We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Storyville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Storyville
Ranked #29 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We did a great little stay-cation here and don’t think you could find a more perfect place. It’s relaxed. It’s charming. It’s unique. It’s comfortable. It has a fantastic location. The entire hotel has a beachy/nautical theme. Our room had a sailing ship motif that brought to mind New Orleans’s status as one of America’s great port cities. All the rooms are equipped with full kitchens, which allow for some of the comforts of home while on the road. What better way to celebrate the morning than by making a pot of coffee and taking in the beauty of Esplanade Avenue from your balcony? You could feel like you live in New Orleans here even if you don’t. I've paid at least three times as much for a four star hotel room in this city only to wind up in a postage stamp sized box with no character. Our room at Storyville was spacious and bright. There is a large backyard/garden area which we unfortunately weren't able to take advantage of because of the wintery weather. It was a five minute walk (at most) to the French Quarter and Marigny.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Storyville has one of the best courtyards I've seen around New Orleans. The room decorations are right on point. And it is in the perfect location, close enough to the fun of the French quarter but not right in the middle. It's great for a romantic getaway...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xxcire03xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I recently spent five days in New Orleans just to kick around, relax and enjoy the great food and music this unique city has to offer. It was my second stay at Storyville and certainly wont be my last. My room was very nice and clean. The owner, Barbara, has obviously been hard at work. Particularly on the back yard which has been transformed into a lush garden with a covered bar and sitting area perfect to enjoy book and a cool beverage. Storyville itself is in such a premium location. Quite neighbourhood just two blocks from Little Dizzies for breakfast or Buffas a laid back local bar also with great food and live entertainment. Only a few blocks further is the Fr Quarter. Got to love it! I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have stayed here on five occasions. This place is a treasure. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The location is convenient to the quarter,Marigny,the museum district, and restaurants. We have greatly enjoyed our stays and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimsonancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed there on September 2013. The owner - Barbara, was very friendly and helpful. the room was big and very clean. Storyville hotel is located not far from the Frence Quarter.. We will advise our friends to stay there

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Storyville for a few nights on a recent trip to New Orleans. My room/suite was very nice, very clean. As the other reviews noted, Barbara is a good manager. The hotel is located not to far from Frenchman Street and Bourbon Street. I would stay here again for sure. Make sure you take a trip to Buffa's nearby for food and live music.

Room Tip: you can request a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Emily578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was GREAT! Beautiful sidewalked street with comfortable front porch to relax with a drink. I traveled there with my 18 year old daughter and we enjoyed the easy come and go, the close proximity to the French Quarter. The taxi was usually ten dollars or less. This is New Orleans. Forget about the big hotel. The rooms were large, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the amenities and it was a nice place to come home to each night. We look forward to going back soon. We are from Boston and it was notably quiet and relaxing at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong booking your stay here. We had a lovely 3 night-er!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 167 in New Orleans
339 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#40 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
334 reviews
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#24 of 142 in New Orleans
569 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: 1261 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £61 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing