We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first Ritz experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #20 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our first Ritz experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was the first time I had stayed at a Ritz Carlton, so I went in with stars in my eyes. In many ways it was everything I hoped for but in a couple ways not what I expected. First there is no shuttle service from the airport. You must use an outside service, which caused a delay in arriving at the hotel and trouble when we checked out. The hotel is about 6 blocks from the French quarter. Not a bad walk but a walk. We stayed club level so we had access to a lounge with snacks all day. Most of this food was good but we were disappointed in the breakfast. The staff would go out of their way to get what you wanted. Our room was great, large bed, lots of pillows, flat screen, and the bathroom was spacious. the only complaint would be for the price, wifi should be complimentary. We also took the advantage of the couples spa package. It was very expensive and the tip had been including. The service was great although I didn't think the pedicure lasted as long as the one I spend $30.00 on at home. Our massage therapist were super and even gave us a gift when they found out it was our anniversary. The staff was friendly and helpful in every part of the hotel. For us, this was a special occasion splurge, and I was very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the atrium would be a better view other than that not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,610
    616
    253
    126
    55
See reviews for
388
1,015
79
696
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Well I was in NOLA last saturday to watch Saints play at super dome . I stayed at Ritz, it was our first stay at Ritz, and we liked it. Valet was perfect but expensive as like in any other big hotel,the service at the check in was fast and easy. The room was quite big and beds were very comfortable ,kids enjoyed the Tv, and late night pizza in the room. The courtyard was very nice and we enjoyed our evening drinks there, breakfast was excellent . As everybody says the location is perfect, right in the middle of action and yet so far once you are inside the hotel. I have stayed almost in every hotel in NO and this was the best. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Corner room and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Friends and I spent last weekend there to celebrate our 50th birthdays. We got a special deal through Snique Away. The rooms were beautiful, spotless, and more than comfortable. Howard greeted us as we arrived and each time thereafter when we used the elevators to leave or enter the hotel. If fact virtually each and every employee we encountered greeted us!

After a long day of walking in the Frech Quarter, we visited the Davenport Lounge for a cold drink. At first no one acknowledged us but finally, Marc Roberson did and spent the afternoon catering to us. He made us feel special and appreciated. He even made us special birthday cake cocktails!!! He was so much fun. If you ever visit the Davenport, ask specifically for Marc. You will not be disappointed.

The rooms were so well appointed and comfortable. I got the very best night's sleep on the bed in my room. When we were away for dinner, the maid turned down the covers and left me chocolates and filled my ice bucket!

Although you can hear some street/courtyard noise in your room, I was so tired and full from dinner that I went right to sleep (I was on the fifth floor). But ask for a room higher up if you're a light sleeper.

There was high priced water available in the room, but also a couple of bottles of complimentary water as well. Most appreciated when venturing out into the New Orleans weather!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. And I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Although check-in time is after 4PM, we arrived before lunch and were able to check in right away. That was unexpected and most appreciated!

Room Tip: I did not use the spa or have any meals at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My son and daughter-in-law stayed at The Ritz-Carlton for their 1st anniversary. I noticed a conscientious manager replying to concerns of trip advisor patrons and decided to contact him. Matt Helm was very nice over the phone and promised he would take care of them.
Much to my surprise they were placed on the Club Level. I can't thank Mr. Helm enough for going beyond the call of his normal duties to make this trip so special. It is management like this that brings customers back and gets new ones by word of mouth. Hats off to Matt Helm for a job well done.

Room Tip: Management still looks out for the customer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just average for a Ritz Carlton.

Service OK.

Rooms well appointed.

I stayed in one of their club/executive rooms - nice evening drinks and snacks in the executive/club lounge.

Very convenient location for the major attractions and a short walk from the convention centre.

Nice internal courtyard. Didn't eat at any restaurants at the hotel but room service was good.

Overall I would stay again if the rates are competivie - I had managed to get a very good rate for the club room especially given each hotel was pumping up prices for the convention that was on.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFRF6875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Loved the Ritz.............another very nice property as usual. The service at every level and location at the hotel was excellent! I do have a beef...........we paid an extraordinary amount for valet parking for less than the 24 hours we were there. So, WARNING, don't use the valet parking if possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

As usual, I was there for a festival weekend while New Orleans was busting at the seams with tourist. The superb service is never ending at The Ritz Carlton New Orleans. All the noise and chaos of the French Quarters is erased the second you step through the doors and we were able to instantly relax. The lobby lounge service staff was personable and friendly. We spent an entire afternoon there people watching. The room contained 2 king size beds and remained very spacious. I've stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. I will continue to stay at this hotel during my New Orleans visits.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunkissed1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,913 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Marriott, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing