We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Times in NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From arrival to departure, this hotel pulled out all the stops. Every staff member was friendly, courteous, kind and helpful. The hotel was filled to capacity with several events taking place in the hotel at the same time, yet every guest received great care and attention. Convenient and easy to reach from airport and other venues.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inward to the beautiful garden were quiet. Rooms facing the street have a fun vibe.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JET123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,981)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,728 - 1,734 of 2,981 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel itself was placed in the most perfect location, right on Canal Street and within walking distance to almost everything. Other major attractions were a short cab/bus ride away. Easily accessable city, absolutely the most friendliest people you'll meet (locals/tourists) and the hotel staff were wonderful as well. We were upgraded on arrival to a Club Level room which was amazing, it offered complimentary drinks, cocktails, and canapes throughout the day- great value if you've booked into Club. The beds were fantastic, very comfortable, ampel closet space, clean, great bathrooms and amenities. The courtyard was gorgeous, quiet and perfect for relaxing outdoors. They have a small indoor pool which we used as well. Never used the spa services but the spa area was very nice. The staff were also helpful in recommending places to see, things to do and where to eat. It was a great experience to say the least and I went back the following year for Mardi Gras. - It won't be the last. I LOVE New Orleans!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalpyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Ritz-Carlton in New Orleans is an absolutely beautiful hotel with fantastic service and everything you'd expect from a Ritz-Carlton. This being said I doubt I'll be back as hotels at least the equal of the Ritz are in better locations and don't act like the car is being parked by angels on a cloud.

The positives: beautiful rooms (this is NOT an old hotel, don't let anyone tell you that, it was an office building until completely renovated and opened as the Ritz in October, 2000), beautiful lobby, quiet side rooms, great bar and restaurant that really do reflect the style of the city. The rooms are beautiful, immaculate, and appear to be of a bygone era. We had a quiet night in a crowded hotel - something that can't be said of every hotel.

The neutral: Smoking. The employees smoke in the kitchens (as they were when we were waiting for our room to be ready, the smoke rolling into the library room, causing us to leave and demonstrating why no one in the very crowded hotel was in there). Our room wasn't ready when we checked in but they called within the hour and a room was ready to go. I'm still unimpressed with the Ritz never seeming to have my Marriott number in my reservations even though I stay at their hotels on a monthly basis, but I'll survive.

The negatives: I would rate this property as excellent except for the fact that they charge $51 for valet parking - absurd for New Orleans - and don't seem to do much about the bums and drunks that hang around the entrance. Walking up Canal Street is unpleasant to begin with, and the Ritz is 9 blocks up Canal from the river. Perhaps it being too close to Bourbon or just too far up Canal makes it about a block beyond where you want to be. I just don't like walking the gauntlet of bums and drunks to get to the door.

Conclusion: Stay further down Canal (the Marriott, the JW, etc.) that just don't seem to have the problem with the location, and no one charges parking fees like the Ritz. If you want to stay here you can park 50 feet behind for $25 in a garage just as filthy with cars jammed just as close to each other.

Room Tip: 8th floor rooms are nice, we were in 807.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOliver-GM, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Bradley A,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the price of parking was too high. Please know that we review our pricing with other hotels and try to remain competitive. For future reservations with us, please feel free touch base with the executive office prior to your arrival and we will make sure your Rewards number is added to your reservation properly.

I am very happy to learn that you really did enjoy our quiet rooms in a busy city, the beautiful lobby, and the fabulous M Bistro and Davenport Lounge.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. We do look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Jim Oliver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a lovely older hotel that is within walking distance of everything you might want to see in the French Quarter. The bathrooms (especially water pressure) and technical amenities are what you might expect to find in an older hotel but, the courtyard for drinks was lovely and the staff were very accommodating and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsnobmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived at the busiest time of day last Sunday. Valet and Bell Service was flawless as always. (I usually hate to leave my car with a valet, but I have had such great experiences with this hotel's Valet service that I took my new car as opposed to my oldest car, as I would to most hotels.

The hotel had made a small mistake. I have a severe down allergy, and the room numbers were confused and our room had down. I immediately went downstairs, and they remedied the situation and offered me an appetizer or drinks while the housekeeping staff was changing things out. I declined, but thanked them. The situation was remedied quickly.

Very rarely do I need to use the Concierge. On this trip I discovered that the NOWFE was starting the day that we were supposed to leave. There was two events that I really wanted to attend. The problem was that one was sold out. Rudy, came through, and got tickets to Vinola for us. It made our trip. We were able to extend our stay by two days to attend.

Another very impressive thing, especially if you travel often and have ever misplaced anything. My companion left his MacBook downstairs in a public area. He realized it the next day. He was sure it was gone forever. I went down the the front desk, identified it, and they had it in the safe, secure. How often does that happen even in the best of hotels?

I was very impressed with how quickly I could call down and get the car when I wanted it. Also, with the check out process.

This stay started with a small hiccup, but ended up being one of the best hotel stays of my life.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are very quiet. Although all rooms are very quiet by New Orleans Standar...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annakay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions. After our last stay I was convinced we would be going elsewhere this time, but decided to give it one more try. The staff is incredible, especially the doormen and valets. Even with all of the guests at the hotel (and it was a busy festival weekend) they never failed to remember which vehicle was ours or, even more impressively, remember our names. The rooms are very nice, but be aware that with suites there is a lot of variability even among the same suite type. The hotel is beautiful with a great location walking distance to many attractions. Having food or drinks in the courtyard was always a pleasure. The only downsides to this trip were difficulties again with getting the type of room we had booked (after having specifically called in advance to clarify as every year the same thing has happened) and room services inability to get an order right. In the grand scheme of things, not the end of the world, just a small inconvenience.

We are repeat customers, and we will likely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, preferably away from Canal Street, especially if it is a festival weekend. Th...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton in New Orleans... service was spectacular, wonderful overall experience, staff is so pleasant and welcoming. Along with a celebrity sighting, it was perfect. I asked the staff on the day of my departure about the lovely scent throughout the entire hotel and I was told "gardenia candles burn throughout the hotel".... and were available for purchase in the gift shop. Unfortunately, the morning of my departure I was leaving prior to the gift shop opening and Pierre offered to open the gift shop and have ready at the front desk as I as scurrying to get a taxi and head to the airport. As soon as I arrived at the desk, he had it ready to go, packaged perfectly. Thank you to the entire staff and to Pierre for raising the bar with exceptional service. I know have that lovely scent in my very own home. Thank you!

Room Tip: higher floor, absolutely quiet!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £210 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing