We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at the Ritz - Nola!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were very excited about our upcoming stay at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans and were not disappointed! This property is everything you would expect from a Ritz and more. Sophisticated setting, hip clientele, artwork throughout the hotel, inviting sitting areas and exceptional service. It really started from the moment we arrived and until we begrudgingly departed. This hotel is beautiful! We loved the courtyard, library, bar, spa and lobby. Furthermore, there is this sweet aroma throughout the lobby from the scented candles lit everywhere on the third level. My wife liked it so much, she bought three of them from the gift shop to take home. Btw...reception is on the third floor away from the street level. The bar and Davenport Lounge were also great with cool cocktails and live jazz music until 9:00PM Su-Thu and 1:00AM on the weekends. It was very lively each night we were there. The location is awesome too! It is in the fringe of the French Quarter and 1.5 blocks from Bourbon Street and it's craziness (tip, exit through the back of the property near the spa on the lower level and you will be on Iberville Street right in the French Quarter). We also felt very safe there because you needed your key card to go to your room via the elevators and it was a perfect sanctuary when you were done howling in Nawlins! Now to our room, it was awesome with comfy bedding, stylish furniture, great view from the 12th floor and amazing bathroom with marbled floor. So cush and elegant, the only way to crash while in New Orleans. All the staff from the valet, doorman, front desk personnel, bell men, coffee guy, waitress, bartender and maids were attentive, professional, friendly and perfect. I did not touch any of our luggage the whole time we were there. It seems there someone in the mornings whose sole purpose was to smile and wish everyone a good morning and great day! Nice touch. Also, when we told the bell man who handled our bags at check in that we were only interested in local, regional establushments that locals patronize, the suggestions he provided were on point. This included the incredible Willie Mae's Scotch House in the Treme section of Nola for the most delectable and authentic fried chicken you will ever have.

Although I give this property 5 stars, there are two constructive things I am compelled to mention. We were looking for a good city tour and the concierge recommended VIP tours that picks up at the hotel three times daily. We trusted his recommendation and reserved the 3:30 tour. The van did not arrive until almost 3:45 and the doorman told us it is not uncommon for the van to be 30 mins late because he is picking up people from up to 10 other hotels. Furthermore, the driver did say a word or start the tour until everyone was picked up and this took up to 30 minutes as well. When the tour finally started, the driver spoke VERY fast and mumbled a lot and I had trouble understanding him throughout tour. It was pricey and not worth the $135.00 he charged for the 3 of us. Although this is not directly the fault of the Ritz Carlton, you would expect that they would partner with tour companies that provide the same level of service clientele of the Ritz are accustomed too. Lastly, overnight valet parking is $40 per night which is frankly outrageous for just parking your car. There are offsite parking options literally 1/2 block from the property for about $25.00 - $30.00 per night. I actually found covered parking about 2 blocks from the hotel on North Rampart Street for $17.00 per night (cash only in advance). The street was a little sketchy but totally fine during the day (hey, it is New Orleans!!). I parked my car there for 3 nights and had in/out privileges with no issues whatsoever.

Aside from those two small factors, our overall experience was outstanding and we can't wait to return there the next time we are in New Orleans. Super luxurious, elegant and convenient...Fantastic!!

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor above 10 for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrippers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,059 - 2,065 of 3,121 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Beautiful rooms. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans has a lot of great spaces to just relax or get some work done like the Library or the Courtyard. Walking distance to shopping, sightseeing, restaurants and bars. Great gym with cardio and workout room.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a room that looked over Canal Street so the noise never bothered us. The service was impeccable at every level; everyone was unfailingly polite. The parking valets suggested good restaurants and the breakfast servers called my room when I left my pillbox at the table. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great check in experience and good service. The room was comfortable but the best part was the view of the Mississippi. Many of the courtyard rooms look out on the river and it is conveniently located to everything. This hotel aims to please and it shows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I chose to stay at the Ritz on my trip to New Orleans with my fiancé because of its proximity to Bourbon Street. It was about two blocks over, making it easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel itself was gorgeous, the staff was courteous and the rooms were very nice and super clean. I loved how they had the open air courtyard as well. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeabeeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Staying at a Ritz is always a pleasure. The Canal Street, New Orleans location is no exception. Impeccable staff, they always greet you by name on check-in, free ice-cold water after a run (really nice in hot, humid NOLA). The rooms are nice & big. Really nice, period styled bathroom. However, the place could use a freshen-up. The carpet in the hallways was worn: overall seemed just a little dingy. Great location on Canal, just steps from Bourbon Street & the French Quarter. The Garden District cable car is also just steps away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Quick easy check in. Staff was amazing and very hospitable. They catered to our every need. We were craving fried oreos, and when the concierge could not find any for us he had the chef make them for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,650 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,703 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £211 - £723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing