We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Top Quality Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Ranked #19 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Top Quality Hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

After a bad stay at another hotel we switched to the Ritz Carlton New Orleans and loved it! We were traveling with our small dog and the Ritz Carlton chain is pet friendly with a $150 nonrefundable fee. We've never been to a Ritz Carlton before so we had no preconceived notion of what to expect.

The hotel is all valet at about $36 per day. The hotel was easy to find. We loaded our bags on to a cart but a valet parked the car and a bellhop brought our bags to the room in a timely manner (about 10-15 minutes). Check-in was very fast and the lobby smells wonderful with these amazing candles. We bought 2 in the gift shop prior to our departure ($24 each). Everyone fussed over our little dog. When we got to our room, the housekeeping was already doing the turn-down service. The turn-down service consists of a mini bottled water with a glass, removal of the cover throw and accent pillows, turning down the bed sheets, and 2 chocolates. Our room was on the interior side which I liked based on previous reviews about road noise. We only had 1 wall that attached to another room so it was extremely quiet. Probably the most quiet hotel I've ever been to. We were in search of a good comforter and liked theirs so much that we purchased it!

We visited the concierge multiple times throughout the trip and he was extremely helpful with finding excellent restaurants. One day when we had some time to kill, he sent us to the WWII museum. We ate at the Ritz restaurant one night. For an upscale restaurant, I'd give it 4 out of 5 stars. The location is great, 2 blocks to Bourbon Street and 1 mile to Cafe du Monde.

My fiance visited the spa and received the Magnolia scrub and a facial ($150 each). It was a little too expensive for my taste but I was amazed by the large selection of choices. He loved the Magnolia scrub but didn't enjoy the facial. Not that it wasn't good, just not something he was in to.

Overall, it's a great hotel and we're already planning on weekend trips to this hotel.

My cons would be that there is no good place for your dog to releive his/herself. The closest grass is 2 blocks away and is the median in the middle of the street near a bus stop. It's not the best place at night and my dog could rarely make it the full 2 blocks. But let's face it, she's not the only one peeing on the sidewalks of New Orleans. This isn't a real con since it doesn't affect most people.

My other con would be the elevators. You can't just go straight from the rooms to the ground level. You have to take one elevator to the lobby, walk through the lobby to the other side, and then take another elevator the rest of the way down. The good side is that it discourages people who don't have rooms at the hotel from going up to the room levels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSince1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    614
    251
    126
    55
See reviews for
388
1,009
79
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The recently remodeled Ritz was very nice. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My husband surprised me with a night at the Ritz, just because. We live in New Orleans, but we really did not know what to expect. Well, the hotel and rooms are beautfiul. The bellman could not have been any nicer. We had no trouble with the valet parking. The only minor complaint would be the Melange Restaurant. We decided to eat here for breakfast. We were told there were no tables. We were told that we had to eat in the bar area, which we chose to do. It was a buffet, but no one told us the price or that we had a choice between just breakfast or brunch. Brunch was at a much higher price and included chicken, rice and ravioli. The food was cold on the buffet and it took forever to get a refill on our drinks. I think the restaurant must have been understaffed for a Sunday morning. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would recommend the Ritz to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busedteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

What a place!! Big quite room, great bed, giant flat screen TV, big bathroom and all very nicely appointed. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Bourbon Street is right there too - so a very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echolake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This was my first time at the New Orleans Ritz. The service was impeccable. The room (standard king) was super clean and spacious. My room was on the Bourbon street side of the building (11th floor) and although you could hear some noise from outside, it was minimal. The bed was super comfortable and the bathrooms are large (with Bulgari amenities).
Coming back to this hotel was a great respite from the heat and clamor of the Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTour77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton March 26-27th. On the evening of the 27th half of the French Quarter lost electricity due to a transformer fire (not the Ritz's fault or under their control). The Ritz was incredibly accomodating to this problem.

The provided free sodas and water throughout the hotel; had backup generators running the elevators and hallway lights; provided as many flashlights and glowsticks as you needed; and of course did not charge you if you decided to spend the night when they didn't have electricity.

I was incredibly impressed with their preparation for an "event" such as this.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikahDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I was treated like royalty by each and every member of the club floor staff!! Best bloody mary I have ever had. Food and wine presentations were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank we3kingsKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
1,592 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
Address: 921 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creating memories within the historic 1908 Beaux Arts Maison Blanche building, The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans retains the grace and charm of an antebellum mansion. Guests of our French Quarter hotel have the honor of resting near popular area attractions, including Bourbon Street, but can also experience local traditions in our Courtyard, which hosts special events with our Crawfish Concierge, Snowball Sommelier and Oyster Butler. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans offers a peaceful retreat with feature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Ritz Carlton
Ritz New Orleans
Ritz Carlton New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing