very, very nice. There was a never ending quantity of food and limitless liquor. If you're a big drinker (which I'm not) you'll save a ton of money by eating and drinking right there. One concierge wasn't particular helpful until pushed into doing his job. All the other staff I encountered at the hotel was truly wonderful. They make this hotel what it is. The location is great. Using the club level entrance made the hotel smaller, more manageable, less maze-like. The in house entertainment (Jeremy Davenport?) is extremely good. Wish we'd had more time to just stay there and listen to him.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbwstandby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We regret that your stay was less than memorable and hope to earn back your business. We are truly sorry to learn that you had challenges and that we did not live up to your expectations. Forums such as this allow us to better understand our guest’s needs and work to resolve issues. So, thank you for helping us and we will share your comments with our ladies and gentlemen. Please feel free to contact the Front Office Manager at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss any of the issues further. 504-524-1331 We hope to earn back your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The property itself is very aesthetic, with marble floorings in the lobby along with beautifully chiseled chandeliers. The rooms were spacious and clean as you would expect them to be with any Ritz Carlton property. But where this gem of a property shines is it's great location. It's only a short walk to Bourbon Street (two blocks), and a short walk to the Convention Center (three quarters of a mile) at most. We were there at the start to the Christmas season 2011 so the corner of the lobby was dedicated to gingerbread houses, very cool! The lobby was decorated with Christmas lights that made the best house in your neighborhood look unworthy. This property is by far one of the best on Canal Street!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iounodda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitzManagement, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. We are pleased to learn that your stay was a memorable one and that you were able to enjoy the hotel and nearby attractions, including our holiday decorations. We're glad that you enjoyed the amazing gingerbread village that our pastry team created. Your feedback is incredibly important to us as a hotel that prides itself on providing the finest service and facilitates in the city. Thank you for helping us, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,915 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,638 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,628 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £319 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing