We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz Carlton Meets Bourbon Street - Great Spot to Be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #20 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We go to New Orleans for the culture, but when it comes to service, the New Orleans culture doesn't work. The New Orleans Ritz makes an interesting cross between being in New Orleans, but still having those hotel features we love. As always, I booked the Club Level. For the extra money, you will eat much better and healthier food, and in the end you will thank yourself. The hotel itself is just far enough and close enough to the French Quarter that you can walk, but when in the hotel, you are well away from the crowds and noise. In addition to the food, the rooms are nice and reasonably sized, with the good bedding, good service, and ambiance you expect from a Ritz. The hotel is actually two buildings that have been joined, so there is a little learning curve to the elevators that get you to the Club Level. There is a small pool with a single swimming jet, but it is possible to cool off, and there is a whirlpool as well. Certain rooms have a much better view, so ask. It is New Orleans, so confirm and re-confirm your reservation, and be sure to let them know if you need an early or late check in. Unbelievably, New Orleans gets even better all the time, so this is a can't lose proposition. The City is very tight for hotel space, and the Ritz is certainly on the short list of top hotels.

Room Tip: Ask about the view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,979)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,733 - 1,739 of 2,979 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is lovely but a little confusing. The lobby is on the 3rd floor and if you don't know that you can get a little turned around on the first floor. Once you get to the lobby it is beautiful. There is an open courtyard off the lobby which is a fantastic place to have drinks and just relax. Very old school. The library, also off the lobby, seemed to be used only by me.

The rooms are very spacious and nicely appointed. The hallway seemed a little worn but my room looked more in keeping with the Ritz. The room was very clean, had plenty space to spread out to work or sit and read. The bathroom was also clean and bright but the shower was a bit weak. I know that rainforest shower heads are the rage but this one was even less powerful than most.

While the furnishing reflect a certain standard, it is the staff that makes this hotel -- courteous, courtly, impeccable and professional. I find myself continually amazed at the high standards and dedication of the hotel staff. From the bellmen to the front desk to the room attendants to the bar staff to the convention staff -- each one displayed an enthusiasm for their job and a genuine affection for the guests. The building is lovely but the staff is the real treasure of this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel was as you would expect for a Ritz except for the noise. We were on the third floor on Canal Street. During the day, it seemed quiet enough but we were woken up many times by car alarms, horns, etc. Overall, would I stay again, absolutely.

Room Tip: Avoid the Canal Street Rooms -- too noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JibCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It is well-located on Canal, on the edge of the French Quarter. The hotel was once a grand department store in New Orleans and it has been nicely redone. Public areas are airy and the interior courtyard is a good place to relax. But, for the price of the room, you would expect a coffee pot in the room or complimentary coffee in the lobby. Isn't that pretty standard nowadays?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Scott46,

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our location and the courtyard area. Thank you for sharing this information with the Trip Advisor community. I agree that the courtyard makes for a great place to relax. For future reservations with us, please feel free to let any of our Ladies and Gentlemen know you would like a coffee service in your room and we would be happy provide one complimentary for you or any of our guests. This service will be installed in all of our guestrooms in 2015. I am sorry you were unable to enjoy a nice cup of coffee in your room during your recent visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further.

Best Regards,
Jim Oliver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We love Ritz properties, but this is the first one I've given less than 5 stars. It's a lovely historic property on the front edge of the Quarter, with the usual understated elegance that marks a Ritz. Its common areas are beautifully appointed and the interior courtyard is a lovely place for an afternoon drink before (or am after) the frenzy of the French Quarter. Lovely bar, great spa. But I was disappointed in the little things overlooked in our room --- baseboards that needed painting, grout that should been replaced in the bathroom, and forgotten towels after we had to request to have our room cleaned. I don't expect any of this to happen in a R-C property.

That being said, would I give it another chance? Yes.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Ritz Carlton's I've been to rarely disappoint and this property is no exception. Great location with the easy ability to walk anywhere you like, amazing room service, well appointed and clean rooms, an absolutely gorgeous garden courtyard located several stories up from the ground floor and in the center of the building, as well as an accommodating staff. Having said that, for our stay we were rarely in our hotel as we attended several events as well as French Qtr fest so the price $300+ per nt was a bit steep for this kind of trip but I'm sure it was because of the weekend we were there and like I said, great place and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geckoroxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went for a quick visit to New Orleans, in on Friday night and out Sunday night. On two seperate occassions out of three the service in the lounge/restaurant was deplorable. It took over 40 minutes to get our food both times and then it took another 1/2 hour to get our bills. Apparently due to heavy rain staff had called off. A manager did take care of some of our bills, but you should expect more from the Ritz. As other reviewers have noted, three towels in a bathroom is less than a Fairfield gives you. There are also two elevators to use to get to the street, its not convenient and during peak periods the wait is long. The entrance into the valet area is crammed with cars and taxis. The good things. The spa is gorgeous, the work out facility is beautiful and there is a resistance pool for working out. The staff was friendly, location was great, the hotel is beautiful and clean, but again this is an average hotel for a Ritz and below average for any Marriott or Hyatt in regards to service. I am not sure I would come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busyasabeeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear busyasabeeMichigan,

I am sorry to hear that your experience in the lounge was lessened by the wait times you experienced not once, but twice. Please know there is no excuse for poor service and this issue is being addressed.

I am glad to hear that you loved our recently enhanced fitness center, enjoyed using the resistance pool, and felt our Ladies and Gentlemen were very friendly.

Again please accept my sincere apology for your inconvenience. Thank you for joining us and sharing your feedback.


Best Regards,
Jim Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £197 - £616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing