We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice anniversary despite bad weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice anniversary despite bad weather”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We decided to celebrate our anniversary in New Orleans at the ritz. We used a complimentary upgrade to the club level using our rewards credit card. Check in was easy. Got to our room with a view of a rooftop. So much for complimentary view upgrades...the club rooms have just been updated ad are nice featuring hardwood floors. The club offers food servings almost all day until 10:00pm. The food was very good with many options for vegetarians. Free wine, beer, cocktails and bottles of water.

While everyone is nice, the service was lacking. One example. We got back to our room one day around 5:00pm and the room was not clean. A call to guest services was placed to request service. When we returned to the room a couple hours later, the maid had been there, taken our soap and towels and left no replacements. Another call to guest services where Tim was very understanding. We left again and we got back, still no towels or soap. Another call to Tim and he personally delivered the towels and soap. He comped our room for one night for our inconvenience which was very nice. However, it should not be that hard.

On a positive note, both Sylvia and Madeline in the club lounge went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Sonja went downstairs to get gumbo for my husband when she heard we were leaving and had not had a chance to try it. That is service above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,747
    655
    269
    139
    55
See reviews for
418
1,090
83
768
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

An older building in an older city... the Ritz fits in well in a city of average hotels. A beautiful structure overall, it's amenities are lacking versus other properties across the country. My personal favorite parts of the hotel were the lobby, the piano bar and entertainment options, and the concierge service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadaevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maumee, oh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The best part was checking in, no wait, perhaps checking out was even more enjoyable.
First of all, this is a beautiful hotel, well situated two blocks from Bourbon Street. Rooms are superior, beds excellent and public areas attractive.
As far as delivering services or meals or dealing with business client needs, this property gets a big fail.
Complaint one is breakfast. If you find yourself here, please remember there is an IHOP next door. Go there, the food is far better.
Coffee, if you can call it that, is terrible. This is a big issue with me.
Food is overpriced with most "plans" not inclusive of breakfast which is barely "boot camp" quality. I don't think the scrambled eggs were powdered but they could have been. Breakfast sausage was refrigerated and reheated.
Coffee was awful. Orange juice OK but pulp free.
Hotel staff, on the whole, didn't really mind having guests in their way. They only expressed minor inconvenience.
I used conference rooms for two days. Expense was considerable.
One day they decided we didn't need chairs.
Coffee service, quite costly, included, at least one day, several stale cookies to go with the watery coffee that wasn't replaced when depleted.
There was no one to help with luggage or get the door, the basic arrival at the "Ritz" was pure "Motel 6."
There are better and cheaper hotels. Use them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Location - on Canal very near Bourbon street (but not so close that i could ever hear any noise) and a short walk to some amazing restaurants in the central business district.
Hotel - lobby is nice, fresh flowers help it smell amazing. From the street you come in and take elevators up the lobby then a 2nd set of elevators to the rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. The courtyard is pretty and a nice, quite place to spend some time.
Room was spacious. Bathroom was nice (not their fault that someone did something to stain the pretty carrara marble :(). Plenty of room near the sink for stuff - i appreciate this.
We didn't try any food or drink while staying there (too many great place to eat and drink elsewhere!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

You walk anywhere in the French Quarter from this hotel. Easy access by car along Canal st. Elegant rooms, comfy beds and good location. The rates were also not unreasonable. If you want great food and good bands, they are just a few minutes walk from this great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIslandHungryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksville, LA
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our anniversary in "Maison Orleans" section or the club level….had a great stay…room was very homey to say the least. Drinks and appetizers were served and staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. Felt very spoiled…. I would love to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had a wonderful four day stay at the Ritz in June 2013. I was in need of some pampering at the time and this was the perfect spot to relax. The room was lovely with a nice view of the interior courtyard. The staff was great. I loved just hanging out in the courtyard with my morning coffee or later in the day for a cocktail. Great location for exploring the French Quarter and Arts District. Wonderful spa as well. My only complaint is that there is no outdoor pool with this property. Will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: I like the interior rooms overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,638 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,463 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing