We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic New Orleans B&B”
Review of Rathbone Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathbone Mansions
Ranked #29 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My Dad, three sisters and I just spent four nights at the Rathbone Mansion.
From the time we arrived, Pat was friendly, helpful and generous. The two rooms we occupied were "authentic" of the older houses in New Orleans. The floors were slanted, the shutters crooked and the bathrooms small but all that added up to charm rather than housekeeping issues. Tanya and Pat shared breakfast duties and the meals were great. Some mornings, the breakfast was "cooked to order" based on your tastes. We would stay there again and enjoy the B&B as well as everything Pat and her staff offers and the great location.

Room Tip: We occupied two rooms one of which was the Louis Armstrong room which was great with a large sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mchayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I must say the place is very unique, the breakfast is fantastic, the rooms could use a little more house keeping, floors were dirty, I saw a dime in plain view beside the bed. I felt like I had to wear something on my feet to go to the bathroom. There should be instructions on how the shower works in 303. The slightest movement in bed caused it to creak pretty annoying if you're a restless sleeper

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank chiphazurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It was different than hotel,very old place with tropical garden.We like the brekfast in the dining room ,furnished nicely like home .Pool is small but was ok.Hot tub out of service.They have to clean the outside near the pool,some mess.Room was nice size,bathroom little moldy.The area is nice ,safe,walking distance to French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask about the room in the main building ,where is the pool and they serve the brekfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basik60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights over Halloween. Both locations were decorated inside and out - I especially loved the legs of the Wicked Witch wearing ruby slippers sticking out from the sofa in the main building! Tanya cooked an awesome hot breakfast each morning. Because I don't heat meat, she offered to make me scrambled eggs instead for the morning where breakfast was an egg souffle that contained sausage. Pat (the manager) is a hoot! All staff were very friendly and took good care of us. A wonderful surprise was finding "goodie bags" filled with candy on our pillows on Halloween. Our room was in the building across the street. It was spacious and included a refrigerator and microwave, which was very handy to have. Although in an older building, it clearly had updated mattresses and bedding. The shower was small but it worked fine for us! Although the pool and hot tub were out of order and actively being serviced while we were there, we wouldn't have had time to enjoy them even if they were functional as there is way too much to do in NOLA! Rathbone Mansions' location is excellent - close enough for a short walk to the action of the French Quarter and Frenchman Street but far enough that it was quiet at night for sleep. A perfectly safe neighborhood to walk day or night. I highly recommend staying at Rathbone Mansions in NOLA!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejwyndham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was my fourth time in New Orleans. My boyfriend and I stayed at Rathbone for 5 nights and it was fantastic. Something completely different from the regular hotels that we've stayed at in New Orleans before, but it was exactly what we were looking for this time around. The location was great on Esplanade. Far enough from the craziness on bourbon street, but close enough to walk to, and close to both Frenchman and Decatur street, which was where we spent most of our time hanging out. The hotel has two locations across the street from eachother, both are beautiful old houses with lots of quirks and charm. Pat, the innkeeper and her staff were amazing. Pat cooks a different breakfast every morning (sausage with biscuits and gravy, french toast with berries, grits...omg!) to serve along the standard continental breakfast. She is hysterical and extremely warm and hospitable. We had tickets to a Saints game and when we asked her the best way to get there, she offered for us to share a cab with her because she was going too! Awesome! I could go on about how great everything at Rathbone was, but I think everyone should experience it for themselves. We would love to stay here again. Thank you Pat and Staff for making us feel at home in the real New Orleans! Who Dat!

Room Tip: pool, hot tub and breakfast is at the main house on 1244 Esplanade. dont expect an elevator in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaleenaGarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We visited Rathbone for 3 nights with another couple in October, 2013. It is an older place converted to allow a separate entrance for every guest room. Our room was #2 and it was clean and a decent size. It had its' own bathroom. There was a pool and hot tub in the back but the hot tub was out of service. Each morning, breakfast is available in the main building ( there are 2 buildings, 1 is across the street from the main one). The breakfast is great. There is a wide variety available and they cook a different special every day. This property is about a 15 minute walk from the "action" on Bourbon St but that was fine with us. Overall, this was a great place to visit and they take good care of you. If you like fancy hotels and all the amenities, this is not for you. We wanted to experience NOLA and found this to be a great option. Go here with an open mind and take in more of the true New Orleans than staying in a high rise hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building as that is where the breakfast and pool are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmoynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This place is amazing! Here's how it went down:

When we checked in, we were told we'd be staying at the sister property across the street. Once we climbed the first loooooong flight of stairs, we realized we'd be on the THIRD floor. As we were carrying our bags up the SECOND loooooong flight of stairs, I decided I'd ask them to move us to a lower floor. THEN I SAW THE ROOM!!! Suite is a more accurate description. Two bedrooms, lovely dining area in our kitchen which had a fridge, microwave, sink and cabinets. Beautiful bathroom with claw-foot tub and our own private balcony! Let's just say that room was totally worth two big flights of stairs, even after nights out in the French Quarter.

Breakfast was divine! If you visit, you should hope Tanya is making banana pancakes. YUMMM!!! Community Coffee, dark roast of course, was served with breakfast. They even kept a basket of home-made goodies by the front door for guests to have a "midnight snack". The pool was perfect. Quiet, deserted, peaceful and beautiful. The staff was super friendly. AND, it's only about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter. After nights out in the Quarter, an $8 cab ride back for 2 people.

They also have awesome discounts for repeat guests. I highly recommend this B&B and can assure you I'll be returning VERY soon :-)

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs and like the idea of a private balcony, ask for the third floor at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StacyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#54 of 141 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Mansions

Address: 1244 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1978
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £85 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rathbone Mansions 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone Mansions are two stately antebellum mansions along Esplanade Avenue bordering the French Quarter. We offer our guests warm southern hospitality and authentic New Orleans atmosphere. The Mansion at 1244 Esplanade features a pool and hot tub, available to guests at either Mansion. The Mansion at 1227 Esplanade has a beautiful garden with comfortable seating to take in the lush surroundings. The Mansions are located diagonally across the street from one another, about 100 steps apart. We have 5 parking spots in the back of the Mansion at 1244 available to guests for a fee. There is free street parking along Esplanade Avenue near both Mansions. Enjoy watching life go by on stately Esplanade Avenue from the large front porch featured at both properties. We look forward to welcoming you and making your New Orleans visit everything you expect it to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Rathbone Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Mansions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing